15,560 Great Value Vacations Tour Reviews & Ratings

Great Value Vacations Tour Reviews & Ratings

15,560 Reviews
4.1 | Great
Excellent 8,431 Great 3,642 Average 1,691 Disappointing 750 Terrible 1,046
88% Recommend
Value:
4.1 Guide:
4.1 Activities:
4.1 Lodging:
4.1 Transportation:
4.1 Meals:
4.1

Tour Reviews

LAK

Recommends

We found an amazing deal to Tuscany… May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We found an amazing deal to Tuscany with Great Value Vacations. There was nothing disappointing about the trip. The flight, hotel and car were exactly as listed. Would definitely book with them again.
Read more

T

Does Not Recommend

Portland no longer a gem May 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Car & hotels were not booked until I called one week before The trip & I already was planning restaurant near the hotel posted on the website. All three hotels were different then listed in the description. First hotel was not good. (Definitely not the Benson) in Portland. Very small & had to put our suitcase on the bedside table. Very limited outlets for electronic devices. Also Portland is no longer a gem. Crazy amount of homeless with tents, garbage, feces & drug use in the sidewalk. Downtown business boarded up. Did not feel safe walking to & from the hotels!!!
Read more

LM

Recommends

Great vacation for its price May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It’s my first time booking a vacation on this company. I was not disappointed, the price of the 3 days Hawaiian vacation including the hotel and flight is wonderful. There were no issues encountered during our travel. Will definitely book another vacation with this company
Read more

TMG

Does Not Recommend

Disappointed Traveler May 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
Disappointed with GVV's trip planning. GVV cancelled our trip several times due to COVID, then increased our costs and fees with each rebooking despite the cancellation being due to a world wide pandamic and despite purchasing travel insurance. We chose their package Irish Castles and Countryside. Two stays were hotels, not castles. Hotel Woodstock was disgusting and full of children running up and down the halls well past midnight. At Lough Rynn Castle, our room was in an out building, not in the castle. The service however was impeccable. I could have planned this trip better myself.
Read more

AH

Recommends

Ireland May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I wasn't sure how the voucher trip was going to turn out, but it went very smoothly. The accomodations were fantastic and everything was just as stated in the trip description. Definitely will not hesitate to book with Great Value Vacations again.
Read more

WG

Recommends

The trip was as advertised May 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
The trip was as advertised. The Check My Trip worked well for storing and receiving information. The Hotel was as advertised except we reserved double beds and received a family room with three beds. We did receive a partial ocean view room and the breakfast was excellent. I would recommend the Cartagena Plaza Hotel as the hotel is in a great location and the beach is just across the street. I did rent a car and traveled across Cartagena. I had a great time and would recommend your company. Keep up the good work.
Read more

SD

Recommends

Greece trip Finally able to go May 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
Covid made this trip a long time coming.
The plan was to meet our friends who we planned the trip with in Boston and fly to Greece together. We were booked on different flights to different countries (Switzerland and Germany). We did find them at our hotel in Greece. The driver Hermes who drove us to our hotel was great and provide lots of information and a guide tour. We took the tour of Athens. It was well worth the money as it was informative and guide very knowledgeable.
Our experience on the islands was not the same. We were met at the ferry directed to our ride and give a number if any questions. No guidance as to recommendations what to do or see. This was the same for the three islands we visited. A handout or suggestions would have been welcomed. At Mykonos we were advised due to Easter it would be difficult to find a restaurant which proved to be very wrong. Lots of options and no waiting.
Greece and the islands are great and would go again. Planning the trip was frustrating. Our attempts to get information and clarification of issues and concerns with Great Value Vacation was challenging. No return calls or emails. Covid played a role but it shouldn’t be that hard to keep people informed. We also had the insurance but it didn’t cover Covid countries being closed. Basically use it or lose it.
Read more

LA

Recommends

4 stars for most of trip with one BIG DISAPPOINTMENT IN CRETE. May 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
We usually give your tours 5+ stars and most of our experience in Greece was exceptional. Unfortunately the stop in Crete was a disappointment. First, GVV has always done a great job of having a representative meet us at every stop to make sure we get around and oriented. The GVV Rep never showed up in Crete and then phoned the hotel while we were trying to check in, spoke briefly with one of the other people that arrived at the same time we did, saying sorry, I won’t be meeting you. When he was asked about possible tours, he told them to talk to the hotel’s concierge. This has NEVER been my experience on any of our GVV trips and was pretty disappointing as we have always relied on your employees to provide guidance and insight in places unfamiliar to us.

