467 Overseas Adventure Travel (O.A.T. Tours) Tour Reviews & Ratings

Overseas Adventure Travel (O.A.T. Tours) Tour Reviews & Ratings

467 Reviews
4.9 | Excellent
Excellent 441 Great 13 Average 8 Disappointing 0 Terrible 5
99% Recommend
Value:
4.9 Guide:
4.9 Activities:
4.9 Lodging:
4.9 Transportation:
4.9 Meals:
4.9

Tour Reviews

SF

Recommends

My favorite OAT adventure February 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I went to this adventure with my sister-in-law and we had the absolute best time! Our guide were all amazing and our trip leader Martin was exceptional! My sister-i-law had a fall the day we were to meet our group and Martin helped us navigate the urgent care, got her stitched up and stayed by our side until she was tucked into our room. What a waRead more about review stating My favorite OAT adventurey to meet your trip leader but also we knew we were set up with a caring and kind man from the start! This was a truly unique adventure with large cities and also the most serene scenery on earth!
I write this in the mist of the recent pandemic and hope that as soon as this all settles down we can take another trip with OAT. It will be hard to match this trip but we will try!
Read more

RJ

Recommends

We visited Panama on this trip with OAT January 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We visited Panama on this trip with OAT including walking through El Chorrillo neighborhood and listening to the stories of the survivors of the US invasion. We would recommend the movie "The Panama Deception," a documentary of the US invasion. It tells a different story that the US government and media reported at the time. Certainly more informaRead more about review stating Additional movie recommendation for Panama visitorstive that "The Tinker of Panama."
You can find the movie online at https://www.c-span.org/video/?467566-1/the-panama-deception
Read more

OS

Recommends

India was on my bucket list. October 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
India was on my bucket list. I have travelled with OAT many times and knew if any company could show it to me properly it was them. The trip surpassed any expectation I could have imagined. We stayed in palaces and drove by shanty towns. India is so full of contrasts, all kinds of contrasts. Riots of scents, color, sounds, come at you all at once.Read more about review stating 2018 Heart of India The best food you will ever have, cheap custom made silk clothing, and monuments that float at sunrise. All this and more is waiting for you. DO NOT miss this trip, it will change how you see yourself, others and humanity.
Read more

AC

Recommends

This trip has been one of the best with OAT so far August 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This trip has been one of the best with OAT so far. The sightseeing, food, and most of the accommodations were very good. Our tour guide, Anuja Skaria, was absolutely outstanding. She went out of her way to take u to many places not included in the itinerary. She was most attentive to detail.
Read more

JW

Recommends

Interesting travel August 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip led by a fantastic leader - Pum from Thailand. He was an excellent mentor for all of the local guides and allowed them to lead in their respective countries and stepped in only if something was not right.
I have several suggestions for those who might be taking this tour. The very best place to shop is the night Read more about review stating Interesting travelmarket in Luang Prabang. That is also the city that we enjoyed the most. We could have even stayed there another day. There were excellent restaurants there - an Italian one and a French one to name a few and the small hotel was delightful.
The Angkor Paradise Hotel in Phnom Penh had the best massages that we had anywhere. They offered a Swedish Massage for 1 hour and we should have had the 90 minute one as the time went so fast. That also was a lovely hotel.
In Vietnam, when you have the Mekong Delta discovery, try to have your trip leader give you time to shop at the place where you get on the boat and also return to that same place. We were able to have 15 minutes to shop there, which was not enough. Much nicer things can be found here than in the large market in Saigon. It is the only place where I was able to buy the embroidered T shirts than are so plentiful in North Vietnam, but found nowhere else in the South. You might have to ask to see them. I had purchased some of them 17 years ago in Hanoi and they are so good that after being washed multiple times, they look as good as new. The coconut
candy factory also has some good bargains.
Although we had previously toured 2 of these countries with OAT, this was a very good overall tour of the 4 countries.
Our return trip through was canceled because the Hong Kong airport was closed due to Covid. OAT allowed us to stay an extra day in Saigon and found us another way home. They went way above what we expected in helping us, keeping us informed, and paying for our extra day at the excellent Orchids Hotel in Saigon. This is why we continue to travel with OAT.
Read more

TS

Recommends

Safari Serengeti:Tanzania Lodge & Tented Safari July 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I am sure I completed a survey and gave this trip, particularly our Trip Leader Samson Mweta, highest marks.

JS

Recommends

Costa Rica; Natural Parks & Tropical Forests July 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Trip is great for people who enjoy nature, especially bird watching.

