13 Insight Vacations Tour Reviews & Ratings

Insight Vacations Tour Reviews & Ratings

13 Reviews
4.2 | Great
Excellent 9 Great 1 Average 1 Disappointing 0 Terrible 2
77% Recommend
Value:
4.1 Guide:
4.2 Activities:
4.2 Lodging:
4.2 Transportation:
4.2 Meals:
4.1

Tour Reviews

J

Recommends

Milan, Venice, Firenze and Rome were beyond anticipation,...Absolutely Wonderful!!!! You can leave off Pisa. April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Francis Touscheck was fantastic. Very informative and knowledgeable on the history. Christine was also fantastic in Rome, Vatican.

A

Recommends

Well thought out journey. Am very pleased I went. April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Excellent guide, who went out of his way to show us places not on the official tour. Tour was educational and well worth while. However, some of the buffet meals were below your standard.

A

Recommends

Absolutely everything! I would book any tour with Howie - Howie Geib is the 'best of the best' Tour Director. April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It certainly pleases us to learn that your overall experience with Insight Vacations in Canada and the United States of America was a successful one. Furthermore, we are especially delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the itinerary and services provided by our staff and we truly look forward to welcoming you back soon for more amazing destinations
Read more

I

Recommends

Generally the Itinerary was very good. However there was far to much emphasis and pressure on the shopping expedition April 2019

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
While the guide was knowledgeable about his country and culture his people skills were wanting. he seemed most interested in gaining commissions from preferred traders and meeting the requirements of those who wanted a shopping experience than ensuring that the majority of the group who were more interested in actually touring. Most hotels were closer to average rather than high end. The hotel on the first and last night did not even have a bar facility. The driver was excellent but the bus had absolutely minimal storage overhead and not even a bungee bag on seat backs to manage some personal items
Read more

S

Recommends

Excellent April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Knowable guides and all of the best places!

B

Recommends

Great tour with very good food and drink. June 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 4.0
Insight always chooses the best available hotels in the area. Our tour director. Tom Hogan, was excellent. His knowledge of Ireland was comprehensive and interesting making our journey more enjoyable and fun. His diplomacy and sense of humour made the tour one of the best bus tours we have experienced. Thanks so very much Tom. We look forward to our next Insight holiday.
Read more

StLTCH

Does Not Recommend

A total waste of money and the worst customer service I have ever experienced May 2017

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 3.0
I was booked on the December 21 tour for Israel and Jordan with Insight Vacations. Insight sells luxury, high end vacations, and charges accordingly. However, Insight sub-contracted the vacation to a local tour company in Israel, Mega Tours, that was less than mediocre and where none of Insights claims of service were provided. For example, they claim a personal concierge with the tour director that is to always be there. In fact the tour director left on one evening to go to his home town, then quit the tour a day early to do another tour. In Jordan, the tour director left us off at the hotels in the afternoons and we never saw him until the next morning. I have over two pages of complaints and reached out to Insight on my return. After several months of back and forth with guest services, where I was accused of colluding with another guest who also had a complaint and other insulting accusations, the Guest Relations Manager agreed that something went wrong on this trip but that Insight would not take blame and they offered me a refund of $500 - but I would have to sign a release form agreeing not to talk about the settlement or trip with anyone. I found that completely unacceptable and then reached out to the President and the CEO of the company. They apologized and offered the same compensation. I did not pay nearly $6000 for my vacation to be sub-contracted out to a local tour company with lax service. I will be happy to provide a copy of the full complaint upon request.
Read more

H

Recommends

Awesome January 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 4.0
Fantastic trip. Ticked a lot of the boxes I wanted to do. My biggest gripe with the tour, like every other tour I done, is never enough time to enjoy all the amazing places. Having said that, I would highly recommend this tour.
Read more

K

Recommends

Insight Vacations - Britains and Ireland Discovery July 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I absolutely loved this trip!

This tour was just over 3 weeks, and completely worth every dollar spent. The tour covered so many different places throughout the United Kingdom and the republic of Ireland. If you are looking for the best way to see as much if the UK as possible, then choose this tour.

