260 Volunteering Tour & Trip Reviews

Volunteering Tour & Trip Reviews

260 Reviews
4.9 out of 5
Excellent 249 Great 8 Average 0 Disappointing 0 Terrible 3
98% Recommend
Value
4.9 Guide
4.9 Activities
4.9 Lodging
4.9 Transportation
4.9 Meals
4.9

Tour Reviews

V&VK

Recommends

Absolutely loved it! December 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Absolutely loved it! We fell in love with Cape Town, so much to see and do. Wonderful accommodations and great location.

Kruger was fabulous! Spectacular game drives.

All in all it was the trip of a lifetime! Looking forward to visiting again, perhaps Tanzania this time.
Read more

J&FS

Recommends

We had an amazing time December 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had an amazing time! We couldn’t have been more pleased with all the accommodations and all of the guides that we had. Our favourite stay was at the Kadizora camp with Greg & Paula.

KT our guide worked so hard on making sure that we all got to see our favourite animals, elephants, giraffes, zebras, hippos, 4 male lions, with the dominant male lion deciding to lay in the shade of our land cruiser to let us know he was the boss, almost close enough to pat, we were all holding our breath for about 5 minutes until he decided to move to the shade of a tree. We loved the intimacy of the camp and that it was very isolated. I am so glad that we added on the Victoria Falls stay at the end, it was a wonderful end to the trip.

We also met and enjoyed the company of the other two couples from the US and made friends and will be keeping in touch with one of the couples.

Thank you for all your help in arranging our “trip of a lifetime”.
Read more

C

Recommends

We had a really great time. November 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had a really great time.

Junior, our game driver at the first lodge was the best! In all but one of our game drives it was just Debby, Michelle and I so we felt very special and very spoiled!

I really enjoyed the game drives and two philanthropic trips we made – the village with the bicycle shop and the small animal sanctuary where we go to hold the bush babies!

Food was excellent and always way more than we needed as were the drinks, the hospitality – everyone was so very nice. Loved, loved, Loved all the critters – of course – the protected rhinos at the first lodge were so special for me, and I had not ever realized we would be going there, and we went twice.
Read more

M&DP

Recommends

We had a great time on our trip October 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had a great time on our trip. Kenya was awesome. The lodges were great and the food was great too. The people were very friendly and wanted to talk about their culture and asked about our lives.

We had an amazing tour guide. Nicholas, made sure that we saw everything and was a very knowledgeable person. He was someone that we enjoyed talking with and will keep in touch with.

Overall John and I enjoyed our trip very much and would like to go to Kenya again. Thanks for all your help in setting this up. Please let me know what you have for private tours of Kenya. We may go back next year or in 2 years.
Read more

J&RF

Recommends

Perfect! October 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
First of all, in a word, I would describe our trip as "perfect”!

The weather was fantastic and we didn't even see one mosquito! Also, I must say that our guide, Po Po, was extraordinary. He made sure we saw the Big Five and he took very good care of us. We knew we were safe in his hands. At the end of the trip, we all hugged him goodbye and told him what a wonderful person he was!

I want you to know that you did an amazing job setting everything up for us. All of our flights and transfers went on without a hitch. The Serena properties were just beautiful and very comfortable, especially the hot water bottles toasting our feet each night! You were always very responsive to my emails and got back to me quickly with answers to questions, and that really counts a lot.

The Maasai Village experience was very educational and entertaining. The hot air balloon ride was a dream come true! Breakfast at the hippo pool was exceptional!

We saw about 40+ species of animals, lions copulating, elephants with their babies, zebras on the run - I could go on and on. I think you mentioned that this trip would be a different experience from our trip to South Africa and you were right - the wildlife was much more abundant. But I have to say, we loved both experiences equally.

I used your company because our trip five years ago was so amazing and, once again, you did a fabulous job. I've already recommended four of our friends and they have booked with Lion World Travel for a trip in January. I would definitely use Lion World Travel again and will continue to describe your company as an excellent choice for a trip that will leave memories for a lifetime!

Thank you very much for everything you did for us.
Read more

F

Recommends

Phyllis and I had a fantastic time at every destination, September 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Phyllis and I had a fantastic time at every destination, we're so pleased that we used you to organize our trip.

Perhaps our most memorable moment was a dispute between a beautiful male lion just a few feet in front of us and one of the females in his pride, the female ignored his advances until he nipped her after she continued to ignore him. That instantly resulted in loud snarls, flying legs and claws and general mayhem. It all happened so fast and unexpectedly that I didn't have time to make a video. The male went away dejected...
Read more

DaPR

Recommends

The trip was awesome and exceeded our expectations. August 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The trip was awesome and exceeded our expectations. Nature is so wonderful to see in person! We understand now how people could repeatedly go on safaris over and over again. Every day was new excitement. This will not be our only safari.

Our guides Chris and Basil were both exceptional. Having the right guide could make or break the adventure and they were both terrific. Both gentlemen were very fun, knowledgeable, accommodating and patient. Nature can be finicky but they both made sure we saw or experienced everything possible. The lodges in both countries were quite nice and the staff were wonderful and made us feel so welcome. The meals were wonderful and offer something for everyone. The staff all represented their country and lodge very well. There was no way to go through the day without a continuous smile on your face.
Read more

AMM&EM

Recommends

We had an absolutely fabulous time in South Africa. August 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had an absolutely fabulous time in South Africa.
Cape Town's scenic views were breathtaking, especially atop Table Mountain. The Freedom Tour was sobering and eye opening. We plan to provide assistance to preschool we visited during that tour.

