3,955 Intrepid Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Intrepid Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

3,955 Reviews
4.6 | Excellent
Excellent 2,971 Great 659 Average 127 Disappointing 63 Terrible 135
95% Recommend
Value:
4.6 Guide:
4.6 Activities:
4.6 Lodging:
4.6 Transportation:
4.6 Meals:
4.6

Tour Reviews

RK

Recommends

Planes, trains, buses... and a felucca ! May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Planes, trains, buses... and a felucca !

My trip started in Cairo at the Pharaoh's Hotel. The hotel is just one block from the river Nile with lots of lovely cafes and restaurants lined along the boardwalk. The area is picturesque and a great place to begin my Egyptian adventure!
I met up with my group and we had a briefing from our local guide, Hassaan. The meeting was a great opportunity to get to know my fellow travellers and Hassaan gave us all the essential information on our tour, including teaching us all a few words of Arabic.

This was my third trip to Egypt and my most enjoyable. Previously, I had been on a diving boat from Hurghada and also in the beach resort of Sharm El Sheikh. Both were beautiful but it was easy to miss the depth of culture and history that exists inland along the Nile.

Don’t leave Cairo without sampling some delicious baklava and of course Koshary! The Hotel Baron have a fabulous pastry shop and sell all types of baklava and chocolates, not to mention Giant Ferrero Rocher's, mouthwatering !

This was an unforgettable holiday and for sure I will return to Egypt, only for longer the next time.
Top Tips
• Don’t forget insect repellant for your overnight Felucca trip
• Make a stop at the Off License for your alcoholic beverages. Wine or beer are not widely available but there is no problem to bring your own into the restaurants and enjoy on the train journey.
• Check out the delicious baklava in Simonds and coffee from Abu Auf
• Cairo drivers are crazy, no traffic lights, no rules - beware!
Read more

CS

Recommends

Where do I start ....... May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Where do I start? The whole Egypt experience with Intrepid was superb from beginning to end. We were met at the airport by an Intrepid representative who took hold of our travel documents and whisked us through the airport formalities like we were VIP's. We were waiting for our bags whilst most of the people on our flight were queuing for entry stamps. Bags collected, the representative went with us to the waiting transfer vehicle and accompanied us through the busy Cairo rush hour traffic to our hotel. We'd paid for an pre-night and it would have been nice to have had one of the better "balcony" rooms, but that's a lesson learned for next time - ask first! We met Ramy Hamdy, our guide and the other 6 people in our group the following day. Ramy would be by our side for the whole of the week's tour, and for 2 western blonde women, that was very reassuring. He was practising Ramadan whilst with us, and we felt very guilty at mealtimes, eating whilst he sat watching us. It would have been easy for him to have excused himself whilst we ate, but he made sure we were all OK and had everything we needed. The excursions were well paced in what was quite a hectic tour, but we covered everything you want to do in Egypt, and more. We really felt that we were part of the country, not just visiting it, and Ramy had a lot to do with that. His knowledge, was second to none and he was able to give us insights into the workings of the country that only a resident would know. The "off the beaten track" activities really made this holiday - 24hrs chillaxing on a felucca, sleeping in the middle of The Nile, a visit to a traditional Nubian village and Break fast meal with a resident family there who'd cooked up a real feast, henna tattoos done by the lady of the house, another lunch up a backstreet in the Luxor suburbs that just no-one else would find, camel rides, hot air balloons, the sleeper train too, all experiences to be remembered for a very long time. We left, as we arrived, with personal attention from an Intrepid representative who, again, whisked us through the airport for our flight home. This was the first time we travelled with Intrepid, and there's another trip already booked to look forward to. There's no reason for us to look to another Company for our travel abroad - Intrepid has it all in bucketloads.
Read more

BB

Recommends

Dubrovnik to Venice - Great Tour May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was me and husband's third Intrepid tour (first was India, second was Iceland) We so enjoy the immediate friends made within small groups like this and also the knowledgeable guides in countries we are not familiar with. Our tour guide - Ivance was so much fun. She went above and beyond as a tour guide. Responded to late night issues, assisting with finding activities on free days, and creating a celebration for one of the people on our trip for their birthday. All restaurant recommendations were top notch.
There was a slight mix up with our transport when arriving in Dubrovnik. Our flight was delayed, cancelled, and while I was able to communicate the change in itinerary we somehow still missed our ride. However, after emailing Intrepid and explaining we tried to call the emergency number, they reimbursed us for our payment for the transfer as well as the taxi we ended up having to take. This was our first time to the Balkans and were were so happy that we had the most amazing group and tour guide. This was our first big trip since 2018 (due to covid) and we could not have chosen a better one.
Read more

OS

Recommends

Premium Jordan May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Itinery was very varied, ancient ruins, amazing food, the Dead Sea, Petra hiking then Wadi Rum.

