175,475 Tour & Trip Reviews

Trips & Tour Packages from 1,000+ Travel Companies - Reviewed

Considering what guided tour to take next? Travelstride has 100,000+ real traveler reviews for tour companies, local experts, safaris, river and small ship cruises. Discover the perfect trip for your travel style and budget.

175,475 Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Excellent 136,209 Great 29,231 Average 4,453 Disappointing 1,669 Terrible 3,913
96% Recommend
Value
4.7 Guide
4.7 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.7

Tour Reviews

YQT

Recommends

I have seen some negative reviews about… January 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I have seen some negative reviews about Gate 1, and I noticed they were mostly related to flights. I never purchased flights from Gate 1 and have had excellent experience with company.

M

Does Not Recommend

Weird experience, never coming back to them January 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
So, I booked a flight this morning (Western European time). I was provided a trip ID number and informed I will receive my ticket on 26th january, 2022 (My flight is 24th February 2022).

Then at 07:00 PM I received an email saying that the return flight has to be another day, and I must respond by 11pm to day to move forward with the reservation. I agreed and sent the email at 07:25pm to them. Then I received an email with a form which I filled at 07:40pm.

Now, I received an email saying that the flights are not available any more, hence, they will return my money.

In hindsight alarm bells should have started to ring when I did not receive my tickets within 30mins. This was a weird experience and I hopefully can get my refund back so that I can re-book my flight at the earliest.

This is the biggest scam running in online aviation space.
Read more

KB

Recommends

Can't choose which highlight was best! January 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I cannot choose which highlight of this Egypt tour impressed me the most--from seeing the Great Pyramid, to the shore in Alexandria, to the other end of the country in Abu Simbel--the itinerary was fantastic! But more than that, Intrepid offers responsible tourism, so having dinner in a local Nubian home after touring their village was really something I'll never forget. From learning how papyrus and perfumes were made, I really learned a lot about local customs and crafts.
Our guide, Ramy, had a great sense of humor and made our trip so enjoyable. He used his experience to tailor our trip, adjusting as we went so travel was smooth and comfortable. We tried local restaurants with great views and savory dishes. (Hey, you got to try the camel--fantastic!!)
Cruising down the Nile was something to behold--as the dunes came very close to the reedy shores. I loved the escape and romanticism (though our ship was a little aged and maybe a step down from what Westerners would expect.)
As this was my first tour, I can highly recommend it and offer as evidence that I will be taking another trip with them soon!!!
Read more

JG

Recommends

We have traveled extensively with Gate1… January 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We have traveled extensively with Gate1 and will continue to do so in the future. We were scheduled to go to Chile and Argentina in February 2022, but the trip was cancelled. We were given the option of a full refund, including our deposit, trip insurance costs, and the cost of the land portion (we booked our own airline tickets);or to receive a credit that would be good until December 2023. We decided on the refund. We have never had a bad experience on Gate 1 and found them responsive to our requests. Gate 1 is a company that you can trust and believe in.
Read more

W

Does Not Recommend

ACIS- lack of integrity and class- Parents beware January 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
What a disappointment this company is. After placing a deposit in early 2020, of course the trips to Australia were cancelled the next two years because of covid. Many companies that were in a similar situation offered full refunds and offered options to customers; not so with ACIS. Two years later with my daughter now in college and no visibility into the craziness in Australia the trip wont happen for her. Whether ACIS got PPP money or not, the right thing to do is to refund money for a service / experience you can't provide. I see many others are frustrated with similar experiences. A class action suit against the company may be the only way to go to get their attention. Do the right thing; it will pay off for you in the long term versus trying to give people the shaft today. What goes around comes around....
Read more

M

Recommends

Great Value January 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great Rooms, Good Price!

JB

Recommends

I love Gate One and think it has the best price to value out there January 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I love Gate One and think it has the best price to value out there. My husband and I have been traveling with Gate One since 2015 with eight trips taken(all fabulous) and four in the works. We did have two cancelled because of COVID but were reimbursed fully. Just recently a back to back trip was canceled because there were not enough people signed up. A wonderful woman in Customerservice worked very hard to get us booked on the same two trips just two two weeks later. We were offered a full refund but we chose to be flexible and move our dates knowing that COVID may still rear it’s ugly head. We are not worried because we know the money can just be moved over to future trips.
Every tour has had outstanding guides, great hotel selections, and excellent itineraries. Our luggage is taken care of and we received help with COVID testing while in Sicily and Malta. We have loved the Discovery Small Group tours but the two Classic tours were also great. We have met so many great travelers that we still keep up with.
All insurance has limits which are spelled out upon purchase. I don’t always get mine through Gate One because we are older and want more medical coverage but these policies also have restrictions and limits to what you can recover. Just read the policy.
So no complaints from us. We met a couple in Sicily that had been on 17 Gate One trips and still booking. Now that is a testimony.
Jacque Bell
Greenville, SC
Read more

EC

Recommends

Had a great time January 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
Had a great time but a lot of confusion with transportation to & from prepaid sites. Could have run smoother but with COVID & staff problems it's understandable. We would use them again.

