624 Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

624 Reviews
3.9 | Great
Excellent 427 Great 18 Average 18 Disappointing 20 Terrible 141
74% Recommend
Value:
3.9 Guide:
3.9 Activities:
3.9 Lodging:
3.9 Transportation:
3.9 Meals:
3.9

Tour Reviews

SA

Recommends

My trip was excellent June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My trip was excellent I would recommend Gate 1 to all my friends- all our guides were wonderful, Stella who met us at the Athens airport, Kassandra who was our Guide in Athens, was excellent- she was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Constantine who came aboard the ship with us was organized, checked in with us daily, gave us great advice, he was also excellent.
Read more

WZ

Recommends

The trip was great June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The trip was great. Very well managed. I loved our two managers Yannis and Panos. Super knowledgeable and considerate. They had every detail of the trip planned out so we had a stress free trip and made some friends too. I have recommended Gate 1 to many friends and we will definitely trace with Gate 1 again.
Read more

PG

Recommends

We had a wonderful time June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had a wonderful time. Our trip through Greece was sensational and we were very happy with the choice of hotels and restaurants– the food and wine were so delicious. The Gate 1 Guide, Millitsa, was excellent and she kept us informed and helped us have the most informative and entertaining time. There were only 14 of us on the trip and we all got along very well (only us from Australia and the others from US). This was our third Gate 1 trip this year and we very much appreciate the standard of service which Gate 1 provides.
Read more

D&DM

Recommends

Greece was fantastic June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our "family vacation" to Greece was fantastic and I want to thank Gate 1 Travel for the excellent service. Although we opted for an independent package we had the support of Gate 1 during all of the transfers and other optional sightseeing packages. We were greeted at each location by the Gate 1 representative and they made sure we made it to our hotels and got on the proper ferry to both Mykonos and Athens. We will definitely consider Gate 1 for our future travel plans!
Read more

YL

Recommends

It was amazing and another one of my most memorable international trip June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It was amazing and another one of my most memorable international trips. Gate 1 made it even easier and stress free for us as an independent tourist. I felt like we were never alone on this adventure. Gate 1 was so organized and kept us informed about our next process to our next destinations. Would definitely travel with Gate 1 again!!!
Read more

GK

Recommends

This was my first trip with Gate 1 and it certainly will not be my last. June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was my first trip with Gate 1 and it certainly will not be my last. I'm already looking to book my next trip. The trip to Greece exceeded our expectations. I traveled with a good friend and we were both impressed by everything. It began with a gentleman picking us up from the airport in a timely manner, shaking our hands and welcoming us to Greece. The whole trip from hotels, sites, coach bus, food and tour guide, Vivian was excellent. Vivian was knowledgeable, kept us on schedule and all with a sense of humor.
Read more

ANAM

Does Not Recommend

Booked a flexible ticket through this… June 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Booked a flexible ticket through this company, flights originally booked for are apparently'not available', rather than offer me alternative flights on my 'flexible' ticket, they outright cancelled, told me they would be doing so, with no ability to question their decision making process.
AVOID!!
Read more

ZK

Recommends

5 wonderful trips June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have enjoyed all my trips from being overseas to American State Parks and States in general. The guides are knowledgable and vibrant with energy. The drivers for tour buses are professional for sure. I have always included air on all my trips and have never had a problem. I wrote this review because I remember looking at the reviews before I went with Gate1, and they were awful, but one lady gave a nice review out of 20. Most complaints were about air travel which Gate1 has no control over except the booking which I have not had a problem one. My trip to Turkey was canceled by Gate1 for safety reasons 6 years ago; I had paid in full for trip and air, they gave me back all my money with no problem. That one lady's review has brought me a lot of satisfaction when it comes to traveling. I hope mine does the same for hundreds of others. I am a satisfied Gate1 traveler, Happy Trails!
Read more

LL

Recommends

We have done 13 Tours with Gate One… May 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We have done 13 Tours with Gate One since 2012!
Each and everyone was amazing!
Kenya Safari, Israel, Peru, Equator, Morocco, European City Tour, Austria/Innsbruck, Iceland, Scotland, India, China, Thailand, Japan.
Booked and rebooked 3 more this year! (2021)
We always received what was promised, best Tour Guides, 4-5 Star hotels, great transportations, very affordable prices!
Highly recommended!
Read more

