8 Great Value Vacations Tour Reviews & Ratings

Great Value Vacations Tour Reviews & Ratings

8 Reviews
1.0 | Poor
Excellent 0 Great 0 Average 0 Disappointing 0 Terrible 8
13% Recommend
Value:
1.0 Guide:
1.0 Activities:
1.0 Lodging:
1.0 Transportation:
1.0 Meals:
1.0

Tour Reviews

SKR

Recommends

Portugal September 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
This is my 3rd GVV and would use this company again. They deliver what is offered.

s

Recommends

The rental car company tried to charge… September 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
The rental car company tried to charge for additional items not required. Cars were dirty on the inside. Additional charges of $50 + tax/day for resort fee. Property under staffed to handle volume of visitors.
Read more

BJM

Does Not Recommend

Never again! September 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
I had many problems working with the tour agency prior to departure. Our flight routings were terrible! Two stops there and back from Dulles to Dublin. (17+ hours there, 30+ hours back)
The hotels were ok.
The car rental went smoothly.
I will never book a trip through them again.
Read more

TC

Recommends

TOURGREECE September 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
I think the problem was with the company you all use TOURGREECE I had to Catch a cab to and from the airport and to and from the ferry I was thinking that was included when I booked my trip.

KBT

Recommends

3/4 hotels were dumps! September 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
Pros: Transfers and paperwork were all organized. Shuttles/ vans were all newer models and clean.

Cons: 3 out of our 4 hotels were dumps. Super disappointed especially after watching other people from our group get dropped off at much nicer hotels.
Our hotel in Athens, Candia, was the worst, more like a 2 star.
Read more

A

Does Not Recommend

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE - LIERS September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Booked a trip to Indonesia on 9/07, paid almost $600 extra to have flights with fewer transfers and less time at the airport but a couple of hours later upon checking airlines learned that one of the flights I booked that was advertised as having 1 stop (according to Great Value Vacations) actually has 2 stops (according to the airlines) - called customer service but no answer because they were closed (company that sells tours all over the world doesn't have 24 hours customer service line? First red flag...). Called back in the morning (about 12 hours since booking), explained the situation and was told that the claim was opened and their flight department will investigate and call me back. Asked about 24 hours cancelation policy because if this flight has 2 stops I want to either change the flight to have fewer stops or get a refund for the price difference  because they totally misrepresented flight information on their website (that I paid extra for) or completely cancel the trip and I'll rebook with a different flight - was assured that they have a record of this claim and it wouldn't be an issue canceling for this reason even if they come back to me after more than 24 hours (LIE!). Closer to a 24 hour mark since booking but still within the window nobody called me back and I sent an email to customer service about this issue with all the details of the problem and alternative flights that are much cheaper and way more convenient and had only 1 stop... Did not receive any response the next day either - called again and a different representative confirmed that yes the flight I booked actually had 2 stops and the issue will be escalated to the management and I will receive a call back with my options. 2 days later the same representative called me and asked for alternative flight details that I would be interested in instead of the originally booked one and I gave the same information as was in the email - was told that the supervisor will call me back. On 9/13 I get an email (reply to the email sent 6 days prior) saying that I supposedly already received the assistance (???) - nobody ever called me. 9/15 - called again to follow up and was told that this is still under review and supervisor will call me back - no call. 9/20 - called again and was told that there are no alternative flights (lie!) and they can't refund the price difference. I asked to cancel this booking if this is the case (something originally discussed the first time I spoke with the representative) and was told that it's outside the 24 hour period and if I were to cancel I will lose 100% of the money paid. Asked to talk to the supervisor/manager and was told that they will call me back (when??? it's been almost 2 weeks!), asked the representative to escalate this but the representative just rudely hung up the phone... As far as I'm concerned they already lied (misrepresented) about the ticket/flights, they lied about how the cancelation policy works and dragged this out of the free cancellation window, they lied about calling back (multiple times) - what else do they lie about? Will this trip even happen? Customer service is NOT helpful and no supervisor or managers are ever available. Will NOT recommend this experience to anyone!!!! RUN AWAY and USE ANY OTHER COMPANY and save yourself a headache of dealing with these liers!
Read more

LM

Recommends

Essential Peru: Lima, Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu & Cusco September 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
We booked a trip to Scotland/Ireland with trip insurance. It was canceled by GVV due to Covid, but we did not get our money back. We did rebook the trip to Peru instead, which was outstanding trip (led by South American Tours). Excellent itinerary and the experience exceeded our expectations. Despite signing up a dozen times to receive emails from GVV on travel deals, and waiting on hold for 3 hours, I am still to this day not on the email list. However, whenever I did speak with a GVV rep they were very helpful.
Read more

