1,639 Intrepid Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Intrepid Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

1,639 Reviews
4.8 | Excellent
Excellent 1,339 Great 287 Average 3 Disappointing 3 Terrible 7
99% Recommend
Value:
4.8 Guide:
4.8 Activities:
4.8 Lodging:
4.8 Transportation:
4.8 Meals:
4.8

Tour Reviews

Kh

Recommends

Tour made travel easy September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was a wonderful way to see Costa Rica. The tour made it easy to see all the highlights of the country. My only regret for my husband was that he didn't do it 5 years earlier when he was more mobile. The tour guide was excellent and added some special touches that made the trip better. The hot springs river used by the locals was one. He also found great, reasonably priced restaurants for us. Do take more cash than you think you need. I had planned to pay for excursion with Visa and usually the guide had paid and I needed cash to pay him back.
Read more

SB

Recommends

superb group trip to Costa Rica September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
superb group trip to Costa Rica with Intrepid travel- well organised, great guide fabulous experience. We saw wildlife in its natural habitat, stunning scenary and had the chance to interact with local people which enriched our experiences
Read more

a

Recommends

Intrepid is the best way to travel September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Intrepid is the best way to travel! It gives you autonomy over your trip while someone else has to deal with all the stressful parts of travel. I went to Norway with intrepid and had the best time. The tour leader was so passionate and knowledgable. Would definitely do another one within a heartbeat
Read more

SM

Recommends

August 2022 Turkey Encompassed tour September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I took the Turkey Encompassed tour in August 2022. This tour is a perfect mix of history, culture, food, meeting local people, landscapes, some hikes in Cappadocia and swimming in Kas. Even the travelling days on the bus were comfortable. I highly recommend this trip. Our tour leader and driver were also great. Our leader made sure to select adequate restaurants for us to eat, not too expensive, helped us pay at the end (when the waiters often spoke only Turk), he made sure everyone was comfortable at any time and we could do as many toilet-stops as we needed. :)

Weather: I went in August and it was very hot, so if you have difficulty with that, choose cooler months.

Clothing: For the hikes in Cappadocia, it is sometimes very steep and can be slippery, so wear adequate shoes.
Read more

M

Recommends

Darwin Kakadu Katherine Lichfield 2022… September 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
In August 2022 did the Darwin Kakadu Katharine Lichfield trip I enjoyed the trip very much.
There were 14 of us travelling in a mini bus.
The driver guide was very experienced and knowledgeable our safety was important, but we did good hikes some more difficult then others but everyone got to the main attraction and some off us went on to do an extra walk. Go at your ability.
A few of the days we made our own lunch to take for the day as you out were no cafes.Hint if you have special dietary requirements or not fond wraps sandwich bring container for salad. There was vegetarian gluten free options. But remember you are in rural areas. Though the restaurants we went to for dinner were nice. Some people did there own thing.
Accommodation was comfortable from hotel to cabins.
At end day you had time to relax and do your own thing.
Even though it was August it was quite warm walking.
Read more

RS

Recommends

Great experience with Intrepid September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great experience with Intrepid. The group leaders were helpful and very knowledgeable. The itinerary was great. Lots of walking and use of public transportation was an experience for sure. The trip was well worth the cost, we would definitely use Intrepid again.
Read more

S

Recommends

Borneo family adventure September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thoughtful itinerary with perfect balance of nature, adventure and a slice of heaven at the end. Somehow Intrepid adds a bit of magic to the experience. If you want to make memories that you will cherish, tell stories that will make you laugh, squirm and feel lucky for years to come then don’t hesitate- just go.
Read more

JS

Recommends

I have completed around 10 Intrepid tours… September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have completed around 10 Intrepid tours and I really enjoy the interaction with the group members and the team leader while we learn and explore. My husband and I completed the Barcelona to Rome and the Best of Italy Tours.

