101 Mediterranean Sea Tour & Trip Reviews

Mediterranean Sea Tour & Trip Reviews

101 Reviews
2.9 out of 5
Excellent 38 Great 4 Average 7 Disappointing 13 Terrible 39
47% Recommend
Value
2.9 Guide
2.9 Activities
2.9 Lodging
2.9 Transportation
2.9 Meals
2.9

Tour Reviews

TW

Does Not Recommend

Devious Advertising January 2023

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
The enticing advert read - Holland America Line 'Have It All' (HIA) but, you can't actually HIA.
As with many cruisers, much of the motivation when selecting a cruise is Itinerary. When you study and select because of Itinerary, and you're further encouraged by 'Shore Excursion Credit' included in the HIA package but then, the ship either doesn't make it to one or more of your desired ports or your desired Port Excursions are fully sold out, it's maximum frustration but too late, they've got your money HaHa. This is especially so when you can't even turn your 'Paid For' credit into on board spending money. After much appealing at the Shore Excursion on board desk, we were informed that the shore excursion group were contractors and weren't actually HAL but hey, they advertised under the HAL banner ???
Be very careful when booking with HAL. Don't believe all the advertising jargon, get promises in writing and if they don't want to give you that, but you still go ahead and book, you could be in for some major disappointments.
I have written and forwarded to Holland America Line Customer Relations, a very full and lengthy review regarding my latest cruise experience but have received a heart breaking apology of how inundated they are with customer reports, it may take several weeks before they can respond to my submission. Based on the false advertising that has brought me to this stage, I somehow find it a bit hard to sit patiently and accept that.
Read more

M

Does Not Recommend

I contracted food poisoning on my… January 2023

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
I contracted food poisoning on my cruise. They also didnt let us know during the booking process that we will be in a interconnecting cabin. This really placed a cloud over the positives. I wont be rushing to return.
Read more

JS

Recommends

The best thing about the cruise was the amazing staff January 2023

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
The best thing about the cruise was the amazing staff. So many excellent workers, with such genuinely sweet temperaments. Really lovely. In comparison with other cruises I've taken, I would not sail Holland America again. Cruise ports were ill planned, with absurdly short layovers. Daily activities were the most limited I've ever experienced, and anything worth attending was greidiously over crowded. Rooms were small,,but again, the room attendants were exceptional. Room service was ridiculous. Ecxept for breakfast. Try another ship if it's your 1st, or even 5th cruise. Older crowd as well.
Read more