P

Recommends

My husband and I can’t enough January 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My husband and I can’t enough of Great Value Vacations! Rest assured with their insurance that is included so you are able to reschedule if your travel plans change or are canceled. Our return flight was canceled while we were on our trip and they took care of everything, rebooking our flight immediately. They definitely live up to their name!
Read more

RM

Recommends

We had the best experience on our… January 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had the best experience on our Ireland visit! We purchased the Adare Villas vacation package w/ Air and Car. No issues at all. Everything was as described.

DKB

Recommends

A magical vacation January 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Taryn is absolutely amazing. She always made herself available to answer any questions we had, or make changes to our itinerary due to Covid restrictions. It was quite an unprecedented time to travel replete with changes and much flexibility, but Goway Travel made the experience manageable and pleasant. My friends and I had a magical vacation in Thailand thanks to Taryn's support.
Read more

JH

Recommends

Berlin was great!! January 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I went on the Berlin, Germany training tour. I left the states at 7am on a Thursday and arrived in Berlin on Friday morning at 7am (there is a 9 hour time difference). They picked us (our little group of 3 that left from Sacramento) up at the airport and we started our day of touring the city-- no rest! It was tiresome, but we spent the whole day walking around,seeing some museums, eating out, enjoying a very rich hot chocolate at a Chocolate House. By the afternoon, we met up with all of the various travel groups and did some more tours, ending the evening at a great German restaurant, then taking a bus back to our hotel. We all slept about 10 hours.

Up on Saturday morning to take our fast and easy Covid test for the return flight (NO covid in our group!), had a 2 hour training at the hotel, then onto the bus and back to downtown Berlin, where we started a walking tour with a local guide, Daniela. She lived through the Cold War and was able to tell us so much interesting stuff about life in East/West Berlin/Germany during the cold war. It was sad and amazing, reverent and depressing, but I loved what I learned and feel like I can appreciate the history of Germany so much more.
Around 4pm we were let go to roam and enjoy the evening on our own. I enjoyed the down time. Slept so well on Saturday night.

Sunday morning, 8am start. Another 2 hours of training at the hotel. These training sessions were so eye-opening for me. I didn't realize how much I didn't know about traveling with a large group of students. I took pages of helpful notes and had all of my questions answered. After the training, we took the bus (luxury bus, btw) to Potsdam and toured that small city. We got to tour the castle where the big 3 (USA, Russia and England) met after WWII to discuss the future of Germany. Bus back to Berlin, where we had some time at Potsdamer Platz to see the modern part of the city, have a farewell dinner together with the whole group, and then took the subway home (to get that experience of public transportation). Up Monday morning for our flight home.

It was a whirlwind trip, and the 2 full days of travel to spend 3 days in Berlin was tiring, but totally worth it. I would do it again. I feel so much more prepared for my Spain trip next summer. Thanks to EF!!
Read more

AG

Recommends

Thank you Audley Travel, Thank you Ludo January 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Wow, what a holiday! Thanks to Ludo and his amazing expertise and understanding, along with his fabulous colleagues at Audley Travel, we had a fantastic holiday in the Maldives. From our description of what we were looking for - luxurious relaxation and active diving & snorkelling - Ludo knew exactly what we were looking for and recommended the perfect destination for us. All 5 of us - two adults and three teens - had a fantastic time as a family and individuals. Ludo also made a huge effort to help us navigate the changing bureaucracy and calmly advised us effectively and always replied to our anxious mails promptly and with infinite patience and responded with kindness, understanding and generosity. He recommended the perfect hotel, gave superb advice, and went the extra mile to support us under incredibly challenging circumstances. We cannot thank him enough, nor recommend him and Audley Travel as a result. Bravo! ...Now for our next break...
Read more

T

Recommends

Dubai & Maldives January 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I purchased a trip (Dubai & Maldives) in 2019 scheduled for 2020. Thanks to covid, I had to reschedule (refunds aren't offered). In early 2021 when I rescheduled, the original trip was no longer offered so I paid a bit more to obtain the same locations with longer days.
Overall the trips were very nice, especially the many excursions they provided in Dubai. However, with the Maldives leg, GVV advertised water bungalows but don't provide/book them (I was placed in a standard bungalow). When I contacted them about it they said they were trying to fix it and would refund me a portion of the cost. That was 3 months and 2 inquiries ago...no refund.
I did enjoy my experience so if anyone chooses to book a luxery trip with GVV, my advice is to check your reservations immediately and make sure they provide you with what they advertised. And then, enjoy!
Read more

LFW

Recommends

Service January 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
I booked my trip through GVV. Problems with trying to change flights. Each CSR said that it was necessary for their operations department to get back to me. Unfortunately, that never happened and I handled the flight changes on my own and had to pay a $50.00/pp fee, since I booked through a third party. Unacceptable for a large travel provider.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 47387 total

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"All journeys have secret destinations of which the traveler is unaware."
Martin Buber
x