624 Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

624 Reviews
3.9 | Great
Excellent 427 Great 18 Average 18 Disappointing 20 Terrible 141
74% Recommend
Value:
3.9 Guide:
3.9 Activities:
3.9 Lodging:
3.9 Transportation:
3.9 Meals:
3.9

Tour Reviews

v

Does Not Recommend

No Refunds May 2019

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Check carefully before booking any tour as many of them are non - refundable. If you cancel due to any reason, they won't give you your money back. I will never trust them again because I had to cancel a trip once and ended up spending a lot of money for NOT taking the trip due to personal reasons.
Read more

E

Recommends

Very well organized April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Very well organized and our tour guide Santiago was outstanding! Kept the tour on point and very pleasant to be with. We had no issues at any stop and I will use them again. Highly recommend this way to travel abroad.
Read more

M

Recommends

Amazing! April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our Dubai tour with Shalini was amazing! She provided us an exceptional experience and achieved optimal harmony within our very diverse group! KUDOS

KG

Recommends

It was fantastic and a trip of a lifetime. February 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It was fantastic and a trip of a lifetime. Our guide, Vi, was the best. She was outgoing, knowledgeable and watched over the group like a mother hen. The local guides were great too. This was my first trip to Europe and with Gate 1, and will use only you in the future.
Read more

RL

Recommends

You get what you pay for February 2019

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
Decent company - tours are middle of the road - restaurants that they take you to are not great- cheap on the food.
When they changed our dinner itinerary from the hotel to an outside restaurant- we wrote to the agency - they said they had a right to change - when we wrote back again - they basically blew us off by not answering us again.
I highly doubt we will travel with them again.
You get what you pay for . .
Read more

AK

Recommends

The trip was great! January 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The trip was great! We had an amazing time. Everything went so smoothly. Hotels were great, food was great and our tour guide Roberto was amazing. We definitely had a great time and will be using Gate 1 again!
Read more

JT

Recommends

Fantastic! December 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Fantastic! ... Everything ran like clockwork and hassle free. I definitely would recommend Gate 1 and I will definitely travel with Gate 1 in the future.

J

Recommends

Awesome experience December 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Traveled the first time with Gate 1 travel to Thailand. Excellent service, awesome experience and met others who utilize Gate 1 travel 10+ times.

L

Recommends

wonderful trip to Peru December 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I just got back From a wonderful trip to Peru. Gate 1 is a very reputable, conscientious, and experienced company. I highly recommend traveling with them. Our tour guide, Able, was the best. We had no issues and he was always ahead of anything that might go wrong. I will definitely use them in again in the future.
Read more

R

Recommends

Travelers get a great deal December 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Travelers get a great deal for the amount of money they pay. We have traveled with Gate 1 several times.We have always enjoyed our trips.

MfO

Recommends

Best value, unforgettable trip December 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Israel - Journey for the believer. From the flight to Tel Aviv, hotels, food, tour guide, bus trips, destinations and flight back home, it was the best experience ever! The staff at Gare 1 were very helpful each time I called. The trip itself will be a treasured memory. Mika, our tour guide, was a wealth of information, such a pleasant and cheerful personality. Kobi, our bus driver, was great, so skillful in maneuvering all the streets. I had an absolutely wonderful experience and would book a tour with Gate 1 in a heart beat.
Read more