Finally, Ivory Tree Game Lodge was beautiful and we saw elephants, lions, rhinos, leopards, hippos, up close which made for great pictures.

All in all one of our best vacations to date. Kudos to you and Lion World Travel.
Read more

M

Recommends

We had a fantastic trip. August 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had a fantastic trip. The arrangements were great. The game drives were superb. Our driver Lucas was great. We saw all the big five animals.

No words on African Safari. One has to experience this adventurous trip. The lodges are well taken care and we had plenty of vegetarian food including Indian.
Read more

R&LP

Recommends

Wonderful trip August 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We're back. Wonderful trip, we saw the Big 5 and everything else that could be expected! Lions, leopards, cheetahs, elephants, giraffes, etc, in large numbers and close.

The tour guides and staff did an outstanding job! Thanks again for all of your help booking this trip and especially the handling of our unique airline restrictions. And also for booking the balloon safari (it was great, too).
Read more

JW&RS

Recommends

We were surprised & delighted by the natural beauty of Cape Town July 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had a wonderful time on Platinum South Africa, and are so happy that we did it! The weather totally cooperated all the way through with clear sunny days and some of the most spectacular sunsets we've ever seen.

The lodging accommodations and service were impeccable. Although we aren't shoppers, we liked the convenience of the Mall and its services being connected to The Table Bay Hotel.

We were surprised & delighted by the natural beauty of Cape Town and surrounding areas. We thoroughly enjoyed the inclusive Cape Peninsula Tour and the Helicopter Flight and agreed that they were excellent tours to experience the true beauty of our immediate environs and those further south. And who could not LOVE the penguin colony? On our own, we took the aerial tramway to the top of Table Mountain where we enjoyed great views and had a nice casual lunch. We also enjoyed the 1/2 day wine tour on our own, as well as several restaurants. We especially enjoyed The Pot Luck Club restaurant, and highly recommend it.

The Tinga Lodge was wonderful from the moment we arrived until we departed. We lamented that we didn't have more downtime to enjoy the luxury suite. I'm sure you've heard this before, but we wished for one more day at Tinga. The Game Drives were as exciting as we'd hoped they would be. The entire staff at Tinga, including our Ranger & Tracker, were wonderful and anticipated our every need.
Read more

JL

Recommends

we had an exquisitely wonderful time. July 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Lion World Travel booked us on the Platinum tour to Cape Town and Lion Sands Preserve from the USA. Our contact at LWT, Cheryl Gould, was very responsive, attentive & helpful before and after the trip. It was our first trip to South Africa, which happens to be Cheryl's place of birth. We are able-bodied, adventure-loving senior citizens and we had an exquisitely wonderful time. The hotel in Cape Town was great and the Tinga Lodge while on safari was one of the most incredible places we've stayed - we were treated like royalty. The safari was everything we hoped it would be and MORE plus Cape Town & nearby environs were fabulous. I'm running out of superlatives - so I will simply say it was the trip of a lifetime.
Read more

T

Recommends

Wonderful time in Tanzania. July 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thanks for Checking with us. Yes, we had a wonderful time in Tanzania.

Thanks to you and the Lion World Travel for arranging this life time memorable trip for us. Our local guide Augustine Louis was the best. He was very knowledgable and professional, and helped us understand the meaning of the migration. He was very good in spotting various animals and plants, and in providing additional information about them. We truly enjoyed the whole trip.

The accommodations were all very good.
Read more

KaG

Recommends

It was an absolutely fabulous experience. June 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have been meaning to get back to you since we returned from our trip to Cape Town and Botswana. It was an absolutely fabulous experience. It now ties with our Galapagos trip as our very best!

We have recommended it to all our friends and have shared my slideshow with so many people. I'm planning to have a photo exhibit with them this year.

Thanks for all your help in making it so great for us.
Read more

AT&RN

Recommends

We had an absolutely wonderful time. June 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had an absolutely wonderful time. The weather was perfect for the entire trip. Both Cape Town and safari were amazing in different ways. Cape Town has such stunning scenery. We visited the downtown area and went hiking on Table Mountain and we drove around the penninsula (of course seeing the Cape of Good Hope and the penguins of Boulder Beach). I even visited the botanical gardens. The hotel was wonderful. We had a spectacular room. We did so much hiking and outside stuff that we didn't have time to take advantage of everything the hotel had to offer.

Dulini was amazing. I am so glad that we ended up there. We saw so many amazing animals and the grounds are just gorgeous. They took such good care of us. It was the height of luxury. Far more staff than guests. Anything we wanted was ours. All we had to do was ask. I also think that we had the best cabin there. I could have spent the whole three days just relaxing at the cabin with my husband. I found out that some of the people that come every year skip the morning game drive so that they have more time to relax. I would never stay at any other place than Dulini when I go to Sabi Sands again. I cannot say in words what a spectacular place Dulini is. There were so many special surprises that they set up for us such as a private dinner in our suite. It is expensive, but so much was included in the price.

Thank you so much for putting together this adventure for us. This will be something we remember forever.
Read more

Items 31 to 45 of 102 total

Top Volunteering Tours View All Volunteering Trips
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x