SD

Recommends

Vigorous long amazing trip June 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Phenomenal variety with talented hard working well informed resourceful leaders. You do need to do your homework for free days to make the most of this long interesting trip. If you are not a party animal once again being less of a party animal than my fellow OAT travelers you need to be prepared for the dynamics of being sober and serious with juRead more about review stating Vigorous long amazing tripiced up friends.
Read more

NP

Recommends

Australia, New Zealand, and Fiji June 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have now been on seven GCT trips, mostly overseas and mostly where I was the Trip Organizer. At the time of my first trip that was this trip it was my first exposure to the GCT Tour Directors. I have loved all of my trips, however, of all of the Tour Directors, Maree Greenwood has stood out as the Star Performer in not only GCT trips but with anRead more about review stating Australia, New Zealand, and Fijiy company I have ever traveled. This lady has so much knowledge of Australia and New Zealand and is the most personable director I have ever met!! She works very hard for not one but all of her travelers!! She is the best. I would take this trip again with Maree!!
Read more

J

Recommends

Jean Shepherd May 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Fabulous trip
On Suez Canal Crossing: Israel, Egypt, Jordan & the Red Sea

I

Recommends

Heart of India May 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I loved this trip, despite that it was (appropriately) cut short by the pandemic. It was my first group travel experience, having traveled fairly extensively before on my own or with one other person.. Visits and sites were so well thought out, and I greatly appreciated the trip’s window on every day life (the village visit and the dinner with a fRead more about review stating Heart of Indiaamily), current hot issues (at the time, oppression of Muslim citizens), and local experience (we had so much fun on Holi!). I knew little about India, and the trip whetted my appetite to learn more. I look forward to returning when the pandemic is behind us.
Read more

TK

Recommends

Kenya and Tanzania May 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We alsotook the post trip option to Victoria Falls. Fantastic. Time was good as river was at about 75% so we oculd actual see intothe gorge. Animals were fantastic. We were about 2 weeks early for the Wildwbeasr running but we could see them all around us as we travled. . No phones so somebody would come to the tent and knock to wake us up - and bRead more about review stating Kenya and Tanzaniaring along coffee, tea, etc
Read more

RW

Recommends

Limay River Float Trip May 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just so you know, you absolutely do not get wet on the Limay River Float Trip. We were looking forward to the trip so we could see the steppe (We saw no wildlife.) but we saw the steppe a lot as the main trip continued. The optional trip is not the only chance you'll have to see this part of Patagonia. It was a beautiful, relaxing trip with a goodRead more about review stating Limay River Float Trip lunch, but it's not a trip we would highly recommend.
Read more

LB

Recommends

Another perfect journey! May 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My apologies for my tardiness in writing this review. I finally arrived back in New York on March 10 and went directly in quarantine and haven't come up for air since. It's amazing how little one gets done when one has so relatively little to do. New Zealand is simply the most beautiful place I've ever been, with the most sophisticated, funny,Read more about review stating Another perfect journey! warm and welcoming people. I know I've said that about most of the places I've traveled with OAT, but there is something magical that grabbed my heart about New Zealand. Certainly, Andy Glauser, our trip leader, was one of the biggest reasons. Her wit, good nature, executive abilities, wisdom and huge heart made us all feel empowered and cared for. There are so many places in the world that I want to visit and so little time, but I would definitely jump at the chance to return to New Zealand. Thank you for giving me one more "Trip of a Lifetime!"
Read more

MB

Recommends

Hidden Gems of the Dalmatian Coast & Greece May 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The sad part of this review is the fact that the journey had to be cut short because of the Coronavirus Pandemic. My wife and I were scheduled for the pre-trip, which included Lake Bled, Ljubljana, and Zagreb, the main trip, which would have included, among other sites, Plitvice Park, Split, Dubrovnik, Hvar, Korcula, Dubrovnik, Albania, Korfu, AthRead more about review stating Hidden Gems of the Dalmatian Coast & Greeceens, and the post trip, which would have included Mycenae and more time in Athens.
Sadly, because of Covid 19, we were able to experience only the pre-trip portion. That experience, however, was excellent. Danijella is an outstanding tour leader, who has consummate knowledge of the places we visited and who devoted immense energy to see that we were comfortable and that we had an incredibly rich travel experience. We were especially impressed with the way that she managed the difficulties that were brought on by the pandemic, always expending great energy to attend to our concerns and at the same time provideing wonderful humor and camaraderie. We are impressed, also, with OAT's corporate management. They made our unexpected early return home seamless. In addition to giving us a full refund, they provided a generous travel credit for a future trip. This was our third OAT/GCT trip. It will certainly not be our last.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 419 total

Travel wisely

COVID-19 is still affecting travel around the world but more countries continue to reopen and adjust travel restrictions and requirements. We recommend reviewing the full list of Covid-19 travel resources - all updated regularly given the fast-changing environment.

And check out everything you need to know about how vaccines are affecting travel, including which countries are open to fully vaccinated travelers.

Ready to travel? 

Take a look at our interactive travel restrictions map or see the countries reopening for tourism list to find your next destination.

Consider booking a Custom or Private Trip for the peace of mind that comes from working directly with a travel expert. They can plan ahead for safety and assist you during the trip if any complications develop, plus give you more freedom and flexibility with your itinerary.

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Traveling - it leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller."
Ibn Battuta
x