616 Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

616 Reviews
3.9 | Great
Excellent 423 Great 18 Average 17 Disappointing 19 Terrible 139
74% Recommend
Value:
3.9 Guide:
3.9 Activities:
3.9 Lodging:
3.9 Transportation:
3.9 Meals:
3.9

Tour Reviews

J

Recommends

Wonderful experience. May 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just returned from a 12 day tour of Italy. It was a wonderful experience. Martin, our tour captain was exceptional, as were all of our tour guides. I will be recommending the company to anyone interest in an organized travel experience.
Read more

E

Recommends

Very well organized April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Very well organized and our tour guide Santiago was outstanding! Kept the tour on point and very pleasant to be with. We had no issues at any stop and I will use them again. Highly recommend this way to travel abroad.
Read more

T

Recommends

Best trip I ever took April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Best trip I ever took ..
11 days in Italy. I am still friends with my tour guide to this day .

L

Recommends

Best trip I ever took .. April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Best trip I ever took ..
11 days in Italy. I am still friends with my tour guide to this day .

T

Recommends

Experienced Vietnam in the most wonderful way April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My daughter and I recently experienced Vietnam in the most wonderful way. We were part of a small group put together by Gate One Travel and were guided by a great young man by the name of Tho, or Tommy. He worked tirelessly to make sure our limited 12 day time frame was maximized. We worked from south to north (Saigon to Hanoi ) and saw many beautiful places, met a lot of great people, and ate the most delicious food!
This was our first time to Asia and were completely blown away by that part of the World, unlike anything we've ever seen in our lives.
Our guide Tommy is the Ho Chi Minh Tour guide!
Read more

T

Recommends

Beautiful places April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My daughter and I recently experienced Vietnam in the most wonderful way. We were part of a small group put together by Gate One Travel and were guided by a great young man by the name of Tho, or Tommy. He worked tirelessly to make sure our limited 12 day time frame was maximized. We worked from south to north (Saigon to Hanoi ) and saw many beautiful places, met a lot of great people, and ate the most delicious food!
This was our first time to Asia and were completely blown away by that part of the World, unlike anything we've ever seen in our lives.
Our guide Tommy is the Ho Chi Minh Tour guide!
Read more

CP

Recommends

Absolutely fantastic! April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Absolutely fantastic! I was pleased with everything Gate One arranged. It went like clockwork. Our guide Edo was delightful! Another local guide in Paris named Nicola was excellent. We were so impressed and exhausted. Perfect! Thank you for preparing an excellent program. Our group seemed to be seasoned travelers having gone to numerous Gate One experiences. I understand why. Wonderful value too.
Read more

K

Recommends

It was our best cruise yet! April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just got back from our Danube River cruise and it was our best cruise yet! I have been on many ocean cruises and now two riverr cruises, both with Gate 1. We absolutely loved it. Met some fantastic people, saw some gorgeous cities, towns and villages, ate great food served by wonderful staff.
Read more

S

Recommends

Iceland Air and Hotel April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I purchased a Living Social coupon to Iceland that only consisted of flight and hotel. I called Gate1 Travel to redeem my coupon and had no issues. I was a bit worried at first that Gate1 Travel couldn't provide me with a hotel confirmation number. And when I called the hotel directly, they wouldn't locate my reservation without a confirmation number. A few reviewers from TripAdvisor assured me that is just how Gate1 Travel operates and I shouldn't have any issues checking into my hotel. I checked into the hotel with no issues and got a room 2 hours prior to the actual check-in time of 2pm. Prior to traveling to Iceland, I had contacted Gate1 Travel to change my double bed to two twin size beds. Gate1 Travel did what they were asked and I was given to two twin size beds at the hotel.
Read more

VW

Recommends

My trip was amazing March 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My trip was amazing every minute. Our tour guide was the best, he was incredible. Michael was on top of every inch of our trip and more. I'm still coming down from this trip, life changing.

GK

Recommends

The trip was great. March 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The trip was great. We enjoyed all aspects of the trip.The gate 1 guides, Hilary in England and Scotland as well as Martina in Ireland were excellent. We highly recommend Gate 1 to all our friends and certainly plan to travel with your company again. Keep up the good work.
Read more

S

Recommends

What a find! March 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My wife and I just got back from the 12 day Classic Vietnam tour with Gate 1 travel. It was our first "escorted" tour experience with any company and I was really curious how that was going to work out. We were both totally happy with our experience. In our group there were approximately 15 couples and three individual travelers, my wife and I were the only ones who this was our first trip with Gate 1. This was the third for the next lowest and some had been upwards of ten tours and one couple already has three additional tours booked with them. That told us a lot. We really enjoyed getting to know our fellow travelers who were a very interesting and eclectic group with lots of travel experiences.