Mohammad was a great leader, appreciate him opening up about his personal life stories and experiences.
Read more

LB

Recommends

Excellent Tour & Guide - Some Issues at HQ May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It's very difficult to separate Intrepid the company (office, reservations, customer service) from the in-country guides. I recently took the Mexico Unplugged tour. My original booking process was through an agency (I had actually won the trips as a prize) - and so I couldn't really say what the booking experience was like.

I received no direct contact from Intrepid, but did receive an itinerary document for each trip (3 Intrepid Tours in Total) - which did mention that i had a transfer from the Mexican arrival airport to my hotel.

I was met well and brought to the hotel by a pleasant driver. I had been expecting more basic accommodation, with the word UNPLUGGED in the name of the tour - but we started at an Ibis Styles, and each stop on the tour got more individual (my preferences) sometimes a little more basic, some times much nicer. I was never without Air-Con (or a fan), towels or in room toiletries. Sometimes a safe, once or twice not - but I'd give sacrifice the safe for the family/boutiqe feel of these lovey stays. Being on single supplement meant that I never even needed house-keeping in, with 2 peoples towels to myself.

I felt safe and secure at all times in each hotel, coach, and whenever we were with our EXCELLENT guide, Nathan. In fact, 99.5% of the time, I felt completely safe even when alone, and in the evenings in Mexico, having taken basic self-security precautions.

The tour is RAPID - you will be on the move every 2 nights (sometimes only a one night stay). There are public coach trips (but they are well equipped coaches with air con, entertainment, toilets and charging points).
It is the only way to fit in such a massive chunk of a massive country into 2 weeks. You may feel the need for 5 days recovery afterwards!!

But the pay off is a whirlwind of colour, creativity, history, culture, nature - and our guide was absolutely ON TOP of every moment - always happy to answer questions, had a deep knowledge of the country and was excellent at recommending activities, with consideration each guests individual needs, goals and budget. I think it's worth the pace, the energy and putting all your energy into 2 weeks of making the most of every moment.

We had one major problem on our tour - which was actually a guest. This guest had not been realistic about his physical and mental needs after a serious accident. This meant that the guide, and to some extent the group, were burdened with looking out for them, calling out tripping hazards, assisting at ATMs.

Unfortunately, on top of this, the same person turned out to be a functioning alcoholic and a letch - making unwanted advances and comments at some of the female guests, and eventually going missing for 24 hours. Our Guide dealt with the situation perfectly - but should never have been put in such a position.

Furthermore - Intrepid as a company deemed it fit to welcome the guest back to the tour when they resurfaced. DESPITE the fact that this person had 'prior form' on European Intrepid Tours, (ie was a known problem guest). Intrepid, as far as I know, also allowed this customer to go on to a further tour - which probably took the polish off of another group's experience.

I must also say - that I wrote a lot of feedback to Intrepid Customers service - and they were speedy and attentive in their reply - I really felt like they listened to my feedback - and actually specified what actions they were taking in response! Which was impressive

Soooo...
tour itinerary - excellent, if speedy.
guide in country - EXCELLENT!
Office/Booking/Prep/Customer Service - Fine by me - but they may need to initiate a red flagging system for problem customers!
Read more

L

Recommends

Single traveler in new lands May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
As a single traveler going for the first time into Morocco, I wanted the security of a group and a guide who knew the area. I was excited with the itinerary and because I was the only traveler on the tour, I had a first hand experience of everything Morocco had to offer. Live chat ensured that all my questions were answered before hand, and I found many helpful hints (what to wear, what to bring, words to learn) on the website. On the tour itself, the guide and driver became like my family as they explained everything we saw, patiently answered all my questions, warned me and guided me from pickpockets, and made me feel both comfortable and at home in a foreign land. Everything was fantastic and I had the best two weeks of my life!
Read more

KH

Recommends

Intrepid Peru = Incredible May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was my first time on a group tour, Intrepid delivered and surpassed my every expectation. The Classic Peru Trip is incredible, highly recommend it 10/10!

WD

Recommends

The Tamang Heritage & Langtang National Park trek. May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The Trek is well designed to give great insight into the cultural and ethnic diversity, lifestyle and contrast of the local people across the Tamang -Langtang areas, which we enjoyed immensely, and we had the benefit of a local and very helpful and knowledgeable leader. The trekking was challenging and you need to be fit , but it is well worth the effort. The contrast in landscape between the Tamang region and Langtang area kept the walking fresh and interesting , and the assembled team assisting us were great, without exception. Walking in early spring allowed us stable & clement walking weather, and we were able to witness ,amongst other spring activity the flowering of the Rhododendron forests which was one of the highlights. I would unreservedly recommend this walk for any trekkers not wishing to climb mountains , but rather enjoy challenging and varied walking tracks .
Read more