G

Does Not Recommend

Jinxed from the start May 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Jinxed from the start. The Gate1 website wouldn't let me save the itinerary I had selected, so I called. The wait time was over one hour for a rep. That person, who genuinely seemed like she wanted to help, experienced a computer system crash while she was trying to make the reservation. Then their system wouldn't at first accept my MasterCard (it took 24 hours). Even the phone system doesn't work correctly: after I was placed on hold, the agent was trying to reconnect with me (Hello? Hello?), but all I could hear was recorded music--until I was (twice) disconnected. Now I am asked to "confirm" my date of birth because it's recorded incorrectly in their records (only off by 51 years!). It'll be a miracle if this works out.
Read more

K

Recommends

I am shocked at all the negative… May 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I am shocked at all the negative reviews I am reading so I had to come on and talk about my experience. I've gone with Gate 1 to Peru, Costa Rica and Ecuador and I currently have book with them Guatemala in 2022 and Thailand in 2023. They are an amazing tour group and I have had nothing but great experiences with them. I went to Egypt in 2019 with an independent tour operator and while it was a decent trip, I actually missed the Gate 1 experience and decided right then I would only travel internationally with them from now on. Yes there have been minor glitches now and again but the hotels, the guides, the places Gate 1 has taken me and my son to were outstanding. Thank you Gate 1!
Read more

C

Does Not Recommend

Booked a tour to England fall of 2019 May 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Booked a tour to England fall of 2019. No one met us at the plane on arrival. They used a substitute tour guide who knew nothing and used short films in the bus as information. He didn't count us and left people behind. Quality of hotels awful. Took us to the airport which was a 20 minute ride at 1am when our flight was 10am. When we complained we got $100. off our next tour. Who would tour with them again? Horrible.
Read more

REJ

Does Not Recommend

Took the Danube River Cruise with… April 2021

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
Took the Danube River Cruise with Gate1Travel. Our itinerary kept us going from morning til night, and even though the sites and sounds were exceptional, the guides hired by Gate1Travel were pathetic.
I consider my self a fairly well traveled individual with having visited over 70 countries. However, Gate1Travel guides were very ill prepared, took our group around in circles, and expected tips for their incompetence. Someone may respond by saying that there is always a possibility of having an inept tour guide. My response, “NOT TRUE”! The majority of Gate 1’s guides were BAD!
On several occasions we missed out on seeing important UNESCO sites which were within minutes of our tour group. Rather, we were informed by our guide to sit and rest for about an hour before we would resume our tour. The site, previously referenced to, was never brought to our attention. We could have very easily walked to the site on our own and taken the hour to visit the historical site. Instead, we were told to stay put and don’t go anywhere.
Even though you receive a big bang for your buck, I have deep reservations as to whether I would take another Gate1Travel trip.
Read more

D

Does Not Recommend

Gate 1 Decline April 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I have used Gate 1 many times in the past, but over the last year they have lost complete focus on customer service. Most companies go out of their way to retain repeat customers recognizing that they are the foundation of your businesses success. Loyalty is a two way street! When you make a mistake you own it and make it right. That is what world class businesses do! Despite me providing a screen shot of what I was trying to book, they have refused to honor the rate and informed that the price has increased.

"We appreciate your past business and loyalty to Gate 1 Travel. We’re sorry to hear of any difficulty you encountered when booking a trip online. I will forward the issue to my technology team for investigation and remedy.

Today we are experiencing incredibly high call volume due to interest in promotions that expire this evening and tomorrow. For customer convenience, we now have a callback feature which allows customers to opt to keep their place in queue and have an agent call them back, just as if they had waited on the line. I have given your contact information to an agent who will call you.

Thank you for your patience and understanding,"

Mark Kastner
VP Reservations

GATE 1 TRAVEL
215 572 7676 ext 1521

To be clear based upon the Gate 1 response, they did contact me, and they were willing to book the same tour and date. IF I WOULD PAY ALMOST $500 MORE FOR THE TRIP. Not exactly an equitable response.
Read more

RS

Does Not Recommend

Still waiting for refund April 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Our trip was cancelled last year and we had already booked our airline with Gate 1. We've been waiting 6 months for our refund. I've dealt with Gate 1 in the past and had been happy with the experience. I'm very disappointed that it has taken 6 months to receive a refund for this trip and I'm sure I will think very hard before booking with them in the future.

Edit-

The trip was for Jerusalem and was booked in November 27, 2019. The reservation ends in ###7972. I will reply in the contact us but have reached out probably a dozen times already.
Read more

Items 241 to 255 of 600 total

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Oh the places you'll go."
Dr. Seuss
x