2,152 Alexander + Roberts Tour Reviews & Ratings

Alexander + Roberts Tour Reviews & Ratings

2,152 Reviews
4.8 | Excellent
Excellent 1,818 Great 284 Average 43 Disappointing 5 Terrible 2
100% Recommend
Value:
4.8 Guide:
4.8 Activities:
4.8 Lodging:
4.8 Transportation:
4.8 Meals:
4.8

Tour Reviews

SGTtCC

Does Not Recommend

Paid In Full to Go Nowhere January 2020

1.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I chose the small group China Sampler and paid in full in December 2018 for the April 2020 departure to get the $300 discount. After that it was just waiting and waiting and waiting. I was looking to start making airline flight plans to and return from China in April 2019. But when my travel agent contacted A&R she discovered that I was the only one signed up for the small group tour. This continued through the remainder of 2019. I actually called A&R direct one day to find out what was going on. I was then told about the 90 day out policy before they would cancel the trip. I asked a couple of times through my travel agent if A&R could just go ahead and cancel out the tour and refund my money, but was told there might be some last minute people to sign up for a trip to China. So basically A&R had my $5,000 plus fully paid fee to invest and use as they chose for over a year. January 10 or 20 was the 90 day before date I was told when a decision would be made to cancel. On January 9th I checked the website of A&R and saw by the small group tour for April 9-19 the words "Sold Out". So I'm thinking "Oh, maybe they did get enough last minute people to go?" So I sent my travel agent info on what airline flights I would like to take to China and back. The next day I was sent an email from my agent letting me know that A&R had cancelled the April small group trip to China for the dates I had selected. So the "Sold Out" descriptor apparently was an attempt to save face by not admitting they could not fill the small group trip with enough people to make the trip happen. Not a very "transparent" policy. About a month before A&R did offer to have me join the May China Sampler trip, but those dates did not meet my travel plans. I never received an apology directly from A&R. No offer for a discount on a future tour, nothing. Last time I will ever consider A&R for any type of tour.
Read more

C

Recommends

Review of Moscow November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our guide, Lyuba, and our driver, Misha, were wonderful. They were knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, and had great ideas for off-the-beaten-path areas and sites to explore. They made the trip very special. The hotel (the Marriott Aurora) was fabulous - comfortable, great location (very easy walk to all the sites), good bar, and very helpful staff. I can't think of a better place to stay when in Moscow.
Read more

Tour Moscow

S

Recommends

Review of Moscow November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great job in general.

Tour Moscow

R

Recommends

Review of Victoria Falls November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The tour guide was very knowledgeable of past historical events and never rushed us at any location. I was pleasantly surprised of what South Africa had to offer. Absolutely loved the animals roaming around the hotel in Livingston. I really liked the idea of 2 safari's each day (morning and late afternoon).
Read more

C

Recommends

Review of Victoria Falls November 2019

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
Everything about Victoria Falls, especially the guides and lodging were excellent.

N

Recommends

Review of Undiscovered Cuba November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Loved everything! The A/R guide, Diane, the Cuban guide, Rene, and the professional driver, Yunior. The two week trip was exceptional, with the many places visited, the interaction with the Cubans, learning/experiencing the people, culture, art, music, dance, the lectures and history. The opportunity to speak Spanish, after neglecting it for almost 20 years. The attention to details of every aspect of the tour, the ease with which we entered and departed Cuba,
Insight Cuba. The security, drugs, gambling and guns being illegal, not ever the police we saw were wearing weapons. We have already signed up for a cruise to Iceland this summer. I would recommend traveling to Cuba, and listening and learning all you can, instead of listening to the unrealistic news with which we are bombarded.
What's not to love? The Cubans are warm, friendly, eager to meet and talk with Americans. Pack your bags!!! Our group of 8 all received all the special attention they needed.
Read more

T

Recommends

Review of Undiscovered Cuba November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Hard to choose one delight, but the visit to the clinic, the choir and the indigenous family group stand out. We were able to 'hang out' and talk with vendors and other Cubans as well. Long bus rides were OK given that we stopped every so often and could see the geographical differences between the various areas in Cuba. The drive across Cuba was worth every minute it took. The Cuban people were fantastic: proud without being arrogant, resilient, friendly and helpful. We especially liked experiencing the various cities, from Havana to Baracoa. The tour leader and the guide provided needed assistance, and that helped as well.
Read more

R

Recommends

Review of Undiscovered Cuba November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Consuelo, our Insight Cuba tour guide and Madelein, the Cuba tour guide were both wonderful and very informative: 5-star. They were able to get us into exclusive places and situations because of their contacts and relationships. Wonderful cultural experience!!
Read more

D

Recommends

Review of Undiscovered Cuba November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My experience with A&R on a visit to Cuba was fantastic and better than I ever imagined. Our leaders were on top of things at all times, and the places we visited were varied and interesting. My favorites were shopping at a farmer's market for a nutritious meal (with a limited amount of CUCs) and a visit to a medical clinic. I felt I got a good really got peek at the life of Cubans. Accommodations were always good to excellent. I might add that I'm an older solo traveler and always felt comfortable and am very glad I made the trip with A&R.
Read more

B

Recommends

Review of Cape Town November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just returned from a trip to South Africa and it exceeded our reservations. We had a phenomenal time and the guides were superb! We were very well taken care of and all transfers to our different destinations were seamless. Very highly recommend A&R for traveling to Africa.
Read more

Tour Cape Town

J

Recommends

Review of Cape Town November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My entire trip was incredible. The tour arrangements in Dubai, Cape Town, and the Winelands met my expectations and went beyond. Tanya in Dubai and especially Lucia Earl in Cape Town were excellent. They made sure I saw everything I wanted to see and suggested other sights they thought would be of interest. A special highlight for me was the opportunity to meet Nelson Mandela's former jailer at Robben Island. Ms. Earl was responsible for the meeting.
Read more

Tour Cape Town

RW

Does Not Recommend

Poorly planned and executed experience October 2019

2.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 5.0
We traveled to Morocco with A+R earlier this year and had a very poor experience. Our guide was generally indifferent (did not keep the group together on walking tours so often spoke when not everyone could hear, often put off questions for "later" and never followed-up despite requests, and often left out information that we later heard from others that could have been very useful to know), travel was in a bus barely big enough for our group (so it was quite cramped), and the itinerary was not followed (things were just left out with no explanation). Several times traveling to meals the guides even had trouble finding the way to the restaurant. Very poorly prepared. Many other issues - enough for a several page note to the company post-trip. And the company's post-travel follow-up was not outstanding. They did at least acknowledge that they had perhaps not vetted this trip to an appropriate level. Others on the trip who had traveled with A+R before said the trip was an aberration, but we will not risk it again given the poor follow-up and the alternatives available.
Read more

P

Recommends

Review of Adventures Across Iceland - Summer September 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Everyday was a new adventure. The history of Iceland from government to everyday life is rich in unique traditions. The The architecture plus the rugged land makes this trip a must for your bucket list.
Read more

W

Recommends

Review of Adventures Across Iceland - Summer September 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The guide made this trip a huge success. He made each person feel welcome and catered to our needs.

J

Recommends

Review of Adventures Across Iceland - Summer September 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I learned more than expected on this wonderful trip to Iceland, thanks to an excellent itinerary and a wonderful guide. Only 15 people in our group. Very congenial and friendly! The hotels were great and the transportation arrangements always on time. This is our sixth trip with AR and we have never been disappointed!
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 2197 total

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x