4,304 Small Ship & Expedition Cruises Tour & Trip Reviews

Small Ship & Expedition Cruises Tour & Trip Reviews

4,304 Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Excellent 3,089 Great 897 Average 191 Disappointing 56 Terrible 71
93% Recommend
Value
4.6 Guide
4.6 Activities
4.6 Lodging
4.6 Transportation
4.6 Meals
4.6

Editor’s Take

What to Look for in Small-Ship Cruising Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

When researching your small-ship cruise destination and operator, read as many reviews as you can, but keep in mind that some of the reviews may not impact your own satisfaction. Given that small ships can access more remote destinations and offer more specific interest-driven activities, it is more important to get a good match than with the ocean-going mega-ships that can seem so similar.

Travelers who did not take the time to educate themselves fully on the small-ship trip they took may leave less favorable reviews. To make a good match and find the right small-ship cruise for you, pay attention to the number of guests, ratio of staff to guest, destinations visited, how much time is spent in each port, whether the itinerary is flexible, how you get ashore for excursions, what wildlife you can hope to see, what experts are onboard with you, what the best time of year for your destination is, etc.

If you want a professional take on small-ship cruising, see the Travelstride Small Ship Cruising Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

TC

Recommends

Scenic Scandinavia and its Fjords September 2023

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The itinerary was great. We saw so much in the time we were there. We felt it gave us a good overview of all of the countries and we were very satisfied with all of the locations and experiences.

TC

Recommends

Scenic Scandinavia and its Fjords September 2023

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Excellent trip. Spectacular trip.

TC

Recommends

Scenic Scandinavia and its Fjords September 2023

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Learned some many wonderful things the Country does,as well as nice people,beautiful scenery and side trips

SC

Recommends

Scenic Scandinavia and its Fjords September 2023

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I participated in all of the Optional Experiences. Some of the optional experiences should have been included in the total purchase package. I truly enjoyed visiting the homes of the locals. That was fun and personal.
Read more

TC

Recommends

Switzerland and Austria September 2023

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
yes! Even though I expect to not hear from Trafalgar with the concerns of this past trip.

RJ

Recommends

Capitals of Scandinavia September 2023

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Bad experience when to the first meeting place. Nobody to meet us, we
weren't told the time of pick up, nor the hotel we were supposed to stay. we booked a hotel nearby, thinking that we were left behind. At that time we were thinking of flying back to L.A., luckily my wife, Dolly,
got a hold your office and things were straighten out. Everything went
smoothly then.
Read more

MS

Does Not Recommend

Switzerland and Austria September 2023

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Overpriced for the quality of the entire tour.

KH

Recommends

Best of Holland Belgium Luxembourg End Brussels September 2023

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I felt that we could have avoided Luxembourg. The atmosphere was less inviting. Someone tried to rob one of our tour members and homelessness was more prevalent.

DG

Recommends

Canadas Rockies September 2023

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Itinerary was spot on. It was what we had been promised and was delivered. Tour Director even adjusted the itinerary, on a couple occasions, to deal with weather conditions. Coach was excellent. Although it was an older coach, it was well maintained and extremely clean thanks to John Heaven, our driver. Hotels were very, very good, although ALL provided breakfasts were cold.
Read more

DJ

Recommends

Britain and Ireland Panorama September 2023

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I enjoyed the trip. Darren did a great job and the drivers were great.

TC

Recommends

Scenic Scandinavia and its Fjords September 2023

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
The bus had an issue with the door sensor that caused the safety alarm to sound for long portions of the trip. Everything else was great.

TC

Recommends

Canadas Rockies Rocky Mountaineer GoldLeaf September 2023

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Please see my earlier remarks.

AR

Does Not Recommend

Canadas Rockies Rocky Mountaineer SilverLeaf September 2023

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
We never got to stay in Kamloops since our train trip was canceled.

TC

Recommends

Britain and Ireland Panorama September 2023

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Edinburgh Castle, Edinburgh Military Tattoo, Scottish Highlands, Ring of Kerry, Blarney Castle and Gardens, and Dartmoor National Park were phenomenal. There was beautiful scenery almost everywhere we went. There were a few overnight cities where all we had time to do was have dinner and go to bed; we were disappointed there was no time to go to the Beatles Museum in Liverpool.

We took all of the optional experiences; most we would do again. The dinner at Torphichen, highland sheep farm, Dublin dinner and cabaret, and Cardiff Castle Tour were among our trip highlights, but the Loch Lomond boat ride was nothing special (not much to see).

Leg room on the coach was a bit tight for my husband (6'2"), but we were still glad we took this tour. To see so much in the time allotted necessitated some long coach days, but it would have been nice to have a day or two with a later start.

We spent a couple of pre-tour days in London and would recommend that for anyone taking this tour; it allowed us time to fully explore London sites not included (and a day sleeping to re-adjust our internal time clocks).
Read more

EB

Recommends

Switzerland and Austria September 2023

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Safe and enjoyable experiences especially we were able to see four countries with different cultures and attractions and sweet memories with the group!

Items 1 to 15 of 158 total

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Don't tell me how educated you are, tell me how much you traveled."
Mohammed
x