1,168 Train & Rail Journeys Tour & Trip Reviews

Train & Rail Journeys Tour & Trip Reviews

1,168 Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Excellent 996 Great 97 Average 37 Disappointing 11 Terrible 27
96% Recommend
Value
4.7 Guide
4.7 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.7

Tour Reviews

CR

Does Not Recommend

If I could give them 0 stars July 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
If I could give them 0 stars, it's what I would do. I have had nothing but problems since I booked our 10 day trip back in August 2021. You don't know what their "cancellation" policy is until after you've booked the trip & taken out the trip insurance. I had to change my original date of departure due to surgery. I rebooked for 7/23/2022. Our flight 114 from Philadelphia last night was cancelled. When I called the Vacation store today to change the trip to August or September 2022, I was told they need 72 hours before the flight to make any changes. I'm not the one that cancelled the flight, I was then told my trip is now only 9 days, not the 10 I paid for. This is the worst company to deal with. They've got their money & you're stuck with nothing, If you cancel the trip altogether, you get nothing back, no matter what the reason. Hope anyone who has booked a trip with these morons doesn't have a travel partner that dies, because you are really screwed without a kiss. Hopefully we will fly out tonight & not lose another day in Ireland.
Read more

RD

Does Not Recommend

Terrible Experience with no end in sight… July 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Terrible experience - with no resolution in sight. We have been experiencing difficulties with the vacation store postponed travel itinerary for 2 years - trying to reschedule our trip and have not been contacted with any flight or trip confirmation - and NO ONE to contact directly for more information. We’ve been told that “operations” or “airfare” departments will get back to me by the end of the week or within the next few days - and they don’t. How do we end this nonsense and get a refund? Even disclosing a personal health matter did not lead to any resolution. We are VERY frustrated, to say the least. Looking for guidance on this matter… thank you.
Read more

KS

Recommends

I have had to rebook my trip several… March 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have had to rebook my trip several times due to COVID concerns. I have kept a record of each time I called, and each person I have spoken to. While all were nice, Lexi stands out. She is pleasant and very efficient and follows through. She understands the issue or request I have immediately, which makes the whole procedure much more efficient. Lexi deserves a bonus!!!!
Read more

DM

Does Not Recommend

Hello,I'm backed from my holiday in… March 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Hello,I'm backed from my holiday in Barbados since the 14th of Feb, hotel and flight perfect. When I landed no transfer to be seen so I asked one of the local taxi guys to call the transfer guy who arrived with a van with other people in it. I had paid for a private transfer so more standing around with my mother who was getting stressed.

Transfer to hotel all good after the drama. I got the hotel to ring 2 days before I was due to leave to make sure my transfer was booked to airport, it was confirmed for 2.30pm for 13th.

So no pick up came left stranded so had to get a taxi which was hard to get as island was busy on a Sunday with cruise ship.

Totally unacceptable service, I paid for and did not get.

I have contacted your office still waiting on Sharon to update me .

Can you please come back to me on this I'm getting annoyed I have to keep ringing and sending emails,I spent a lot of money going on this trip to treat my mother after an operation and I won't this closed out by end of the week.

Regards
Denise
Read more

AA

Does Not Recommend

Poor October 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Poor, poor, poor!!!!
I received an email telling me of my flight cancellation and that I'd receive alternative flights within 24 hours. 5 days later no email so I called the customer service from which I was told I could have a refund, when I asked for a confirmation email I was told the call centre was unable to generate emails. Anyway 2 weeks passed and no refund so I got back in contact and again I was told I'd receive a voucher refund and this could take up to a week, Weeks later and still no refund, I wouldn't mind but the flight was paid for with a voucher I received after a previous flight was cancelled. Also tried fillig in an online refund applications, as yet still waiting.
Read more

MF

Recommends

I like to give a big shout out to… October 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I like to give a big shout out to Claudia Bombeck from customer service. She went above and beyond to make me feel confident that my trip would go though without a hitch in the uncertain travel times. Not only was she professional but personable at the same time. I've had other Aer Lingus agents take my calls in the past but Claudia is the best.
Thanks,
Maureen F
Read more

AMB

Does Not Recommend

I'd like to give -* if that was… October 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I'd like to give -* if that was possible. Do not book a trip with this company. The travel protection insurance is a joke. Three of our party cancelled and got no money back, just a credit which had to be immediately rebooked. When we got to the Edinburgh airport there were no cars available for our party. The list goes on. TERRIBLE COMPANY. THE ABSOLUTE WORST.
Read more

JJ

Does Not Recommend

I wish I could give them zero or… September 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I wish I could give them zero or negative stars. This is absolutely the worse customer service I have ever dealt with. They make it impossible to change reservation ( Aer Lingus canceled the flights due to covid) this company wouldn’t even let me reschedule. They said a supervisor had to call me back in 24-72 hours. Then I was informed that I had until the next day at noon to reschedule or lose my reservation.
They did everything they could do to make sure I missed the window of being able to reschedule.
Read more