JLS

Does Not Recommend

Nur für Gäste mit perfekten Englischkentnissen January 2023

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Das größte Manko ist die völlig fehlende Unterstützung in Deutsch. Obwohl in den Reisebedingungen zugesagt, war keine vorhanden. Und das in einem Zeitraum von fast 5 Wochen. Die App und das dahinter liegende Programm sind auch nur in Englisch, es kann zwar auf Deutsch umgestellt werden, das betrifft aber nur ein paar Überschriften – nutzlos. Die Handzettel, die alle paar Tage verteilt werden, natürlich nur in Englisch, waren sehr schwer zu lesen. Das haben uns einige englischsprachige Gäste bestätigt. Die App ist ansonsten ein völlig miserables Konstrukt, viel zu unübersichtlich und funktioniert oft nicht. Ohne kommt man jedoch nicht aus, da nur dort wichtige Informationen hinterlegt sind. Besonders ärgerlich ist, Ausflüge können in der App gebucht werden, für eine Stornierung muss man jedoch zum Ausflugsbüro laufen. Dann hatten wir einmal zwei Ausflüge zum gleichen Zeitpunkt in unserer Liste, das geht normalerweise gar nicht. Wieder waren 2 Besuche zum Ausflugsbüro erforderlich, bis das bereinigt war. Das Ausflugsangebot und deren Bearbeitung ist ziemlich amateurhaft. 7 Wochen im Voraus war schon vieles ausgebucht. Überhäuft scheint man bei der Gesellschaft auf Ausflüge keinen großen Wert zu legen.
Die Informationsgestaltung ist das nächste Manko. Nicht nur, dass man um die Benutzung der miesen App nicht herumkommt, du auch bist gezwungen, dich um die Informationen selbst zu kümmern. Wenn sich zum Beispiel Abfahrtszeiten von Ausflügen verändern, dann wird man darüber nicht informiert, du musst dich selbst darum kümmern. Das machen andere Reedereien besser. Die Rezeption (Guest Service) ist ohnehin mit fast allen Fragen überfordert, die haben keine Ahnung, was auf dem Schiff so los ist. Die können nur Kunden abwimmeln oder Upgrades verteilen.
Die Getränke sind das nächste Ärgernis. Die kostenlosen Getränke an den Automaten im Restaurant sind teilweise ungenießbar, dazu sehr unterschiedlich, bzw. falsch beschriftet. Der Kaffee ist mal unglaublich stark, mal wässrig, die Säfte ebenso. Jedes Mal ein Glücksspiel. Das Übelste ist jedoch das Wasser aus der schiffseigenen Aufbereitung. Es riecht und schmeckt teilweise ekelhaft, möglicherweise ist zu viel Chlor darin. Die Getränkepreise in den Restaurant und Bars hingegen sind zwar ganz ordentlich, aber unverschämt teuer, z.B. Bier 19,6 Dollar/l (günstigstes), der günstige Wein liegt bei 11 Doller für ca. 140ml (schmeckt allerdings recht ordentlich). Die Auswahl an Getränken könnte besser sein. Die Happy Hour ist nicht wie üblich 2 Getränke zum Preis von einem, sondern das 2te Getränk kostet die Hälfte.
Es gäbe noch eine ganze Reihe von negativen Eindrücken. So ist das Schiff schon etwas älter. An vielen Stellen tropft Wasser von der Decke, oft stehen Eimer in Gängen, um dieses aufzufangen. Die Klimaanlagen werden merkwürdig betrieben. Man geht durch Bereiche, da musst du schneller gehen oder dir ne Jacke anziehen. Die Lüftung in der Kabine ist über dem Bett, nach 3 Wochen hatte ich vom Zug ne Bindehautentzündung. Wenn das Schiff ein bisschen schaukelt (ist nicht viel, es läuft in der Regel recht stabil und ruhig), dann kommt in Bad Waser aus dem Abfluss hoch und du stehst im Wasser. Die Einschiffung sowie auch die Vorbereitung zu Ausflügen sind häufig ein völliges Durcheinander. Veranstaltungen oft völlig überfüllt bzw. werde in zu kleinen Räumen abgehalten. Keine Übertragung der Fussball WM, das wäre auf europäischen Schiffen undenkbar
HAL ist eine angeblich eine Gesellschaft mit 150 jähriger Erfahrung, die müssten das können, aber wir hatten häufig den Eindruck von "Jugend forscht".
Fazit: Wer sehr gut englisch spricht, wem die Ausflüge nicht so wichtig sind und wer die Plörre aus den Getränkeautomaten (an das Wasser kannst du dich auch nach 5 Wochen nicht gewöhnen) mag oder alternativ die astronomischen Preise an der Bar bezahlt, der ist auf dem Schiff einigermaßen gut aufgehoben. An alle anderen - Finger weg.
Read more

AS

Does Not Recommend

Administratieve ramp December 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
De website van de Hall is een grote ramp als je daar je boekingsgegevens wilt invullen. Telkens is er weer een onderdeel dat geen groen vinkje krijgt. Dan weer wordt een bestaand e- mailadres niet geaccepteerd waarop ik nota bene wel mail van hen krijg. Dan weer kun je alleen een zgn noodnummer invullen in de VS ipv Nederland. En dan kom je niet verder in het systeem!
Een mail sturen is zinloos. Telkens krijg je een automatisch antwoord dat het 4 weken zal duren alvorens er een reactie zal komen, maar dat antwoord krijg je nooit. Ook niet na 3 maanden en herhaalde navraag. Vervolgens probeer je te bellen. Wat een ramp. Eindeloos in de wacht en heb je eindelijk iemand aan de lijn die navraag gaat doen naar je vraag ,wordt de verbinding verbroken. Wij hebben bij een reisorganisatie de cruise inclusief vlucht en hotelovernachting geboekt en dus geeft de HAL niet thuis ook als je vragen over uitsluitend de cruise zelf hebt. Een promotieactie met het zgn Have It All pakket kent kennelijk diverse varianten. Dan weer met 2 dan weer met 3 dinner credits. Nu eens twee excursies inbegrepen dan weer een tegoed van € 200. Dan een boordtegoed van € 150 en dan weer niet. Wifi wel Wifi niet inbegrepen. Fooien wel fooien niet inbegrepen.
We hebben een vermogen betaald voor deze reis inclusief de extreem dure excursies en ik weiger aan boord ook nog maar iets extra’s te betalen!
We maken deze reis samen met zoon en schoondochter die alleen de cruise geboekt hebben.Dezelfde problemen. Dit kan toch niet voor een zo gerenommeerd bedrijf!
Read more

