3,282 Luxury Travel Tour & Trip Reviews

Luxury Travel Tour & Trip Reviews

3,282 Reviews
4.9 out of 5
Excellent 2,955 Great 243 Average 43 Disappointing 14 Terrible 27
98% Recommend
Value
4.9 Guide
4.9 Activities
4.9 Lodging
4.9 Transportation
4.9 Meals
4.9

Editor’s Take

What to Look For in Luxury Travel Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Luxury travelers are affluent and tend to have engrained high expectations when it comes to customer service and comfort level. They are a discerning group, prepared to be treated to unforgettable travel, and itineraries that don’t just gloss over things. Small touches and elements that create an elevated experience are not just appreciated, they are expected.

When reading luxury travel reviews, it’s important to consider which factors you place most value on when traveling.

Perhaps the accommodations aren’t what you expected but the guide makes up for it. Or vise versa. Remember that what is a big deal for one traveler - something that caused them to leave a negative review - may not be a big deal for you.

If you want a professional take on Luxury Travel, see the Stride Luxury Travel Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

CR

Does Not Recommend

If I could give them 0 stars July 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
If I could give them 0 stars, it's what I would do. I have had nothing but problems since I booked our 10 day trip back in August 2021. You don't know what their "cancellation" policy is until after you've booked the trip & taken out the trip insurance. I had to change my original date of departure due to surgery. I rebooked for 7/23/2022. Our flight 114 from Philadelphia last night was cancelled. When I called the Vacation store today to change the trip to August or September 2022, I was told they need 72 hours before the flight to make any changes. I'm not the one that cancelled the flight, I was then told my trip is now only 9 days, not the 10 I paid for. This is the worst company to deal with. They've got their money & you're stuck with nothing, If you cancel the trip altogether, you get nothing back, no matter what the reason. Hope anyone who has booked a trip with these morons doesn't have a travel partner that dies, because you are really screwed without a kiss. Hopefully we will fly out tonight & not lose another day in Ireland.
Read more

RD

Does Not Recommend

Terrible Experience with no end in sight… July 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Terrible experience - with no resolution in sight. We have been experiencing difficulties with the vacation store postponed travel itinerary for 2 years - trying to reschedule our trip and have not been contacted with any flight or trip confirmation - and NO ONE to contact directly for more information. We’ve been told that “operations” or “airfare” departments will get back to me by the end of the week or within the next few days - and they don’t. How do we end this nonsense and get a refund? Even disclosing a personal health matter did not lead to any resolution. We are VERY frustrated, to say the least. Looking for guidance on this matter… thank you.
Read more

KS

Recommends

I have had to rebook my trip several… March 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have had to rebook my trip several times due to COVID concerns. I have kept a record of each time I called, and each person I have spoken to. While all were nice, Lexi stands out. She is pleasant and very efficient and follows through. She understands the issue or request I have immediately, which makes the whole procedure much more efficient. Lexi deserves a bonus!!!!
Read more

DM

Does Not Recommend

Hello,I'm backed from my holiday in… March 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Hello,I'm backed from my holiday in Barbados since the 14th of Feb, hotel and flight perfect. When I landed no transfer to be seen so I asked one of the local taxi guys to call the transfer guy who arrived with a van with other people in it. I had paid for a private transfer so more standing around with my mother who was getting stressed.

Transfer to hotel all good after the drama. I got the hotel to ring 2 days before I was due to leave to make sure my transfer was booked to airport, it was confirmed for 2.30pm for 13th.

So no pick up came left stranded so had to get a taxi which was hard to get as island was busy on a Sunday with cruise ship.

Totally unacceptable service, I paid for and did not get.

I have contacted your office still waiting on Sharon to update me .

Can you please come back to me on this I'm getting annoyed I have to keep ringing and sending emails,I spent a lot of money going on this trip to treat my mother after an operation and I won't this closed out by end of the week.

