523 Botswana Tour & Trip Reviews

Botswana Tour & Trip Reviews

523 Reviews
4.8 out of 5
Excellent 430 Great 80 Average 10 Disappointing 1 Terrible 2
99% Recommend
Value
4.8 Guide
4.8 Activities
4.8 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.8 Meals
4.8

Editor’s Take

What to Look for in Botswana Tour Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

Many negative reviews for Botswana criticize the high costs of tours in Botswana. In order to balance tourism and conservation efforts, safaris in Botswana tend to be very expensive. Prices remain high so the country can maintain its protected spaces and support wildlife populations.

Even budget tours and safaris in Botswana may cost more than budget travel to other countries. If you are booking a tour to Botswana, keep in mind that safaris are generally more expensive than other types of travel due to the environmental impact of tourism in southern Africa. 

When reading Botswana tour reviews, be sure to note the type of tour that is being reviewed. Botswana safaris can range from budget to luxury; one reviewer raving about the accomodation on their luxury tour might not be helpful if you’re looking to book a camping safari. Also keep in mind that budget tours may require you to carry your own equipment or help with camp set-up and clean-up in exchange for a less expensive trip. 

When researching Botswana tours, also make sure that you understand the level of physical activity that is required for the tour. Some tours include activities such as hiking, horseback riding, and swimming. It may be frustrating for a traveler who does not enjoy or cannot perform these activities.

One common criticism of Botswana tours is that the daily drives between locations can be long and tiring. Keep in mind that if you book a tour traversing multiple countries, or even just visiting multiple locations within Botswana, there will be a significant amount of travel time. It may help to note the mode of transportation between destinations; a mokoro river cruise or private plane tour may be more exciting, albeit more expensive, than driving in a car. 

If you want a professional take on traveling in Botswana, see the Travelstride Botswana Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

T

Recommends

We had the best time ever! June 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had the best time ever! It was truly the best vacation we've ever taken. The people were fabulous, service oriented, friendly, accommodating...a pleasure to be around! Everything was just perfect!

The accommodations, fabulous, the food was way too delicious. We highly recommend this trip to anybody and kept toasting Costco along with three other couples for the way they put this trip together it was really brilliant thank you so much for your help with all our questions and how quickly you got back to us for each inquiry you are very efficient at your job. Thank you so much!

On another note, on the safari, Francois put together a surprise celebration luncheon at their treehouse to celebrate our daughter Kate's medical school graduation. It was truly amazing and we couldn't have been happier or more appreciative of all they did. It was so special and they put so much effort into it—leaving champagne, a beautiful lunch, and also baking a cake just for this occasion! It was such a nice, wonderful touch and made for a fabulous memory!
Read more

SD

Recommends

Trip of a Lifetime April 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We enjoyed ourselves immensely. Documentation was very good. good reading material regarding the different countries. Lodges were very accommadating. Received a welcome dance upon arrival at some. The vehicles were perfect for the job and for observing animal life. Drivers very skilled in driving. My wife Sharon was sick 2 days. Sopa lodges supplied medical assistance. Much appreciated - without this, it could have spoiled our trip. Trip of a Lifetime!
Read more

W

Recommends

It was absolutely fabulous. February 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It was absolutely fabulous. Marataba is an experience beyond words. The animals speak for themselves but the lodge is extraordinary. Capetown was lovely but Marataba is an impossible act to precede. We will be recommending you and your colleagues without reservation and with the greatest enthusiasm.
Read more

L

Recommends

Had the best time. December 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Travelling alone I was nervous about the trip but I had nothing to worry about and had the best time. Evans as guide and Ernest as our driver could not have been nicer. The food was delicious and I met some amazing people. I couldn't recommend highly enough!
Read more

M

Recommends

This trip was amazing November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This trip was amazing. It's an experience I will remember forever. Our tour guide, Jay was outstanding and he made every second of the trip better with his great personality. Jay and Cassandra were so knowledgeable about the destination we were in and I would do this trip again in a heartbeat. Also, I can't forget to mention the amazing friends we made along the way. Do this trip!!
Read more

C

Recommends

This trip was one of a life time! November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This trip was one of a life time! I was a solo traveller and being apart of this group that quickly turned to family helped me grow and of course showed me parts of Africa I wouldn't of seen. Everything from food to organization was spot on and I enjoyed camping overall highly recommend
Read more

C

Recommends

An amazing trip November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This trip was everything and nothing short of incredible. KB and Aaron were the best guides imaginable and set us up for an amazing trip of animal spotting, enjoy the nature of Africa and making great friends with our group. Have never experienced anything like it and can't wait for the next one!
Read more

S&MB

Recommends

Memories for a life time October 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We have returned from our trip to South Africa and Zimbabwe. Our accommodations and travel arrangements were excellent in each location, but our safari in Thornybush at Shumbalala Game Lodge was EXCEPTIONAL!

The accommodations were outstanding, the staff were exceptional, and our experience was off the charts.

We saw the Big 5, had great meals and met wonderful people. You provided us with memories for a life time.

By the way, Cape Town and Victoria Falls were excellent as well, but Shumbalala stole the show!

Thank you so very much.
Read more

B&ME

Recommends

We had an absolutely amazing time in South Africa. October 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had an absolutely amazing time in South Africa. Everything was perfect!!
Thompsons provided excellent service from the airport transfers to our full-day tours of the wine lands and the Cape Peninsula. Their staff were friendly, accommodating and very professional.