I am a very serious photographer and went primarily for photo opportunities, particularly of the people living their lives. Gate 1 tours are not especially designed for "photographers" but this one, at least, and I presume all of them, are just natural opportunities for lots of great photos.

Some of the HIGHLIGHTS:
Our tour guide, whose name is Tu, was amazing! There were very few if any questions that stumped him and believe me there were a lot of very interesting and detailed questions on every subject imaginable for a tour. His personal story was about as interesting as it gets as he was raised in a tiny village of rice farmers Northwest of Hanoi, and is the first person in his entire family ever to leave the farm and get an education.

Everywhere we went he passed around local treats for us to sample and gave us ideas of what we might want to do "just for the experience". He did not try to push any particular viewpoints, but explained very well all kinds of information about their political and religious practices, policies and beliefs. He kept us informed of any possible risks in specific areas and bent over backwards to take care of every need. When we flew from Ho Chi Minh City to Danang I left my wife's cane on the airplane, but didn't discover it until later that evening when were at the hotel in Hoi An. (She only uses it occasionally as needed). We told Tu about it hoping he would have some suggestions of where we might be able to buy a replacement. The next morning at breakfast he brought us the cane. How he got it I'll never know because he wouldn't tell us, but we were amazed!!!

We signed up for all the optional tours. I had to sign up for the Cu Chi Tunnels tour as I was stationed in Cu Chi with the U.S. Army 25th Inf. Div. in 1967 and 1968. I was there for the Tet offensive of 1968 and just barely missed Tet (Vietnamese new year) of 2018, 50 years difference. It was quite the experience to actually enter one of the tunnels that we heard so much about when I was there 50 years ago.

My other favorite optional tours were the ones which took us on the rivers where we saw authentic Vietnamese fishermen and the way many families live both on and around the water.

Speaking of water, Halong Bay is an experience that will never be forgotten. It is easy to see why it is a UNESCO world heritage site.

Our hotels were first class all the way. They were clean, modern and provided excellent breakfast buffets, catering to all of the various appetites from around the world.

Some of the LOWLIGHTS:
There really weren't any that I could put on Gate 1's fault. For me, again as a photographer, I would have loved to spend more time at Halong and would have gladly traded some of the time in Hue and/or Hanoi for that and the mattress we had in the Hotel in Hue was almost like sleeping on a Vietnamese farmer's bed (Vietnamese farmers apparently sleep on the floor or at best a solid flat piece of wood with no padding whatsoever). No one else was unhappy with their mattress there, so I don't know if we just got a particularly hard one, or others preferred a super firm one. The Hotel did try to help with an additional mattress cover, but it wasn't that effective.

THE BOTTOM LINE:
Will we book another tour with Gate 1? Absolutely! We are already looking at future destinations. We have also told several friends and family members of our wonderful experience with Gate 1 and recommended they join us. We will soon be among those that can tell of having been with more than one Gate 1 tour, like the rest of our group.

Read more

KD

Recommends

I had a fabulous time March 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I had a fabulous time. Cristina our tour guide was just perfect. Informed, pleasant, funny. I don’t think I could have had a better trip. Loved England/ Scotland and would go back again. I look forward to my next Gate 1 trip.
Read more

MS

Recommends

My vacation was great! March 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My vacation was great! Everything was well planned and I feel like I was able to see as much as I possibly could. The tour guide was very pleasant, informative and accommodating Thank you

8dt

Recommends

Excellent value March 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My husband and I did the Chicago Special Israel Tour. We had an excellent time. Our tour guide Noa was amazing! Heidi, the gate 1 representative who helped me book the trip was excellent too. We home to travel again with Gate 1 travel in the near future.
Read more

Items 556 to 570 of 592 total

Travel wisely

COVID-19 is still affecting travel around the world but more countries continue to reopen and adjust travel restrictions and requirements. We recommend reviewing the full list of Covid-19 travel resources - all updated regularly given the fast-changing environment.

And check out everything you need to know about how vaccines are affecting travel, including which countries are open to fully vaccinated travelers.

Ready to travel? 

Take a look at our interactive travel restrictions map or see the countries reopening for tourism list to find your next destination.

Consider booking a Custom or Private Trip for the peace of mind that comes from working directly with a travel expert. They can plan ahead for safety and assist you during the trip if any complications develop, plus give you more freedom and flexibility with your itinerary.

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer."
Unknown
x