7,712 Trafalgar Tour Reviews & Ratings

Trafalgar Tour Reviews & Ratings

7,712 Reviews
4.5 | Great
Excellent 4,747 Great 2,278 Average 501 Disappointing 125 Terrible 61
91% Recommend
Value:
4.5 Guide:
4.5 Activities:
4.5 Lodging:
4.5 Transportation:
4.5 Meals:
4.5

Tour Reviews

RP

Does Not Recommend

A despicable and terrible experience September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
A despicable and terrible experience. I booked their Best of Israel tour and paid $4,000 up front. Four days before departure my mother was rushed to the hospital and had emergency surgery. She is now in critical condition with a second surgery scheduled for the day the tour was to start, and I cannot leave home at this time. I contacted Trafalgar to tell them I needed to reschedule the trip due to these circumstances, and I would happily take the trip later. Trafalgar told me they "cannot reschedule the trip" but only cancel it; refund me 10%; and KEEP 90% OF THE MONEY AS A CANCELLATION FEE! They want to keep $3,600 for DOING NOTHING!!! These people are complete pigs. I travel two or three times a year and this was my first -- and last -- experience with this company. There is zero justification for a policy like this. Trafalgar brags about how it's been around for a hundred years and gives tours all over the world, and maybe their tours are good. I'll never know. The Best of Israel trip looked good, but this kind of despicable business practice amounts to thievery and I personally will not tolerate it. Yes, I can and will put in an insurance claim for the money but I'm going to sue them anyway. Please do not patronize a company that treats people like this. If we don't insist on an end to these kinds of predatory business practices, they will only get worse. I mean think of it: would you do this to a customer in my situation? Only a depraved company would act this way.
Read more

JG

Does Not Recommend

It is very very doubtful that I will… September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
It is very very doubtful that I will ever travel with Trafalgar again. I took my first trip with Trafalgar last month (Aug 2022).
Many of the overnight stops could be provided in hotels that are closer to the centre of the cities/towns. I did not see some cities that were on the agenda.
The chosen outer suburb hotels were not near any shops or noted historical sights. Nor were there any nice views from the hotel windows. And the 'added extras' were too expensive.
I have done tours with other agencies and had plenty of time to walk around and view the central areas of the visited cities.
Read more

ES

Does Not Recommend

got Trafalgar trip insurance and still waiting for refund September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Our first Trafalgar travel never happened. Plane trip was cancelled( not their fault) and the airline had no way to get us to our tours for days. Trip was cancelled and we are still waiting almost 3 months to see if we are getting a refund. Airline refunded money to Trafalgar 2 months ago and we are still waiting. Any travel system who says phone hold for 3 hours possible is scary. no word from company and still waiting
Read more

KD

Does Not Recommend

2 years and waiting for our Trafalgar refund August 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
We booked a tour with Trafalgar back in 2019 for travel in 2020 and paid $7911.00 in full. The tour was cancelled of course because of COVID. We were offered no refund only a credit. We rebooked the same tour in 2021 for 2022. In June, two weeks before our trip, Trafalgar cancelled the tour. Offered a full refund this time. Great! Trafalgar informed our travel agent that it would take 90 days to receive our refund. It has been 111 days plus the 2 years since they received our payment in full. We have been more than patient and have received no communication from them directly, in spite of our reaching out. Might be time for the BBB?
Read more

JLS

Does Not Recommend

So far my experience has been awful August 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
So far my experience has been awful. I paid upfront the full fare of our tour and I’ve canceled way before time to no avail so far. No reply to my emails and I have emailed a handwritten letter as well. For the first four months every time I had a query they couldn’t find me in their system and yet I was holding the paperwork as I communicated! It’s been hideous. Now we want to cancel as the trip so far is not going and I don’t trust it to, and they are not replying to me! When they did reply before I emailed to cancel, their assistance wasn’t thorough at all. I will go to the ACCC as I’ve read below that they don’t refund and can’t afford the delay of $7k returned. We need to make other arrangements and other bookings. They want us to give 100 days notice but they’ll only give you 45 if the trip doesn’t happen. That’s not fair or helpful.
Read more

RM

Does Not Recommend

Don't trust Trafalgar. August 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Booked a trip through Trafalgar to Germany and Austria for July 7/2020. Started paying 4/2018. Paid final payment on 11/2019. Total of $9,476.16. Trip was cancelled due to Covid. We were given the option of a refund or if we let the money ride, no matter the cost of the trip when it finally happens, we would owe NO MORE MONEY. Initially booked the trip with 3 extra days at a cost of $720. With Covid still prevalent, we cancelled the 3 extra days early on. Have been trying for months to get the refund of $720. After waiting hours on the phone for a Trafalgar customer service agent, our travel agent explained that there is no money in our account for a refund. The Trafalgar agent said, "The airplane tickets were more money." What about the promise of "if you let the money ride?" Trafalgar had our money for over 2 1/2 years. We could have at least earned a bit of interest if it was in our possession. First and Last trip with Trafalgar. Don't trust them.
Read more