S

Does Not Recommend

Do not book a trip with AER LINGUS VACATION STORE August 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I don't even know if this company Aer Lingus Vacation Store is still in business. They are NOT part of Aer Lingus airlines. They have had my money since January 2020. They canceled my 2020 trip and gave credit - NO REFUNDS. Travel advisory for Ireland in Sept. 2021 says DO NOT TRAVEL to Ireland due to Covid. I have sent many emails, spent HOURS on hold. 12 calls just in the last month with no answer, reply or ability to leave a voice message. A month ago a live person answered, she said that she works out of her home and she would get back to me. There is no indication that this call was ever acknowledged nor any actions taken. I am scheduled to leave in a week and I still can't get a hold of anyone at this company. There is no way to cancel on line, I will be resorting to contacting the airline and hotel and car rental directly to see if they will take the cancellation. My friend and I are out over $4,000 by dealing with Aer Lingus Vacation Store.
Read more

sg

Does Not Recommend

Aer Lingus - does ANYBODY work here????? August 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Absolute shambles of a company. I know covid is still rife, but come on. Read on.....
Booked flights for Sunday 26th September until 17th October from Manchester to Orlando. First time doing 3 weeks but I'm 60 when we're away and thought this would be a treat. AL informed me that they won't be starting flying out on June as expected because of covid but would be flying from 30th September. So my holidays are before this date. Thought okay - get refund and book for a week later and still get 2 weeks away. Nicey nicey. So I paid a deposit, expecting my voucher to arrive before I pay the balance. Still waiting. Incidentally, I was on the phone for 1.5 hours before I got through to an AI robot, which was a huge waste of time. I had to repeat myself umpteen times and her voice was burbled and gargled like she was drowning. Nothing was achieved. The day comes when I have to pay my balance for my rebooked flight, I go online to pay, but the website is playing up, as actually stated by AL themselves. It said the booking had been cancelled, I assumed because of covid, but no email to say that or even to ask me for my balance, which is just as well I remembered it was due. Tried phoning them and held on for 1hr and 10mins. I phoned another AL number later and held on for 1hr and 30mins. Screenshots to prove! In between all that, desperately trying to get my hands on somebody by email, Facebook or Twitter to no avail. Actually AL on twitter had a statement saying they were having problems with the website and an engineer was working on it! Managed eventually to send a message on FB messenger and got an automated response. Woke up next morning (15 hours after leaving message) and they said as I had not paid my balance on time my booking was cancelled and my deposit was forfeited. I said the deposit should go against a new booking, refunded or even a voucher, under the circumstances. After explaining to them their website was not working and explaining my whole story again, this was to no avail. After 24 messages back and forth (screenshots to prove) she said there was nothing she could do and send in a form! This is still where I am at. Through no fault of my own, trying to pay the balance online, phoning for hours, emailing and messaging them, they are taking no responsibility. Absolute shocking. She said I could have paid by phone, but this was not stated online and I would have probably had to hold on for 2 hours! I have no deposit back and cannot afford to be over £300 out of pocket. They need to get real people there in case of serious problems like this, not AI robots. Disgraceful. Still fighting them.
Read more

CM

Does Not Recommend

Stuck in a foreign country with no recourse July 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I just had Aer Lingus cancel parts of my flight back to the US. Despite the fact that I had a ticket in my hand for Aer Lingus, they were unwilling to help me sort a new flight, stating that I had booked through Kayak and they were unable to alter flights booked through a third party.

I contacted the booking agency who said this was not true. The agency told me that they have agreements with other airlines for situations just like this, and that there were laws specifically for this. Still, they refused to help me or let me speak to a manager. For some reason, they also hung up on me not once but twice. I know it's had to believe, but I was incredibly nice even though it was a horrible situation.

They said the call dropped, but it switched to hold music before it dropped, so that doesn't make sense.

Of course now, flights are triple what I paid six months ago. I am stuck in the UK with no way home. I may look into a solicitor. This doesn't seem right.
Read more

LL

Does Not Recommend

ROBBERY June 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Someone can explain why does this company even exist? They are just thieves, they take your money without any judicial consequence. Last month I booked a flight, some days later day cancelled for unexplained reasons and never got back to me with neither an explanation nor a refund which I have submitted for more than a month now. Please, no one buy flights from this company, they just laugh at us, and I think seriously this should be taken to court.
Read more

T

Recommends

We had the best time ever! June 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had the best time ever! It was truly the best vacation we've ever taken. The people were fabulous, service oriented, friendly, accommodating...a pleasure to be around! Everything was just perfect!

The accommodations, fabulous, the food was way too delicious. We highly recommend this trip to anybody and kept toasting Costco along with three other couples for the way they put this trip together it was really brilliant thank you so much for your help with all our questions and how quickly you got back to us for each inquiry you are very efficient at your job. Thank you so much!

On another note, on the safari, Francois put together a surprise celebration luncheon at their treehouse to celebrate our daughter Kate's medical school graduation. It was truly amazing and we couldn't have been happier or more appreciative of all they did. It was so special and they put so much effort into it—leaving champagne, a beautiful lunch, and also baking a cake just for this occasion! It was such a nice, wonderful touch and made for a fabulous memory!
Read more

W

Recommends

It was absolutely fabulous. February 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It was absolutely fabulous. Marataba is an experience beyond words. The animals speak for themselves but the lodge is extraordinary. Capetown was lovely but Marataba is an impossible act to precede. We will be recommending you and your colleagues without reservation and with the greatest enthusiasm.
Read more

S&MB

Recommends

Memories for a life time October 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We have returned from our trip to South Africa and Zimbabwe. Our accommodations and travel arrangements were excellent in each location, but our safari in Thornybush at Shumbalala Game Lodge was EXCEPTIONAL!

The accommodations were outstanding, the staff were exceptional, and our experience was off the charts.

We saw the Big 5, had great meals and met wonderful people. You provided us with memories for a life time.

By the way, Cape Town and Victoria Falls were excellent as well, but Shumbalala stole the show!

Thank you so very much.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 379 total

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness."
Mark Twain
x