H

Does Not Recommend

Croisière en Patagonie en décembre… December 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Croisière en Patagonie en décembre 2022 sur Oosterdam, navire de la compagnie Holland America.

L'expérience commence très mal: des heures d'attente pour l'embarquement, un bordel sans nom. 1800 personnes doivent embarquer en même temps.

Navire peuplée d'Américains, tout est en Anglais, personne ne fait un effort si minime soit 'il pour les Francais !!!

Pour le restaurant, le même bordel, des attentes interminables pour aller diner !! Idem pour les excursions , les sorties du navire, les retours au navire. Tout le monde, toujours en même temps . Une croisière ou l'on passe son temps a attendre .... PLus jamais de croisière avec Holland America Line
Read more

E

Does Not Recommend

Pick a different cruise line December 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
The ship was in dry dock prior to the outing. The ship was not ready at all. There were holes in the ceiling, the pools weren't ready, the automatic doors didn't work
the bars weren't ready. I waited 45 min for a drink. The food at breakfast lunch and dinner was subpar at best. Late night was left overs from that day or possibly the last couple of days. The crew was amazing but short staffed. Then when we went to customer service and said we aren't paying full price for a cruise that isn't complete they send us chocolate covered strawberries. My husband asked if it was a joke. I honestly loved parts of this shop the crow nest is a huge plus, but the company needs to held accountable for a half-assed cruise.
Read more

MP

Does Not Recommend

I would give them zero stars if I… December 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I would give them zero stars if I could! Hair (not ours) all over the bathtub when we first entered the cabin. Food fair to average and the staff ALWAYS got the order wrong! Customer service (guest relations) is horrible! Asked how to make the outlet in the bathroom work and was told (in a very condescending manner) to just use an outlet in the cabin (turns out the outlets in the bathroom have minimal electricity!) and even worse? The corporate office does not care about any of it! Buffets close early leaving NO options for breakfast (other than room service that they charge you for and you wait an hour) if you sleep past 10. They will nickel and dime you for everything and even charge a $15 and up fee, IN THE MAIN DINING ROOM fir certain food! Save your money! This is a luxury ship price with sub-par services and offerings! We will NEVER cruise either HAL again!! Oh, and don’t bother contacting the corporate office— they simply cannot be bothered with something called customer service!!
Read more

CL

Does Not Recommend

Wij zijn met de Rotterdam naar de… December 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
Wij zijn met de Rotterdam naar de Noorse fjorden geweest in september, op de laatste avond was de wijn en het bier op, wij hadden nog een boord tegoed staan van 100 dollar, is tot op heden niet verrekend, heb gemaild naar de hal line in oktober en nog niets gehoord, al met al een vervelende ervaring
Read more