Regards
Denise
Read more

AA

Does Not Recommend

Poor October 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Poor, poor, poor!!!!
I received an email telling me of my flight cancellation and that I'd receive alternative flights within 24 hours. 5 days later no email so I called the customer service from which I was told I could have a refund, when I asked for a confirmation email I was told the call centre was unable to generate emails. Anyway 2 weeks passed and no refund so I got back in contact and again I was told I'd receive a voucher refund and this could take up to a week, Weeks later and still no refund, I wouldn't mind but the flight was paid for with a voucher I received after a previous flight was cancelled. Also tried fillig in an online refund applications, as yet still waiting.
Read more

MF

Recommends

I like to give a big shout out to… October 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I like to give a big shout out to Claudia Bombeck from customer service. She went above and beyond to make me feel confident that my trip would go though without a hitch in the uncertain travel times. Not only was she professional but personable at the same time. I've had other Aer Lingus agents take my calls in the past but Claudia is the best.
Thanks,
Maureen F
Read more

AMB

Does Not Recommend

I'd like to give -* if that was… October 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I'd like to give -* if that was possible. Do not book a trip with this company. The travel protection insurance is a joke. Three of our party cancelled and got no money back, just a credit which had to be immediately rebooked. When we got to the Edinburgh airport there were no cars available for our party. The list goes on. TERRIBLE COMPANY. THE ABSOLUTE WORST.
Read more

JJ

Does Not Recommend

I wish I could give them zero or… September 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I wish I could give them zero or negative stars. This is absolutely the worse customer service I have ever dealt with. They make it impossible to change reservation ( Aer Lingus canceled the flights due to covid) this company wouldn’t even let me reschedule. They said a supervisor had to call me back in 24-72 hours. Then I was informed that I had until the next day at noon to reschedule or lose my reservation.
They did everything they could do to make sure I missed the window of being able to reschedule.
Read more

S

Does Not Recommend

Do not book a trip with AER LINGUS VACATION STORE August 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I don't even know if this company Aer Lingus Vacation Store is still in business. They are NOT part of Aer Lingus airlines. They have had my money since January 2020. They canceled my 2020 trip and gave credit - NO REFUNDS. Travel advisory for Ireland in Sept. 2021 says DO NOT TRAVEL to Ireland due to Covid. I have sent many emails, spent HOURS on hold. 12 calls just in the last month with no answer, reply or ability to leave a voice message. A month ago a live person answered, she said that she works out of her home and she would get back to me. There is no indication that this call was ever acknowledged nor any actions taken. I am scheduled to leave in a week and I still can't get a hold of anyone at this company. There is no way to cancel on line, I will be resorting to contacting the airline and hotel and car rental directly to see if they will take the cancellation. My friend and I are out over $4,000 by dealing with Aer Lingus Vacation Store.
Read more

sg

Does Not Recommend

Aer Lingus - does ANYBODY work here????? August 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Absolute shambles of a company. I know covid is still rife, but come on. Read on.....
Booked flights for Sunday 26th September until 17th October from Manchester to Orlando. First time doing 3 weeks but I'm 60 when we're away and thought this would be a treat. AL informed me that they won't be starting flying out on June as expected because of covid but would be flying from 30th September. So my holidays are before this date. Thought okay - get refund and book for a week later and still get 2 weeks away. Nicey nicey. So I paid a deposit, expecting my voucher to arrive before I pay the balance. Still waiting. Incidentally, I was on the phone for 1.5 hours before I got through to an AI robot, which was a huge waste of time. I had to repeat myself umpteen times and her voice was burbled and gargled like she was drowning. Nothing was achieved. The day comes when I have to pay my balance for my rebooked flight, I go online to pay, but the website is playing up, as actually stated by AL themselves. It said the booking had been cancelled, I assumed because of covid, but no email to say that or even to ask me for my balance, which is just as well I remembered it was due. Tried phoning them and held on for 1hr and 10mins. I phoned another AL number later and held on for 1hr and 30mins. Screenshots to prove! In between all that, desperately trying to get my hands on somebody by email, Facebook or Twitter to no avail. Actually AL on twitter had a statement saying they were having problems with the website and an engineer was working on it! Managed eventually to send a message on FB messenger and got an automated response. Woke up next morning (15 hours after leaving message) and they said as I had not paid my balance on time my booking was cancelled and my deposit was forfeited. I said the deposit should go against a new booking, refunded or even a voucher, under the circumstances. After explaining to them their website was not working and explaining my whole story again, this was to no avail. After 24 messages back and forth (screenshots to prove) she said there was nothing she could do and send in a form! This is still where I am at. Through no fault of my own, trying to pay the balance online, phoning for hours, emailing and messaging them, they are taking no responsibility. Absolute shocking. She said I could have paid by phone, but this was not stated online and I would have probably had to hold on for 2 hours! I have no deposit back and cannot afford to be over £300 out of pocket. They need to get real people there in case of serious problems like this, not AI robots. Disgraceful. Still fighting them.
Read more

