260 Volunteering Tour & Trip Reviews

Volunteering Tour & Trip Reviews

260 Reviews
4.9 out of 5
Excellent 249 Great 8 Average 0 Disappointing 0 Terrible 3
98% Recommend
Value
4.9 Guide
4.9 Activities
4.9 Lodging
4.9 Transportation
4.9 Meals
4.9

Tour Reviews

D&FR

Recommends

Had a wonderful time. September 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thank you so much for all your help. We had a wonderful time.

The 12 Apostles Hotel was amazing – for sure the best hotel we have stayed at. The location was spectacular, the food delicious and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The Peninsula Tour and Whale watching tour was great. Our tour guide for the Whale Watching was "Mohammed Ali" and he was full of knowledge on South Africa – an amazing resource that made the trip so interesting.

The safari was an amazing experience. We didn’t see any leopards, but not to worry there were wonderful sunrises and sunsets to highlight the beautiful landscapes. Thank you so much for all your help along the way. Every thing was so well organized. I have no hesitation in recommending Lion World, and have already passed your name to some friends.
Read more

TR&KM

Recommends

We had a great time on our trip! August 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had a great time on our trip! Thank you for working with us and organizing a fantastic time.

We agreed our favorite time was in the Serengeti as we loved the animal experiences, our game drives, the hot air balloon, and the lodge's location and view. We hope in a few years to be able to go back to the Serengeti and stay at two locations and then also spend another two days at the Ngorongoro Crater.

We were very pleased with your work and Lion World. Thank you for a memorable trip!
Read more

V

Recommends

Had an amazing time! July 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had an amazing time! The trip was one of the best I’ve ever had - and I’ve done a lot of travel. We loved the tented camps the most.

The Victoria Falls River Lodge was great. The staff at the Lodge were really helpful and accommodating and we enjoyed our stay there as well. I really think all of the places were fabulous.

The accommodations, staff, trackers, animals - everything was fabulous. My children loved it as well. We saw every animal - large and small and have many lovely memories.

We had good travel karma as all the flights were on time from the huge SAA jets in and out of Africa to the small bush jumpers between camps.

Thank you again for all your help in setting up the trip.
Read more

PaKM

Recommends

Thank you so much for organizing this trip July 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thank you so much for organizing this trip we had a great time it was one of best trips yet.

I've been spreading the word to all of our friends about your travel agency how well organized, it is and what it provides. Thank you so much making this experience so memorable.
Read more

L&WV

Recommends

Absolutely perfect July 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Absolutely perfect and mind blowingly wonderful in every way!

We had a terrific time. It was an awesome way for us to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary!

Thank you so much for making it all possible!
Read more

JD&BS

Recommends

We had a wonderful time! June 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had a wonderful time! Everything ran smoothly and the trip was an incredible experience.

Here are some of the things that we loved:

The Table Bay Hotel was phenomenal and their staff was great
Marataba: the place was amazing and the safari experience so incredible
The private tour around Cape Town
Our ranger at Marataba - Hein - was also great! Very knowledgeable, and he did such an excellent job tracking animals for us and making the experience memorable. The staff at Marataba was lovely overall - but a gentleman named George also went above and beyond and left an impression.
We were very, very pleased with Lion World Travel and with you specifically - you were an excellent coordinator for us and we both appreciated your responsiveness and availability during the process. You helped make our trip wonderful and effortless!

Thank you again for everything!
Read more

DD&AO

Recommends

We had a wonderful time on our trip. June 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had a wonderful time on our trip. Everything was seamless!

The hotels were wonderful, especially the Table Bay. The manager left us a handwritten note and they set up some things in our room for us to celebrate our honeymoon with which was a very nice and personal touch. All of our transfers and tour guides and excursions lived up to their expectations. The food was amazing, Cape Town is a great city and the Kapama Game Reserve exceeded everything we expected!

Thank you all so much for providing us with such an amazing experience, we really had a memorable trip and will certainly be referring others to your company in the future. You have sold us on being a return customer should we ever opt to travel to South Africa again.
Read more

J&S

Recommends

Had an extraordinary experience June 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had an extraordinary experience in South Africa and Zimbabwe! Many thanks to the entire Lion World team for sending us on the trip of a lifetime. Everything — from the hotels and lodges to the activities included in our package to the service and staff — was beyond first class.

We stayed at The Table Bay Hotel in Cape Town, Jackalberry Lodge in the Thornybush Game Reserve (We absolutely loved this place and cannot say enough good things about it!) and the Victoria Falls River Lodge on the Zambezi River in Zimbabwe. Lion World even accommodated a last minute request to change hotels in Johannesburg.

Your responsiveness and understanding was impressive and much appreciated. It was wonderful having pre-arranged transports bringing us to and from our various destinations. Eight flights seemed daunting at first, but Lion World couldn't have made it easier for us. We especially loved our time on safari. It surpassed all of our expectations. With two 3+ hour game drives each day and a 1.5 mile bush walk, we easily saw the Big 5 and so much more.

Everyone we met (transfer drivers, tour guides, hotel staff, etc.) was considerate, personable, and a gracious host, which made the entire experience that much better. Our ranger Willie even gave photography tips to help us capture incredible moments on film. We already cannot wait to go back! Thank you again, Lion World, for making our South Africa and Zimbabwe adventure one we'll never forget.
Read more

J&MM

Recommends

A wonderful trip to South Africa and Zimbabwe June 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just wanted to thank you for helping put together a wonderful trip to South Africa and Zimbabwe.