MTM

Recommends

Self Guided was Ok September 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
On the plus side, the hotels were all very nice with friendly staff. The nature of this trip allowed us to schedule what we wanted to do and that worked well for us. We scheduled our own tours and planned each day. We upgraded to a medium size car. I don't like hidden costs and if a car is part of the deal then you can expect to pay parking at the downtown hotels. It's not something you have a choice about. So include that as part of the cost.
Read more

VDB

Does Not Recommend

The trip seemed very disorganized September 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
The trip seemed very disorganized, transport didn’t show up to one of our hotels until we called them and we almost missed our ferry. The first hotel was dirty and out dated.

MB

Recommends

Awesome vacation!!! September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Awesome vacation!!!! Totally 5 star experience.

BJ

Does Not Recommend

Read the fine print for additional fees September 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
The Hilton hotel in Hawaii (Kona island, and Honolulu) was very outdated. We was charged $$$ additional fees for parking and room taxes etc. These prices were a lot higher than expected, especially since we had already paid through great value vacations. I wasn’t pleased with the package received for the amount of money that was spent. It was way to expensive!!
Read more

MM

Recommends

Good value for the money September 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Good value for the money, the only thing I would keep an eye on is time. I understand layovers happen but prolonged scheduled layovers are not great. And then flying for 12hrs to arrive at a hotel that can't check you in for another 4-6hrs was kinda annoying. Other then that good value for the money
Read more

D

Does Not Recommend

The actual booking process was fine but… September 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
The actual booking process was fine but finding the detailed information about transport was a bit tricky to find. Also we were provided the cheapest airline on jet blue and were not given any information about hurricane Fiona and cancellation policies.
Read more

SA

Recommends

I had a great experience September 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I had a great experience, everything was booked and lined up, no issues. The only problem I had was dealing with the B&B vendor, Circle UK, they have no way to check availability except emailing them, and it was a full day or two between emails, so it was like 2 weeks of back and forth, and they don't hold the location you want, so by the time they email you back the reservation is full and you can't book. I didn't even use all my B&B vouchers because they couldn't confirm availability for me. Ridiculous. I booked separately out of pocket. So I don't recommend a B&B package.
Read more

D

Does Not Recommend

Unnecessary headache September 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
To start this review, I will first say this was planned using a travel credit we had due to a trip being cancelled multiple times because of COVID. Unfortunately, we would not have chosen this company for a trip within the US (originally purchased a Scotland/Ireland package) but they wouldn’t give a refund so a credit was the only option. Rebooking with a child was a complete nightmare. I’d wait on hold 1-2 hours no matter what time of day I called, 90% of the time only to be told someone else would have to call back to assist. Once I’d finally get people on the phone they were typically nice (other than one extremely rude individual) but would say someone would call back and then I wouldn’t hear anything and would go through it all over again. A lot of individuals would also tell us one thing and then we’d talk to someone else and they’d say otherwise. After more hours than I can imagine counting, we got this trip scheduled and though it wasn’t bad, I wasn’t impressed. I was also disappointed to find that the hotel charged $40 a day for parking which wasn’t included in the package. I’ve been told they have some of the kinks worked out as far as booking with a child but at this point, I’ve had enough headache dealing with the company that I won’t be interested in rebooking through them again. Although I realize COVID has caused everyone to be in a unique situation, their availability and way they handled things certainly could have been better. I read reviews that the oversees trips were great but unfortunately within the US, I wasn’t impressed.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 16852 total

Travel wisely

COVID-19 is still affecting travel around the world but more countries continue to reopen and adjust travel restrictions and requirements. We recommend reviewing the full list of Covid-19 travel resources - all updated regularly given the fast-changing environment.

And check out everything you need to know about how vaccines are affecting travel, including which countries are open to fully vaccinated travelers.

Ready to travel? 

Take a look at our interactive travel restrictions map or see the countries reopening for tourism list to find your next destination.

Consider booking a Custom or Private Trip for the peace of mind that comes from working directly with a travel expert. They can plan ahead for safety and assist you during the trip if any complications develop, plus give you more freedom and flexibility with your itinerary.

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"I'm bored' is a useless thing to say. You live in a great, big, vast world that you've seen none percent of."
Louis C.K.
x