Which brings me to the Aquila Atlantis Hotel. We arrived there from the airport At 6:30 on a Saturday. There was one person at the desk who was LESS than helpful, bordering on rude. I don’t expect to be greeted at a “5 Star” hotel by a cranky person shoving a clipboard at us and making us fill in a long form with all the information they were probably already provided by GVV in order to get into our room. There was NO ONE helping move baggage. When the man at the desk was asked about possible tours and if the hotel had a concierge, he tossed a “hop on hop off” bus tour brouchure across the counter to her and told her “I’m the concierge”. I don’t know if this is because this hotel is struggling because of COVID or that it was a holiday weekend, but if a hotel wants to advertise itself as 5 stars they need to do better than this. I would strongly recommend you remove them from your rotation.
Read more

KR

Does Not Recommend

Never again. May 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
Booked Greek Highlight trip. Supposed to be a 3 star hotel in Athens. Definitely not. Unsafe area. Hotel staff was very professional but bed was the hardest mattress I’ve even been on. GVV has horrible customer service. My niece never got her ferry tickets. We were abroad and needed help getting home. Couldn’t get a hold of anyone. It was a nightmare. Will never use GVV again.
Read more

S&A

Recommends

great hotels! May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The hotel accommodations were very good. However, they were very far away from the tourist areas.

NEB

Recommends

Really horrible plane seats on all the flights May 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
The hotel was great. The plane seats were HORRIBLE; Worst seats on all the planes. The guides and drivers were really good. Overall, the package was not a good value. Next time I will book the segments myself.
Read more

SHP

Recommends

Effective reliable accommodations and… May 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Effective reliable accommodations and transportation. Flights as expected and reliable. Rates reasonable. One thing thing that was unexpected was extra bag fees and hotel country tax. The fees were not significantly unreasonable just unexpected. The vacation was lovely, the history entrancing and the trip well-priced.
Read more

DB

Recommends

Good with some tweaks May 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
The trip was great, however there are a few tweaks I would have changed. For starters, 2 of our hotels were a little far from the city centers and finding transportation in a foreign city is not always as easy as it seems. As a tourist, its nicer to be put into tourist areas and have the ability to wander out further if you so choose, instead of being put out far too begin with. Secondly, when we visited Athens, Greece, there was a labor day holiday going on where everything was closed and our included sightseeing trip was canceled. As a travel agency, it would have been nice to have been informed of this holiday so we could have planned better, or just been made aware of this before our trip.
Read more

MHM

Does Not Recommend

Overall a vacation from Great Value Vactions is NOT a great value. May 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
We booked a vacation to Ireland by calling Great value vacations directly. Initially the communication seemed OK, However when we received our information online, we noticed several problems. The description we received in the advertisement said breakfast included. Our documents said no breakfast included. We had added a package of sightseeing destinations to our vacation. The dates assigned to us were almost impossible to do. They had us going all the way back to Dublin before being scheduled for the cliffs of mohr the next day. That trip back would be over 3 hours one way. We sent 3 emails trying to address these issues.which got no reply. Calls were put on hold for 47 mins before disconnecting. When we finally were able to speak to someone, comma they were not well 'd well informed and could not answer our questions. They said that we would receive a call back. We never received a call back.. We called several times more to try and speak with a supervisor. One call we were told it was our fault about no breakfast because we never asked for it when we booked. We were rudely hung up on after being told to wait for someone to call us. Again only to be told that we were wrong breakfast was not included in our package and that we could always call and change our dates for the site seeing directly with the companies in Ireland. Very dissatisfied with their handling of these issues. There were four of us traveling together. Breakfast cost an average of 15 euros per person for 10 days that amounts to 600 euros. That significantly adds to your budget. Be aware of this if you decide to book with Great Value Vacations.
We had a car during our stay. Most of the hotels were lovely a and located in a convenient area. However the hotel for Dublin was 20 minutes outside the city with nothing around. It cost is 25 dollars a day to park for siteseeing while in Dublin.
Overall a vacation from Great Value Vactions is NOT a great value.
Read more

W

Recommends

We had a great time in Italy May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had a great time in Italy. Will recommend this trip. Hotels were great and locations very central. Was a birthday trip for both my husband and I. All hotels included breakfast daily. Sorento was fabulous. Well spent birthdays.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 15620 total

Travel wisely

COVID-19 is still affecting travel around the world but more countries continue to reopen and adjust travel restrictions and requirements. We recommend reviewing the full list of Covid-19 travel resources - all updated regularly given the fast-changing environment.

And check out everything you need to know about how vaccines are affecting travel, including which countries are open to fully vaccinated travelers.

Ready to travel? 

Take a look at our interactive travel restrictions map or see the countries reopening for tourism list to find your next destination.

Consider booking a Custom or Private Trip for the peace of mind that comes from working directly with a travel expert. They can plan ahead for safety and assist you during the trip if any complications develop, plus give you more freedom and flexibility with your itinerary.

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"All journeys have secret destinations of which the traveler is unaware."
Martin Buber
x