RC

Recommends

Never again July 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Should have read reviews before we traveled, have had same experience as many of the reviews, will never travel with Trafalgar or its other companies, they canceled a guaranteed departure ,then said they reimburse for expenses incurred with our having to rebook,absolute nightmare dealing with customer NO service. Trip was to Italy less than stellar, good but not great, go with anyone else.
Hope this saves future headaches for fellow travelers.
Read more

GG

Does Not Recommend

Back from our trip with Trafalgar… July 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Back from our trip with Trafalgar (Scotland's Highlands Islands and Cities. Our accommodations were maybe two star and not designed for individuals over 50 as most had no elevators. Rooms were very small and not really designed for two individuals.
Our guide for the tour was very knowledgeable on the subject matter but was not responsive to individual requests. Our driver was excellent. On some days we spend a excessive time on the bus or ferries getting from one location to another. Tour description does not fully explain the amount and difficult in walking required for this tour.
Read more

C

Does Not Recommend

Best not to used Trafalgar June 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Absolutely worst tour company

On a recent trip to Portugal:

I fell on the second day no report was given to me for my insurance company even when I asked for it. Wellness director was not worth her being on the tour

Optionals were shoved down your throat and if you did not go the travel tour Director made it known to others that you weren’t going. And he made it bad for you on the tour. Optionals very expensive and the local tour guides were mediocre at best

Food was pitiful especially at the locations where they said dinner was included

Solo travelers were made to feel a second class citizens getting bad spots in restaurants and being asked to move so couples can sit together

Never ever recommend Tralfagar to anyone single or a couple or friends
Read more

H

Does Not Recommend

Abandoned with Covid June 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I’m writing a review of what really happens on Trafalger tours. My husband and I were on a 14 day Trafalger tour of Ireland called “Amazing Ireland”. We were on a bus with a number of people who were coughing and were repeatedly assured that it was just allergies. On the 6th day, I fell ill and tested positive for Covid-19. In Ireland, testing positive means that you are supposed to self-isolate for 7 days. Trafalger then pretty much abandoned us. The hotel Trafalger had booked for us refused to keep us saying they were full, meanwhile advertising vacancies online. Trafalger would not go to bat to help us. Their so called Trafalger Guest Support first emailed a great sounding note confirming our hotel room number, offering to help find other accommodations, and suggesting that we get in touch with our insurer and the airline. When we spoke directly with the Trafalger guest support person, he said that he wasn’t familiar with the area and would just be looking online for places and that we could do that ourselves. Trafalger said we should get a cab on the down low and quietly transfer to another hotel. They did not help us relocate or find a hotel. They suggested not to speak to the other Trafalger guests, even others who had tested positive (with whom we might have been able to problem solve). The Trafalger trip director said he would tell the group the next day, that there was no need to upset them before then. Trafalger was very happy to accept the substantial payment for our trip of a lifetime, that ended after only 6 days, but ensured no refunds would be issued. So we are now abandoned by Trafalger, left to our own devices, isolating in a hotel room (that we had to find ourselves), on the opposite side of Ireland from our final destination. No arrangements were made by Trafalger to support us or help house, feed, or transport us. We have also not heard a further peep from the Trafalger Guest Support person, nor the Trip Director (since he replied to a text asking him to give the other Covid guests our phone number). We’re very disappointed in Trafalger, to say the least, and recommend never to sign up for a Trafalger tour. Trafalger simply wants your money, and don’t really care at all about supporting their guests.
Trafalgar recently replied to my review on another site, stating that our concerns have been addressed. They haven’t!
Read more

SC

Recommends

Western Frontiers 5/10/22 June 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
Western Frontiers 5/10/22 – 5/19-22

Let me preface this by stating that this was the fourth time we traveled with Trafalgar but it will most certainly be the last. In 2019 we booked and paid for a trip to Belgium, Netherlands and Luxembourg for April 2020. Then the pandemic hit and we rescheduled our trip three more times before scheduling something in the states out of concern for quarantine measures. Had our money been refunded we most certainly would not have an issue with using Trafalgar in the future but now we will go elsewhere. After keeping our money for 2 and a half years we chose to go on their Western Frontiers trip. It was certainly not up to the standards that we had come to expect and Trafalgar offered nothing in return for keeping our money for so long. The least they could have done was honor pricing in effect at the time of our payment.


Food

Food was average at best. The “Welcome Reception” was at a decent looking restaurant in Las Vegas but consisted of about a half dozen different vegetarian appetizers, none that was fit to eat. The breakfast buffets each morning had a limited selection usually with scrambled eggs, potatoes, and bacon or sausage but little else.. It wasn’t until our last stay in Rapid City that you could have toast. These were feasts compared to the breakfast at Mountain Modern Motel (see below).