NH

Does Not Recommend

Dure/slechte rederij December 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
3 keer op cruise geweest met de HAL. 2 keer op de Koningsdam en 1 keer op de NieuwStatendam. De 2de keer op de Konigngsdam was al minder maar de laatste keer op de NS was nog minder prettig. Op het vliegveld (Schiphol) bleek dat de HAL onze vliegtickets niet had 'bevestigd'. We hebben geluk gehad dat er een servicebalie van KLM aanwezig is die om 6:00 opent. (vlucht ging om 7:15) Samen met de KLM medewerker naar de noodlijn in de VS gebeld en toen was het gelukkig toch snel geregeld en kon de vakantie beginnen.
Helaas is de prijs van eigenlijk alles aan boord overdreven duur (bijvoorbeeld 20 dollar betalen voor 1 foto of 7 dollar voor 1 flesje Heineken bier...) terwijl de service minder is geworden. Tenzij je bereid bent om flink extra te betalen... Uiteindelijk vanaf Athene weer problemen met de vliegtickets. De medewerker in de VS had alleen de tickets vanaf Schiphol bevestigd en niet die vanaf Athene terug naar Amsterdam. Na zo'n 2 uur bij guest service gestaan te hebben waar we samen met de medewerker naar zowel HAL als KLM gebeld hadden waren de vliegtickets dan toch voor elkaar. Bij thuiskomst klacht ingediend hierover bij HAL maar nooit een reactie ontvangen. Erg jammer en ronduit onbeleefd! Volgende keer toch maar eens naar andere rederijen kijken.
Read more

G

Does Not Recommend

Wij zijn met de koningsdam van… December 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Wij zijn met de koningsdam van Vancouver naar Alaska geweest een zeer mooie reis ,alleen aan boord was het minimaal geen enkele show in het theater zoals voor de Corona er wel was, het eten was ook vele malen minder als we gewend zijn dit was onze 5e cruise onze 2e cruise met Holland America line.
Ontbijt geen gewone broodjes zoals vroeger kleine broodjes van 5 cm ook de crocantjes zijn zo klein zeer weinig vleeswaren aanwezig je moet 5 buffetten af voordat je 2 broodjes kan beleggen ronduit slecht.
Na 22:00 uur diverse bars al dicht op dek 14 is boven bij de bar niets meer te beleven al om 21:00 uur al.De mensen van de bediening die doen ontzettend der best daar ligt het niet aan.
Een Hollandse kapitein die niet eens de +/- 150 Hollanders aan boord verwelkomd in het hollands.
Dat doen ze zelfs op andere rederijen met buitenlandse kapiteins die het in het Nederlands doen.
Het mag geen Holland meer heten,niks Hollands meer aan.(met uitzondering van de Hollandse bar gaat ook om 21:30 dicht hoor) dus moet je vroeg naar bed gaan.Dit hebben we nog nooit meegemaakt.
Ze hebben waarschijnlijk geen geld meer voor artiesten in te huren voor de shows te maken.
Ze zetten een filmpje op welke dieren er leven in Alaska en daar staat dan iemand te praten die zo snel praat dat je hem verstaat.
Onze eind conclusie we gaan nooit meer met deze maatschappij mee ik wil niet eens de naam meer noemen,
Is niet Hollands waardig meer,en als je dit op de beoordelings formulier aangeeft reageren ze niet op telefoon nr en alles opgegeven je hoort niets meer van hun.
Ik zou zeggen ga lekker zo door dan ben je gauw failliet.

Gr.G van der Linden.
Read more

EV

Does Not Recommend

Sexual Harassment with Effy Sales Person November 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
We had a very bad experience with a sale person named Milan P on board a cruise ship. He sold us an engagement ring. While I was going through the payment process with the store manager (Vaishali Rathod), my fiancé proceeded to the room to get ready for dinner. Milan followed her to the elevator and made a pass at her.

She mentioned what happened to me the next day and was bothered by his actions. We did file a complaint with Holland America and Effy Jewelry. Hopefully this gets settled in a proper way soon.
Read more