The group on this tour was aged roughly between 50-86. It was a much older group. I myself am in my early 30's, and I chose this tour as I am not into the big drinking partying scene that can happen on tours. I chose this tour as I wanted to see as much as I could without the rukus that can happen with much younger tour groups. I was worried that I would not fit in, given that I was so much younger, but I was very much included in everything.

Insight Vacations had planned this well. Breakfast was included on every day of the tour, and most nights we had 3 course meals included also. (Drinks were extra). We always had stops for lunch and also mid morning and afternoon snacks if we chose.

Accommodation was 98% of the time, incredibly comfortable. The times when this was not the case, we were in some small town where we had the best of what was available.

The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable, and made an effort to answer whatever questions were thrown at her. She spent a lot of her free time preparing for the upcoming days, ensuring we had the best opportunities and time for the activities available.

The coach was cleaned every night, and our driver managed to steer his coach through some of the smallest narrowest streets around. His precision driving was second to none. He was also on hand to answer Questions and share and partake in jovial conversation.

Overall, This tour was fantastic. I was a solo traveller and paid the extra for the single supplement. I would recommend this tour to anyone (Solo Adventurers or Couples and Groups) that mentioned wanting to see the UK, no matter how old they are.
Read more

K

Does Not Recommend

Insight Vacations - Natural Wonders of Iceland July 2016

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 3.0
I chose this tour as I wanted to see Iceland and having travelled with Insight Vacations before, I was comfortable travelling with them again.

This tour was different from the last tour that I was on, as this time, the tour guide was contracted by Insight Vacations and not an employee. The tour guide had an incredible knowledge of Iceland and its surroundings and landmarks.

Accommodation for this tour was reasonably comfortable, however with the time of year that I travelled, Daylight was pretty much around 24/7, and most of the hotels we stayed at did not have sufficient curtains or blinds for these conditions, so sleep was minimal.

Many of the day stops were limited to 20 minutes or so, which can be difficult when you are faced with a lot to see in such limited time. As a result, I felt a bit rushed to get my photos in and see the site itself.

The meals are great if you eat Seafood or Lamb. Unfortunately I cannot eat either and as a result, my options were limited. I often skipped lunch as the placed we stopped at did not really have many other options. Subway (the sandwich place) is present in most of the big towns and I was thankful.

This tour is great if you want to see Iceland and as much of it as possible. But it is pretty average, and does not meet Insight Vacations usual 5 star standards.
Read more

L

Recommends

A very good tour company December 2014

5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I'm not normally a fan of bus tours but I took a chance on Insight Vacations because they sounded like they'd be a little different. As it turns out, they were a lot different. First off, the buses were roomy even for me (and I have long legs). People could get on and off the buses quickly, a nice change. The guide was terrific -- very knowledgeable and had been working for them for a long time, but somehow maintained her enthusiasm and patience with all of us. I was on a trip that visited Central Europe (Prague, Vienna, Budapest, etc.) and we stayed at great hotels in the heart of the cities, and were treated to several special events like our own Viennese opera at a palace where Mozart once composed. My only complaint would be it's a little pricey, but you do get excellent value. I would definitely consider going with them again.
Read more

AU

Recommends

Insight vacations June 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We actually traveled with Insight on the Britain and Ireland Explorer. It was wonderful. The busses are modified to provide more seat room and less people. It was wonderful to be comfortable especially when we spent a considerable amount of time on the bus.
Read more

12 Item(s)

Travel wisely

COVID-19 is still affecting travel around the world but more countries continue to reopen and adjust travel restrictions and requirements. We recommend reviewing the full list of Covid-19 travel resources - all updated regularly given the fast-changing environment.

And check out everything you need to know about how vaccines are affecting travel, including which countries are open to fully vaccinated travelers.

Ready to travel? 

Take a look at our interactive travel restrictions map or see the countries reopening for tourism list to find your next destination.

Consider booking a Custom or Private Trip for the peace of mind that comes from working directly with a travel expert. They can plan ahead for safety and assist you during the trip if any complications develop, plus give you more freedom and flexibility with your itinerary.

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"We wander for distraction, but we travel for fulfilment."
Hilaire Belloc
x