1,238 Culinary & Wine Tasting Tour & Trip Reviews

Culinary & Wine Tasting Tour & Trip Reviews

1,238 Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Excellent 951 Great 243 Average 30 Disappointing 7 Terrible 7
98% Recommend
Value
4.7 Guide
4.7 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.7

Tour Reviews

C

Does Not Recommend

Good and no so goog October 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 2.0
Recently returned from a Viking Rhine trip on 10/14.
The good:
Rhine water levels were good, no issues. Service on the vessel was A+, excluding one attendant with “attitude” at the front desk. Entertainment was low key but acceptable. Viking succeeds in creating a laid back atmosphere. Viking is like a clock - they run on time. Cabin was nice and shower was exceptional. Most (not all) tours were informative, guides ranged from good to excellent. Tour buses were top shelf with experienced drivers.
The not so good:
All 6 in our group were disappointed with the food (not service but food) all week excluding breakfast. All felt the food offerings got “old” real fast. Food appeared to be prepared in advance and then reheated. Plenty of TV movies, tv and internet reception poor all week.
Most concerning
Viking, customs, and airline never asked to see our proof of vaccination. While Viking did a excellent job in keeping the boat itself clean and sanitized we had an issue on one of the bus tours. A unmasked woman sitting directly behind my wife was sweating & coughing non-stop. Not a occasional sneeze or cough, it was obvious this woman was ill. At the first stop multiple riders relocated to seats as far away from this individual as possible. Regrettably, Viking said/did noting.
Viking claims they are not the Covid police and if we felt compromised we should have put on a mask. Absolutely ridiculous that Viking felt we should have masked but took action to pull this woman aside, require her to mask with a suggestion to see a physician. Again - we’re not talking about normal coughing and sneezing- this woman was visibly ill. Viking was willing to put 30 travelers at risk rather then ask a visibly ill woman to mask up. It’s Vikings boat, tour, bus but they say and do nothing.
Of course 2 of 6 in our group contracted Covid.
Viking had a obligation to do everything within their control to protect us as best possible. In this instance they didn’t even try.
Not trying to trash Viking, just being truthful.
Read more

L

Does Not Recommend

HORRIBLE July 2020

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Avanti Destinations is a HORRIBLE and dishonest company. Paul Barry(who is sole owner) along wtih executive team of COO Mark Grundy, CMO John Hanratty and CFO Susan Marra should be ashamed on how they run a company. As a military family we booked our trip to London to leave March 21, 2020. This was to be our FAMILY trip overseas. While C19 is not the fault of Avanti, it is Barry who is at fault. While other airlines and travel agencies are giving a 100% REFUND not just vouchers Avanti is holding our money hostage. Trying to work with anyone associated with this company does not response. How can USTOA stand behind this company? How do we get a FULL REFUND from Avanti? My travel agent sent us information and our of almost $7000.00 we would get back $1700.00. Seriously? We are PCSing to another country in Asia and want to travel. What is Avanti decides to file bankruptcy because Barry does not know how to manage clients money. SOMEONE HELP US!!!
Read more

ZCV

Does Not Recommend

Company is pocketing thousands of dollars from travelers July 2020

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I would love to write a review about our meticulously planned out trip, but as our $12000 week long trip to London and Dublin was cancelled due to a global pandemic, I cannot. This company has made it not just hard but nearly impossible to help out their customers who are in awful situations during this time. They are completely unwilling to budge on their bottom line even a little.

We had to cancel due to boarder/country closings and this company is trying to keep 100% of our money. We were booked to fly with British Airlines, and BA refunded $700 per person and that is all that this company has given us.

If by some miracle we get a representative on the phone they are condescending and degrading. I even spoke with the VP of the company and he was the worst. He made me feel small and unimportant. This whole company is taking advantage of the situation and unless people get lawyers involved they are completely unwilling to refund any money.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! If something goes wrong on your trip, which let face it, multi country trips often have at least one thing go wrong, this company will NOT HELP! Do yourself a favor and go with someone else who has much better customer service and company values.
Read more

A

Recommends

Our tour Guide Jane was the best October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our tour Guide Jane was the best .. she gave us a really good experience she was fun and made my overall experience fantastic , I have a gluten intolerance and she helped me pick food that I could eat and couldn't have done it without her! was great traveling with her
Read more

T

Recommends

The tour was very comprehensive, I loved October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The tour was very comprehensive, I loved that it had so many included activities and food.

C

Recommends

The locations were lovely and our guide October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The locations were lovely and our guide Akemi Nozawa was excellent. We enjoyed the company of our fellow travellers and tried lots of different food.

R

Recommends

Our guide, Akemi provided thoughtful and efficient October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our guide, Akemi provided thoughtful and efficient care, all details covered to ensure the smoothest transitions and attention to the individual interests of each member of the group. The group was exceptional. All members of the group participated enthusiastically and enjoyed each others company.
Read more

P

Recommends

I gave this score because Fernando Maspes October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I gave this score because Fernando Maspes, our guide, organised everything beautifully. He covered not only local food and customs but history, architecture,and arts and crafts. He was charming and very well informed. Most of all he was very good company. Taxis arrived when they should, hotels were clean and comfortable and the range of food experiences comprehensive.
Read more

C

Recommends

Small groups, flexibility, sense of adventure and October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Small groups, flexibility, sense of adventure and variety of offerings.

D

Recommends

The tour was well planned, provided great October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The tour was well planned, provided great variety and taught us a lot about the country

E

Recommends

Our tour leader was very informative, solved October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our tour leader was very informative, solved problems very quickly, gave excellent advice, always available and was friendly to all.

J

Recommends

Nestor was an excellent tour guide, he October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Nestor was an excellent tour guide, he was knowledgeable about every place we visited, including the history, food and customs of each area. Nestor was helpful, offering advice on local restaurants and tours, I really couldn't have asked for a better trip - especially for my first time our of the US.
Read more

D

Recommends

Fantastic trip, great guide. I would have October 2015

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Fantastic trip, great guide. I would have liked more time in Tel Aviv and Haifa.

M

Recommends

Great tour- all must see sites, helpful October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great tour- all must see sites, helpful fun guide, great hotel locations and the included meals makes finding and trying food and meal times easy.

R

Recommends

Khoa was an excellent guide. He was October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Khoa was an excellent guide. He was on top of everything all the time, dealing with minor problems and larger ones with ease and a good sense of humor and always concerned that we were happy and having a good time. Also I loved the wide variety of experiences, motorbike rides, bicycles, kayaks, boat stays, home stays, train rides - the list is endless.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 61 total

Top Culinary & Wine Tasting Tours View All Culinary & Wine Tasting Trips
Morocco Real Food Adventure tour Morocco Real Food Adventure

$ 1,700 12-days trip

China Real Food Adventure tour China Real Food Adventure

$ 2,805 11-days trip

Italy Real Food Adventure tour Italy Real Food Adventure

$ 3,085 8-days trip

Japan Real Food Adventure tour Japan Real Food Adventure

$ 5,690 12-days trip

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"I'm bored' is a useless thing to say. You live in a great, big, vast world that you've seen none percent of."
Louis C.K.
x