CM

Does Not Recommend

Stuck in a foreign country with no recourse July 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I just had Aer Lingus cancel parts of my flight back to the US. Despite the fact that I had a ticket in my hand for Aer Lingus, they were unwilling to help me sort a new flight, stating that I had booked through Kayak and they were unable to alter flights booked through a third party.

I contacted the booking agency who said this was not true. The agency told me that they have agreements with other airlines for situations just like this, and that there were laws specifically for this. Still, they refused to help me or let me speak to a manager. For some reason, they also hung up on me not once but twice. I know it's had to believe, but I was incredibly nice even though it was a horrible situation.

They said the call dropped, but it switched to hold music before it dropped, so that doesn't make sense.

Of course now, flights are triple what I paid six months ago. I am stuck in the UK with no way home. I may look into a solicitor. This doesn't seem right.
Read more

LL

Does Not Recommend

ROBBERY June 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Someone can explain why does this company even exist? They are just thieves, they take your money without any judicial consequence. Last month I booked a flight, some days later day cancelled for unexplained reasons and never got back to me with neither an explanation nor a refund which I have submitted for more than a month now. Please, no one buy flights from this company, they just laugh at us, and I think seriously this should be taken to court.
Read more

SGTtCC

Does Not Recommend

Paid In Full to Go Nowhere January 2020

1.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I chose the small group China Sampler and paid in full in December 2018 for the April 2020 departure to get the $300 discount. After that it was just waiting and waiting and waiting. I was looking to start making airline flight plans to and return from China in April 2019. But when my travel agent contacted A&R she discovered that I was the only one signed up for the small group tour. This continued through the remainder of 2019. I actually called A&R direct one day to find out what was going on. I was then told about the 90 day out policy before they would cancel the trip. I asked a couple of times through my travel agent if A&R could just go ahead and cancel out the tour and refund my money, but was told there might be some last minute people to sign up for a trip to China. So basically A&R had my $5,000 plus fully paid fee to invest and use as they chose for over a year. January 10 or 20 was the 90 day before date I was told when a decision would be made to cancel. On January 9th I checked the website of A&R and saw by the small group tour for April 9-19 the words "Sold Out". So I'm thinking "Oh, maybe they did get enough last minute people to go?" So I sent my travel agent info on what airline flights I would like to take to China and back. The next day I was sent an email from my agent letting me know that A&R had cancelled the April small group trip to China for the dates I had selected. So the "Sold Out" descriptor apparently was an attempt to save face by not admitting they could not fill the small group trip with enough people to make the trip happen. Not a very "transparent" policy. About a month before A&R did offer to have me join the May China Sampler trip, but those dates did not meet my travel plans. I never received an apology directly from A&R. No offer for a discount on a future tour, nothing. Last time I will ever consider A&R for any type of tour.
Read more

WR

Recommends

Thank you Ayana and Jared! July 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
From panic to success!
Had some issues with getting my trip rescheduled after a family emergency . Ayana & Jared were most helpful in getting it resolved and helping straighten out the confusion. I look forward to my new travel plan with the company.
Read more

GS

Does Not Recommend

Impossible to get in touch with anyone… April 2019

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
Impossible to get in touch with anyone there by phone without a minimum 30 minute hold! Amazing no one ever figured out how to have the caller leave a call back number to be reached in turn when staff is available. Ridiculous way to operate "customer service."
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 257 total

Top Luxury Travel Tours View All Luxury Travel Trips
Highlights of Germany

$ 4,299 13-days trip

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"A mind that is stretched by a new experience can never go back to its old dimensions."
Oliver Wendell Holmes
x