159 Mongolia Tour & Trip Reviews

Mongolia Tour & Trip Reviews

159 Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Excellent 113 Great 43 Average 2 Disappointing 0 Terrible 1
99% Recommend
Value
4.7 Guide
4.7 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.7

Tour Reviews

L

Does Not Recommend

AWFUL SERVICE; RIP-OFF; AVOID THIS COMPANY! April 2020

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
In 2019, I booked a trip thru O.A.T. to Mongolia for 2 weeks starting on July 1st to, among other things, go to the Na'am festival. It is usual and customary to prepay these international trips because of the technicalities involved, such as booking air and hotels. I travel internationally usually two times per year, so I am aware of this practice and have never had a problem with it until dealing with O.A.T.

The first week of March, O.A.T. called me and cancelled the trip, not even departing until July, because of the coronavirus and said they would be returning people's money on April 5th. They did not! They had said they would return it to the form of payment it was made on. For me, $350 was on my credit card and the remainder through a personal checking account. Altogether, it was nearly $8,000.00 US.

Please note O.A.T. had all of my money for at least 6 months, so there wasn't any issue of a check not having cleared. Also please note it was O.A.T., and not me who cancelled, so it wasn't as if I wasn't entitled to a full refund because of late cancellation. I didn't cancel at all.

I have called and called and no one seems to be answering the phone. A message says go to the website because of then coronavirus, but obviously, my payment details will not be there. I have received no money back by mail or credit! I have received no phone calls. No apology letter clarifying their refund procedure. No acknowledgement of my money at all except the receipt I was send months and months ago. Nada. Nothing at all. I cannot reach anyone, despite having waited on hold for hours with their Musack.

While I can understand the coronavirus has slowed things down, I also understand they've held my money a very, very long time and lied about when it would be returned! I'm afraid I've been stiffed and that other seniors will be, too. With this coronavirus thing, many of us have lost 30% or more in our retirement accounts and would like to have our refunds in our pockets.

This is not a company to do business with, assuming they are not filing for bankruptcy and/or going out of business. In fairness, I do NOT know that they are doing either one, it is only my personal fear at this point. They've been around a while, but I cannot help but feel extremely uneasy with them. Certainly, their corporate communications department could use a brush up on basic customer relations skills. I'm very, very worried.
Read more

A

Recommends

The tourguide was fantastic! October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The tourguide was fantastic!

J

Recommends

Julia our guide was fantastic. I September 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Julia our guide was fantastic. I enjoyed all the smaller villages we went to. I really liked the balance of free time and organized activities, i felt i did more than i anticipated.

J

Recommends

There was such a variety of experiences September 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
There was such a variety of experiences on this trip including interacting with people on the train journey, meals with locals, a home stay, and the opportunity to learn so much about the different cultures we encountered. This truly was the trip of a lifetime!
Read more

A

Recommends

I would recommend Intrepid to many people September 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I would recommend Intrepid to many people but not everyone as I know it would not be their type of travel.

L

Recommends

Great leader and guides along the way September 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great leader and guides along the way, generally a good itinerary

L

Recommends

Well organized, good accommodation. Good value for September 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Well organized, good accommodation. Good value for money

A

Recommends

What I really enjoy about Intrepid is September 2015

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
What I really enjoy about Intrepid is the fact that they have a very heterogenic group from people coming from all over the world. The activities planned include so many local experiences that are enriched by this multicultural group that the overall result is very enlighting.
Read more

m

Recommends

i like the trip overall._x000D_
I would like September 2015

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
i like the trip overall._x000D_
I would like to have received recomendations (1 or 2 alternatives) regarding what to do in the fee time (that was a lot!)_x000D_
i think that recomnedations from you, that are the experts would have add a lot... luckly i had reserach a lot before my trip _x000D_
My suggestion is: plan for 1 day in Moscow, for 2 days ,for 3 days. The same for St petersburg... given not only free time during the tour but your suggestion on staying longer in each main city_x000D_
_x000D_
besides, there was too much time "invested" in novgorod and suzdal... the 2 cities can be "done" in less time... we stay 2 days in moscow and 1.5 in novgorod...
Read more

R

Recommends

The tour is a great insight into September 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The tour is a great insight into mother Russia. It's perfectly paced with enough free time to enjoy local life there. Our tour guides were brilliantly knowledgeable and Yulia our cheery tour leader made it even brighter.
Read more

C

Recommends

The agenda was completed as listed by September 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The agenda was completed as listed by original brochure in addition the guide Yulia Rusak was a great profesional that really gave the extra mile for us to get the best of this tour!

A

Recommends

Tour leader was outstanding. Even when things September 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Tour leader was outstanding. Even when things didn't go exactly right the positivity was always present.

C

Recommends

This is more of a reflection on September 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This is more of a reflection on my friends than Intrepid. I think that many of my friends would prefer a more luxurious tour. Not a reflection on Intrepid.

M

Recommends

I appreciate the small groups, which make September 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I appreciate the small groups, which make it easy to travel around, make new friends, learn about many countries, and hear several different perspectives. I also value how Intrepid only uses local guides and local trip leaders.
Read more

M

Recommends

Excellent guide_x000D_
enjoyable itinerary September 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Excellent guide_x000D_
enjoyable itinerary

Items 1 to 15 of 21 total

Top Mongolia Tours View All Mongolia Trips
×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page."
Saint Augustine
x