The Twelve Apostles truly offered a 5-star experience; we had a beautifully decorated room and the staff were outstanding. We ate all our diners at the hotel in the Leopard Lounge which, provided nightly entertainment. We also dined at the Azure restaurant. Everything was perfect.

Our tour to Robben Island was truly heartfelt and a definite must for anyone visiting Cape Town.

Shamwari truly offered us an experience of a lifetime. The tents were indeed ‘‘my kind of tents”! Our guide JB was extremely knowledgeable and a terrific ambassador of the Reserve. We had the opportunity to see The Big 5, zebras, giraffes, pumas, antelopes and countless other species – he even provided us the opportunity to eat a termite (yes both of us). The evening Sundowners and lunch in the bush were a nice treat - our visits to the Born Free Sanctuary and the Rehab Center were truly inspirational. All the staff were welcoming and ensured we had a fabulous time.

It was nice that we had the opportunity to meet and mingle with fellow Lion World Travel guests from California and New York during our stay in Cape Town and Shamwari.

Our Journey to Freedom Tour in Johannesburg provided us the opportunity to truly understand the history of South Africa. Our guide, Ben, was friendly, knowledgeable and willing to share his experiences.

We want to thank you and Lion World Travel for providing us the most wonderful experience to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We will definitely recommend Lion World Travel to our friends and colleagues. We may even look at another visit to Africa.
Read more

L

Recommends

The experience far exceeded any expectations we had October 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had a fantastic time. We felt so cared for by being greeted and guided each step of the way, once we reached Johannesburg (especially after doing all the logistics of NYC).

We loved travelling with Joe and Jason, who also booked through Lion World. We got along famously, and it added to our enjoyment.

The experience far exceeded any expectations we had. The experience of the guides, the comfort of the lodges and the vast number of animals that we got to sit and enjoy at length were all more than we expected.

We were glad we left Vic Falls for the end. The Victoria Falls River Lodge was beautiful and having the river to ride on was a great feature. I’m definitely glad we didn’t stay in town.

We surely appreciate all you did for us in preparation for this trip. It was a trip of a lifetime!

We have posted some pictures on Facebook as well.
Read more

S

Recommends

What a wonderful experience!!! October 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
What a wonderful experience!!!

Everything was absolutely great! I had read many reviews and heard good things about Lion World, but everything far exceeded my expectations.

All food and facilities were beyond our expectations!

Otherwise, I have shared our experience with our friends and co-workers and recommended Lion World highly!!!

Thanks for an amazing experience!

We will not hesitate to use Lion World again for our next trip to Africa!
Read more

S

Recommends

An authentic and genuine experience! September 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
There is no question, this trip was incredible! If you’re lucky enough to be paired with the “dream team” Rene and Cosmos you will not be disappointed! Amazing locations, food, activities and ample information about the animals and their surroundings with fires morning/ night. Thank you for an authentic and genuine experience!
Read more

G

Recommends

Fantastic Trip in Southern Africa August 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 5.0
We did this trip, Explore Southern Africa, from Aug 9 - 26 this year and we thought it was probably our most memorable trip ever. The variety of wildlife (we saw the big 5 plus giraffes, zebras, cheetahs, hippos, hyenas, wildebeests, impalas, baboons, ...) and our proximity to them that we experienced was unparalleled. The scenery was like nothing we had ever experienced before (our first time anywhere in Africa). Although it was winter time there when we went and many areas were looking very dry it was an experience not to be missed. Additionally we were made to feel welcome everywhere that we went. The highlights of the trip for us would be the two days to the Okavango Delta, the optional game drive through Chobe National Park and day 13 with our guide tracking rhinos in Matabos and going to the African village. Our tour leader, cook and drivers were excellent as were our co-travellers. The meals that were prepared for us tasted great, were well balanced and no one ever left hungry. The 2 person tent accommodations weren't the most luxurious but they allowed one to stay right in the "middle of the action" with the animals in close proximity to our overnight homes. This being the case, we never felt unsafe in our tents at any point. The overlander vehicle didn't have air conditioning, as is standard, however if you made sure to open windows for air circulation during the drive the heat wasn't so bad. If one is prepared to put up with these few inconveniences and willing to help out with camp set up, vehicle clean up, and meal clean up afterwards (this is a participatory type of trip where certain tasks are required of the travellers) it is an experience not to be missed. It all makes one more appreciative of the luxuries that we have at home that many do not have in South Africa, Botswana and Zimbabwe.
Read more

G

Recommends

Above all else FUN TIME with guide August 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Botswana Adventure, August 2019. Loved: the trip, adventure, guide Tshepo, driver Moses. So informative, great culture immersion, great game viewing, fun accommodations, house boat to rondovals to san community to comfortable hotels .Yummy and different foods and plenty of it. Enjoyed the variety of the entire trip, felt safe and comfortable at all times. Above all else FUN TIME with guide, driver, fellow travelers and all the local peoples we met.
Read more

A

Recommends

I had a wonderful time. August 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Absolutely recommend Lion World to anyone interested in touring South Africa. My husband and I had a wonderful time. From accommodations to the day trips planned, everything was perfect. Was truly spoiled on the trip. Laurandie, our rep, was very knowledgeable and helpful when it came to some concerns. Was a trip of a lifetime! I would travel with them again!
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 149 total

Top Botswana Tours View All Botswana Trips
Affordable Botswana tour Affordable Botswana

$ 5,575 9-days trip

Explore Southern Africa tour Explore Southern Africa

$ 3,281 18-days trip

Kruger to Vic Falls tour Kruger to Vic Falls

$ 1,936 8-days trip

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Once a year, go someplace you've never been before."
Dalai Lama
x