WH

Does Not Recommend

Niet alles koek en ei! November 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Op dit moment, 26 november 2022, heb ik er bijna 7 dagen opzitten op de Oosterdam, voor de cruise van 31 dagen van Miami naar Buenos Aires. Nog 24 dagen te gaan dus. In 2014 heb ik ook een cruise gedaan in "het Verre Oosten" en heb dus wat vergelijkingsmateriaal.
Ik wil geen enkele afbreuk doen aan alle medewerkers die aan boord zijn op het schip, want heb de indruk dat die hun uiterste best doen hun gasten naar de zin te maken. Ik heb zelfs begrepen dat de Nederlandse kapitein zich persoonlijk bemoeit met het oplossen van klachten.
Behoudens de, mijns inziens, nivellering van de kwaliteit van aangeboden service, dranken en voeding, zijn er serieuze andere onvolkomenheden te melden, volgens mij door pure en verkeerde zuinigheid.
Mensen die bijvoorbeeld gebruik maken van het aangeboden internet ter waarde van bijna 30USD per toestel per dag komen zeer bedrogen uit, want er is nagenoeg geen bandbreedte en je mag blij zijn af en toe redelijk, zonder beeld, via Whatsapp te kunnen communiceren. Ik luister regelmatig naar de NPO 1 radio om voetbal te volgen (daarover later meer) en dat gaat redelijk.
Wat echter voor sommigen nog vervelender is, als ik het tevoren zou hebben geweten zou ik nooit hebben geboekt, is dat HAL kennelijk niet de rechten heeft gekocht voor de WK voetbal in Qatar en er is geen enkele wedstrijd te zien op geen enkele tv op het schip.
Ik, maar met mij velen, hebben al geklaagd bij de Customer Service desk, maar zonder resultaat tot zover.
Ik heb de HAL beschuldigd van een greedy "Old School" bedrijf te zijn en mijn mening is dat men louter uit is op zoveel mogelijk winst maken in zo'n kort mogelijke tijd, terwijl men door toenemende concurrentie beter bezig zou moeten zijn de gast tevreden te stellen om zodoende steeds meer klanten trachten te vinden om zo de toekomst van het bedrijf veilig te stellen.
In deze situatie echter, weet ik persoonlijk nu al dat ik nooit meer met HAL op cruise ga en dat ik dit iedereen zal vertellen die dit willen horen van me.
Read more

MS

Recommends

Fantastische ervaring November 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Fantastische ervaring. Was voor mij de eerste cruise en echt heel erg goed. De kamer, het even, echt erg goed allemaal

C

Does Not Recommend

People along tour were great, airline and guest relations support worst I have ever experienced October 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
We have a few lovely cruises with Holland America, but getting ahold of someone pre or post cruise has always meant at least 20 minutes on hold.

We had a cruise scheduled during Covid and decided to use it as credit towards a future cruise. We got far less for that cruise than we were expecting.

Our two week "adventure" had us spending the first week on riverboat, in Denali national park and a glass covered train from Denali to Anchorage. They were beautiful.

Holland had scheduled a flight from Anchorage to Seattle to board the Eurodam, only the flight had been cancelled without notifying US. We had confirmation numbers for a non existent flight!

There was no way to get from Anchorage to Seattle in time to pick up the Eurodam and no way to get through the phone tree at Holland to figure out what to do, so we ended up booking our own flight to get to Juneau to pick up the next leg of the cruise. Finally got ahold of somebody who knew something, who was able to book a hotel in order to wait for the boat.

Except in the 2 days waiting for the boat, we picked up Covid. Holland America's policy is well stated that if you pick up the disease on their tours, you don't pay for the rest of the trip and they get you back home, quarantining as required. Well, they got us back home, but we're still waiting for the cruise money back.

And getting ahold of anyone in Guestrelations has been impossible. I have sent 3 e-mails and spent 2 hours on hold waiting to talk to a person to no avail. Eventually, after 2 hours 30 minutes on hold, the connection just dropped.

For the record, it's not as if we went out and did something stupid to get Covid - we know of two other Holland America customers who basically ALSO got stuck in Anchorage, also got Covid and are also trying to resolve things with Holland through the horrible horrible phone tree.

Certainly until they pay us back for the trip from Anchorage to Juneau and then pay us for the Eurodam cruise that we missed out on because they screwed up the flight bookings, we're not going to cruise with them again, and we're going to continue to tell people what they are like to work with on the phone.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 75 total

Top Mediterranean Sea Tours View All Mediterranean Sea Trips
European Highlights tour European Highlights

$ 2,899 9-days trip

Essential Europe tour Essential Europe

$ 3,359 9-days trip

Israel & Wonders of Jordan tour Israel & Wonders of Jordan

$ 4,159 14-days trip

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step."
Lao Tzu
x