NR

Recommends

We travelled as a couple on the 20.4.22 May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We travelled as a couple on the Intrepid Beautiful Cuba trip as a group of nine other travellers. The joining instructions were clear and we all met at the first Hostel in Havana. We had Adita as our guide and Eduardo as our driver and they were excellent. The accommodation was always clean and everything worked wherever we went although there was brief power outage in Vinales with my partner thinking she had drained the power by plugging her hair straighteners in. The organisation was great, food at eco farms and casa particulars always good and fresh. Having a guided trip meant we saw all the usual tourist locations and the not so well known. The experiences of seeing the various towns and cities was good, with enough time to explore in our own. Cuba is a beautiful country and by using Intrepid we saw some of it best bits and learnt so much about its rich history. I would recommend this trip if you like history culture swimming in warm tropical seas listening to Cuban music Salsa dancing, riding in old American cars this is for you.
Read more

JU

Recommends

Spectacular scenery, excellent guide, great value May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
our guide was most helpful and knowledgeable, and when specialized knowledge was required, hired local guides to lead us through the maze-like medinas in historical districts, and paths through oases. Alternatives were always presented, to fit the special interests or concerns of the members of the group. A great variety of experiences were presented , from spectacular Islamic architecture in Fes and Marakech, to the gloriously blue alleys of Chefchaouen, to the "Barbery Apes" in the Oak forests at the foot of the Atlas mountains. The accommodations were very elegant for the cost of the tour, some of them exquisitely restored historic kasbahs with mosaic-tiled walls, or garden hotels with flowered courtyards. If you only have weeks to spend in this fascinating country, this is the way to do it.
Read more

T

Recommends

Jordan Discovery May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great tour, well planned to see all the major sites. Would highly recommend. Our guide, Zaher, was brilliant : very knowledgeable, informative, flexible and friendly. Accommodation was good too. Only downside of our experience was slow admin support from the office prior to our depart
Read more

R

Recommends

Portugal is a great travel destination May 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Portugal is a great travel destination. This was a well organised and well paced trip. We covered most of the Portuguese highlights and each stop allowed us sufficient time to enjoy and get to know the destination.
The food and accommodation was first class and our guide most helpful and knowledgeable.
Por
Read more

DA

Does Not Recommend

A Brand I Trusted, Now Improved with A Disappointing Premium Product May 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
Ahmed, the tour leader, was the shining light on an otherwise mediocre trip. His knowledge and experience is second-to-none. It's a shame the Premium offering is barely comfort. A 3AM start for Day 2, poor quality hotels, the final one with a mouldy shower and damp carpet, a low quality cruise ship where you constantly pay for drinks (including soft drink and water) while being hassled by the on-board, nigh omnipresent photographer to buy photos you continually told him not to take of you, additional tours being sub-par (45 minute rush and 2 hour airport wait to see Abu Simbel anyone?) make me think Intrepid should stick to adventure travel and leave Premium experiences to other companies. Especially when their Comfort package for Egypt is longer, includes Abu Simbel & Alexandria already and seems to be on par with the quality we got. This is my third time with the company (previously did Basix & Original) and sadly they dropped the ball.
Read more

CC

Does Not Recommend

Not for solo female travellers April 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Not for solo female travellers. Little concerned here for peoples safety. They forgot to pick up my 75 year old mum from Lima airport at 2 am. Their emergency contact did not speak English. I’m still waiting for an explanation 24 hours after emailing them…shame I have to write a review to get their attention…hopefully the tour is a bit better organised…
Read more

J

Recommends

Jordan adventure April 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
A fantastic week in Jordan with a brilliant guide and a great group of fellow travellers. The history and landscape of this young country is interesting and amazing; the food's not bad either! From camping and hiking in Wadi Rum to the sights in Petra and the history of Jerash, Jordan is a diverse and beautiful country. Our guide Faisal went out of his way to look after us, especially when our flight home was delayed by 2 days. This is our 6th Intrepid trip and I highly recommend this company.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 3907 total

Travel wisely

COVID-19 is still affecting travel around the world but more countries continue to reopen and adjust travel restrictions and requirements. We recommend reviewing the full list of Covid-19 travel resources - all updated regularly given the fast-changing environment.

And check out everything you need to know about how vaccines are affecting travel, including which countries are open to fully vaccinated travelers.

Ready to travel? 

Take a look at our interactive travel restrictions map or see the countries reopening for tourism list to find your next destination.

Consider booking a Custom or Private Trip for the peace of mind that comes from working directly with a travel expert. They can plan ahead for safety and assist you during the trip if any complications develop, plus give you more freedom and flexibility with your itinerary.

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Nobody can discover the world for somebody else. Only when we discover it for ourselves does it become common ground and a common bond and we cease to be alone."
Wendell Berry
x