The accommodations were fantastic. The staff were so helpful at every hotel. We just can't get over this trip. Africa sticks with you. Now we know why we met so many people that repeated this trip to Africa.

We definitely want to go back. We keep saying that we know we will experience new and exciting things in our future travels but nothing will be like this trip. Africa is amazing. We loved everything about it.

Thanks again for all your patience and help.
Read more

L

Recommends

Our trip was fantastic June 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I just wanted to thank you for everything you did. Our trip was fantastic, every detail was perfect. There is absolutely nothing I would have changed, other than extend 1 additional day in Cape Town.

We ended up shark cage diving so I couldn't fit in the Robben Island tour. The 1/2 day Cape Point/Cape of Good Hope tour was perfect, as was the winery tour. Since my family was the only one on both of those tours, the driver let us choose options for instance, wineries that specialized in white wine rather than red. We went to 2 wineries and then opted to skip the 3rd and he drove us to Table Mountain because it was so clear that day and we were able to get on the cable car.

The climate was perfect in both locations, as well as both hotels, superb! We absolutely saw the BIG 5! Everyone that we met in our journeys that booked through LWT had the same fantastic experience. We all became friends on Facebook and Instagram and shared photos. We ended up living within 15 minutes of each other.
Read more

D

Recommends

Our trip to South Africa and Zimbabwe was fantastic June 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our trip to South Africa and Zimbabwe was fantastic, 10/10! We were very lucky and the weather was perfect the entire trip.

All four hotels were great (Table Bay, Jackalberry Lodge, DaVinci Hotel and Victoria Falls River Lodge). The staff at all the hotels were wonderful. The activities you planned for us in Cape Town including the helicopter ride, high tea, and Gold Restaurant were outstanding.

Our day trip to Franschhoek for wine-tasting was fantastic. Our driver, Faisel, was very informative and it was a pleasure to spend time with him during our van ride back and forth to Franschhoek.

Our ranger and tracker, Gerhard and Lucas at Jackalberry Lodge were awesome and our butler Lucy was a pleasure. Gerhard and Lucas know Thornybush Game Reserve like the back of their hands and taught us how to "read" the various animal footprints and identify their poop!

We saw such a wide assortment of animals (large and small) including the big five plus zebra, impala, nyalas, hippos, giraffes, crocodiles, birds, reptiles and a dung beetle at work pushing a ball of buffalo dung.

Our travel on South African Airways was efficient and stress-free and all of our transfers with Thompsons were flawless. We all loved our relaxing boat rides on the Zambezi watching for hippos, crocs and elephants and enjoying a sundowner or two.

Victoria Falls is breath-taking and for lunch we dined at the Lookout restaurant where the views overlooking the falls are spectacular.

The trip that you set up for us was amazing…it really was one of the best life experiences for all six of us. Southern Africa is a very long way from Los Angeles but it was worth every minute. Thank you so much for your expertise and guidance. You knocked it out of the park.
Read more

M

Recommends

It was our trip of a lifetime! June 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Cheryl, it was our trip of a lifetime! I cannot even begin to tell you how perfect everything was from start to finish.
The Twelve Apostles, amazing! The service, the food, the weather, the sights, our Lion World private driver Mark was incredible beyond words. We simply loved Cape Town and were so glad we got to spend 6 days there. Shark diving, amazing. Kapama Karula, a dream come true! We miss it all so much! We were not ready to come home at all! Thank you for everything, we can't wait to go back!
Read more

KW&JM

Recommends

It was absolutely amazing May 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It was absolutely amazing.
Cape Town and the safari were both great, but the safari was just amazing. Ready to go back!

K

Recommends

It was really an eye opening experience May 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thanks for checking in! The trip was amazing!
Steph and I both felt like we needed another day in Cape Town to explore the townships. It was really an eye opening experience seeing them from afar. We also really enjoyed the picturesque Winelands

Kapama Karula was absolutely amazing! The room and grounds were beautiful. Everyone was so warm and accommodating. It was by far the best service we've ever received at a hotel/lodge. They lodge really thought of everything. The game drives were so fun and the ranger/tracker were really a pleasure to be around. Mauritius was also very picturesque.

Steph and I definitely want to visit Africa again in the near future. We both felt that it left a lasting impression on us.

Thanks again for planning a trip of a lifetime!
Read more

V&CS

Recommends

We had a wonderful time in South Africa March 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had a wonderful time in South Africa. Cape Town is one of the most beautiful cities we have ever visited. Our guides were great with a good knowledge of the history of South Africa.

Our stay at Bakubung Bush Lodge couldn't have been better, the game drives was everything we expected and more. We saw everything but the buffalos and the leopards, though the cheetahs made up for the leopards.

Our visit to the Apartheid Museum and the Soweto township in Johannesburg was a good way to end our visit. Our guide Francois added so much with his knowledge of South Africa's past and present.

We highly recommend Lion World Travel to anyone who in considering a visit to Africa. We are hoping to explore more of Africa in the not too distant future. Our compliments to our drivers too,they were all very pleasant and professional.

Thank you for making our trip such a wonderful experience.
Read more

Items 61 to 75 of 102 total

Top Volunteering Tours View All Volunteering Trips
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x