TF

Does Not Recommend

Gate 1 Travel is a really BAD company November 2018

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I made a reservation for a trip for my wife and I which was recommended by Travel Zoo. We paid $1764 including $316 for two cancellation coverage plans. The company provided a "cancel for any reason" plan which they now call a waiver. They made it sound like insurance but now claim it is not.
After almost a month I found that the United States State Department had a warning about travel to the location we had chosen so I cancelled the trip. I then received an emailed cancellation invoice indicating that the trip was not refundable. The cancellation was still 5 months before the trip was scheduled (Sept. 20, 2018) . Gate1 then referred me to the company providing travel insurance Arch Insurance Solutions($178). I asked about our "cancel for any reason" coverage ($138) but got no
answer on that issue. Gate1 said I had to apply to the other insurer for trip cancellation first. This took about a month and was declined. So I again asked about our "cancel for any reason" coverage. The
company put me through a number of hoops only to conclude with the statement that I would be given a credit for slightly over $1070 after a deduction of around $400 for making reservations. That means over $716 had been paid for nothing. They sold a plan which provided no protection for me with only a partial credit to be offered. When I asked how they would have handled the credit if I had not purchased the coverage they did not respond. The assumption is that the entire payment would be lost. What protection was provided by the coverage?
Gate1 Travel offers what looks like a scam and provide no refunds for cancellation.
I paid for this trip (online) immediately upon making the reservation I had no contact with Gate1. They have indicated that their many web pages provide specific information on the various aspects of making a
reservation with them but I merely followed the directions provided while making the reservation.
There was no indication that "cancel for any reason" meant other than cancel for any reason but we will only credit you for a partial amount.
Gate1 has indicated in contact with the BBB of Metropolitan D.C. and Eastern Pennsylvania that I have $1700 (where that amount came from I do not know) on account with them. I have checked my account page which Gate1 had previously referred me to and the balance is $0.

So I have paid over $1700 and have nothing to show for the expenditure. They will not refund and have indicated that I will need to book another trip to use any balance or forfeit it all. Since the balance indicates $0 it appears I have already lost it all.

I have filed complaints with the Better Business Bureau, the Pennsylvania and Missouri Attorneys General and every other consumer protection agency I can find.

If you choose to travel using Gate 1 I would be sure to read all the many pages of fine print. Do not assume anything they will take you payment and refund nothing. Do not buy the "Cancel for Any Reason" coverage as it provides no coverage other than a credit which should be offered at a minimum without the coverage. Refunds do not exist.
--------------------------------------------
As you can see from the response by Gate 1 Travel they did not answer any of the questions raised and decided to further obfuscate the issues. Their responses to each complaint filed have been misleading, confusing and in some cases simply not true.

Who would want to do business with a company which will simply not refund monies paid? I am expected to book another trip with them to get use of my money paid in good faith. With a booking fee of $400 resulting in a total of approximately $1100 paid for nothing. I would never do business with such a company.

If I had only known. Now you do.
Read more

G

Recommends

Had an OUTSTANDING trip all around Peru October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I traveled with my cousin to Peru for 11 days, we had an OUTSTANDING trip all around Peru. I never thought I would enjoy it so much. We have been traveling around the world with different tour companies and never had have an experience with a company that took care of all details to make our experience perfect. Our Tour Manager Victor Huacac was extraordinary and did an outstanding job to make a difference in our experience in Peru and make things happen. I just can say now on my option for traveling will be Gate 1 and I just regret I didnt know of this company before.
Very thankful for such good Customer Service!
Read more

G

Does Not Recommend

We had an OUTSTANDING trip all around Peru October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I traveled with my cousin to Peru for 11 days, we had an OUTSTANDING trip all around Peru. I never thought I would enjoy it so much. We have been traveling around the world with different tour companies and never had have an experience with a company that took care of all details to make our experience perfect. Our Tour Manager Victor Huacac was extraordinary and did an outstanding job to make a difference in our experience in Peru and make things happen. I just can say now on my option for traveling will be Gate 1 and I just regret I didnt know of this company before.
Very thankful for such good Customer Service!
Read more

LF

Recommends

Wonderful October 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I just finished my ninth trip with Gate 1 to Ireland. Our tour manager, John Burns, did a terrific job in sheperding 39 of through Ireland in a week, always on time and on schedule. Our driver, Tony Davis, was responsible, courteous, and always had our safety in mind. John was a wonderful guide and his short lectures on today's Ireland and its history were comprehensive and erudite. My friends and I enjoyed our week very much. I would only suggest that perhaps the factory tour and showroom of Waterford could be left out, and a few hours in lovely Waterford substituted.
I wish to also comment on some of the other comments I have seen for the first time about Gate 1 and refunds for canceled trips. Travelers should know that Gate 1 does not have control over airline policies for nonrefundable cancelations and refunds, and should not hold Gate 1 responsible. Gate 1 has clearly stated policies for the land portions of its tours that are quite reasonable.
Read more

Items 526 to 540 of 600 total

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"All journeys have secret destinations of which the traveler is unaware."
Martin Buber
x