Hotels

The Mountain Modern Motel puts the Hole in Jackson Hole. It appears this motel caters more to skiers and climbers as the room is set up with hooks and areas marked “gear”. Rather than an actual bathroom sink it is equipped with a large kitchen style sink outside the actual bath area in somewhat of a kitchenette area. The floors squeak with every step you take and if you are unlucky enough to be on the first floor you can hear the floor squeak above you with every step they take. Apparently there is some remodeling going on at the motel as the restaurant was closed. As a result our breakfast consisted of an egg, a slice of cheese, and your choice of a slice of ham or sausage on a steamed hamburger bun and coffee. If we had been traveling on our own we would never have chosen to stay there. The remaining hotels were adequate but nothing to write home about.

Stops

The dinner show in Bryce Canyon was good as far as the entertainment was concerned but the dinner left a lot to be desired.

The Buffalo Bill Center in Cody was a waste of three hours. I’m sure that the crew needed time to take care of logistics but when you take a trip of this nature you take it to experience the natural beauty and landscapes of the area you are in, not to spend three hours in a museum. You had the option of walking into town but it was a little bit of a hike and it looked like rain was on the way.
Read more

CC

Does Not Recommend

Postponements over and over May 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Postponements over and over. No help in refunds. Late payments to Air Carriers. No communication. Run away.

jp

Does Not Recommend

DO NOT RECOMMEND!! April 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
DO NOT RECOMMEND!!! Trafalgar cancelled my trip too Santa Fe (which is understandable and accepted as their may not have been enough people booking, or COVID or whatever). The 90-100 days quoted to get a refund for the trip the company cancelled is NOT ACCEPTABLE. It has now been six weeks and Trafalgar still has my $3300. Calls to the service center take HOURS on hold. Horrible customer service. Horrible refund policy. Definitely disappointed.
Read more

c

Does Not Recommend

Trafalgar WARNING! March 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
This review is to help make others aware that if you have a trip booked with Trafalgar your trip and money may be at risk. Here is what has happened with my trip.

I booked a “Real Britain” tour with Trafalgar, a nine-day trip through England and Scotland. The trip was booked in August of 2021, and I have paid in full. Two days ago (59 days before our trip), I received an email from Jackie Di Lecce telling me my trip was withdrawn (Trafalgar speak for cancelation). There was no indication that the email was from Trafalgar. I might have just skipped over the email, but it had my booking number. I looked at the Trafalgar web site to check my status. Everything looked OK. Still showed number of days till the trip. No message or any indication that anything was amiss. I decided to call Trafalgar and find out what was happening. After a long time on hold a person named Francisco Mora finally came on the line. I explained about the letter and the web site. He told me that the letter probably came from their Withdrawal Team. He also confirmed that our trip had been withdrawn. He explained that I had the option of booking the same trip on a different date or I could get a refund. He also informed me that the refund would take 90 days. I explained to him I needed the money to book a tour with another company. He put me on hold and when he came back, he told me they were going to be able to expedite the refund. Now it was only going to be 30 days. I told him I needed to research tours offered by other companies before I made my decision. I asked if there was a phone number that I could call without the long wait. He said he would send me an email with details and his phone number. I received his email. No number and it only said "This is my email, feel free to ask me any questions you may have. Thank you." I sent him a reply asking to have validation on Trafalgar letter head verifying that the refund was in process. I also asked why the website still showed the trip as active and again about a contact number. In his response, he did not answer about the web site and told me there was no such number.

So here I am less than two months from our trip, and it’s canceled. I have purchased airfare and a river cruise through Europe based on the Trafalgar tour start date. I have found a few other tours that might work but the dates are not the same and will require additional nights of lodging or air fare changes.

Bottom line: I will never book with Trafalgar again and I am making it my personal mission to alert everyone of the risks when booking with Trafalgar.
Read more

RD

Does Not Recommend

Trafalgar is worst Tavel operator for Customer Sevice August 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Trafalgar cancelled a trip for Canada that we had paid for in full as the borders were closed and asked us to take a credit towards our next trip. That was in 2019. We finally applied that credit for a trip to Greece and plus an additional $1550.00 on June 30, 2021. By July 31, 2021 the CDC was warning that Greece was Level Red and we should not travel to Greece. Our trip was scheduled for August 30th. We were unable to give them 30 days cancellation notice and now not only are they charging a 50% penalty they want us to take another credit. We asked if we could postpone our trip to next April and they said No. we’ve done a couple of other trips with them and I considered them to be a class act. It troubles me that they are not worried about our welfare and I have to ask “are they about to close their business?” I will never travel with them again based on how they’ve treated me and others during this worldwide pandemic!
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 7085 total

Travel wisely

COVID-19 is still affecting travel around the world but more countries continue to reopen and adjust travel restrictions and requirements. We recommend reviewing the full list of Covid-19 travel resources - all updated regularly given the fast-changing environment.

And check out everything you need to know about how vaccines are affecting travel, including which countries are open to fully vaccinated travelers.

Ready to travel? 

Take a look at our interactive travel restrictions map or see the countries reopening for tourism list to find your next destination.

Consider booking a Custom or Private Trip for the peace of mind that comes from working directly with a travel expert. They can plan ahead for safety and assist you during the trip if any complications develop, plus give you more freedom and flexibility with your itinerary.

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step."
Lao Tzu
x