The Great things - usually Intrepid finds accommodation that is good value for money, very clean, close to the action and is boutique, quirky or interesting. I like that I don't have to book and I like that they usually (not always) have breakfasts included.

Some not so great things - too much public transport, waiting time, up and down stairs (DO NOT take heavy suitcases!!) and delays. Not so much fun!

The Tour leader usually has interesting stories to tell and can share information and help us to have a great time. They often speak several languages.

Intrepid have the best Tour Leaders. I recommend these trips for everyone as they make travelling easy and fun!
Read more

DP

Recommends

Fabulous trip on the Larapinta Trail September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Fabulous trip on the Larapinta Trail. Excellent crew and fascinating fellow travellers. Five day walk with all provisions; the walk well thought out with the hardest day at the end. Billy provided culinary delights to suit a range of dietary requests and guides, Anna and Hamish kept us informed, on track and alive!
Highly recommended and Australians should experience the west McDonald Ranges before the need to go to exotic, far-flung destinations! Some of the oldest land masses in the World are literally right under our feet. Regards David Palmer.
Read more

KB

Recommends

I love this tour company and its values!! September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I love this tour company, having traveled to Egypt and on safari in South Africa. Their guides are deeply knowledgeable and always ready to help make the trip wonderful and personal. Their connections got us into/out of sites and borders more quickly than other tourists. They really made our trips the BEST. I also like Intrepid for their small tours and for their philosophy on responsible tourism. I'm a fan and can't wait to go on my next tour with them. The trouble will be deciding which one!!
Read more

J

Recommends

Premium Tuscany for sure September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Terrific trip through middle Italy. Our guide Micol made it fun and interesting at every stop. She added much more than was promised in the trip description. Good hotels with central locations. Really good experience all around.
Read more

R

Recommends

Great Iceland Discovery experience in Aug 2022 September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Well organised, covered most touristic highlights of Iceland, amazing landscapes & sceneries, great like-minded people in the tour group of every age

some downsides: Iceland is super-expensive (therefore accommodation can be very basic), weather unpredictable, lots of driving
Read more

HF

Recommends

Great trip - Vietnam southbound September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My family had a fantastic time. We loved the country, loved the people, history and food. The tour meant that we did so much more than if we had travelled on our own. The tour was extremely well organised, very varied and great fun. Thank you.
Read more

cw

Does Not Recommend

It was not an active vacation September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
It was not an active vacation, on days out there were 2 hours active out of 5/6 hours trip.
We were being overcharged on everything from lunches to beverages at the accommodation which were around 25% more expensive than in town.
The walks were nice, but far from active or challenging, it was nice with historical & geographical insight but we came to be active as the main point.
Biking was done on 10/15 year old equipment of low quality (Plastic pedals, failing breaks, Wonky rims, Faulty suspension) and most the time we were just driven up hills to bike around a lake, when we got taken to the bike park it was for a one time cruise through. My own brakes failed before we had to go downhill and a fellow guests brakes completely failed going downhill.
The better things was the rafting & staff who were super friendly & knowledgeable.
Read more

g

Recommends

Magic Kimberley September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
An excellent experience of the outback with capables guides sooooo good WE LOVED it….

Items 1 to 15 of 3893 total

Travel wisely

COVID-19 is still affecting travel around the world but more countries continue to reopen and adjust travel restrictions and requirements. We recommend reviewing the full list of Covid-19 travel resources - all updated regularly given the fast-changing environment.

And check out everything you need to know about how vaccines are affecting travel, including which countries are open to fully vaccinated travelers.

Ready to travel? 

Take a look at our interactive travel restrictions map or see the countries reopening for tourism list to find your next destination.

Consider booking a Custom or Private Trip for the peace of mind that comes from working directly with a travel expert. They can plan ahead for safety and assist you during the trip if any complications develop, plus give you more freedom and flexibility with your itinerary.

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Remember happiness is a way of travel not a destination."
Roy Goodman
x