1,597 South Africa Tour & Trip Reviews

South Africa Tour & Trip Reviews

1,597 Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Excellent 1,303 Great 211 Average 22 Disappointing 10 Terrible 51
96% Recommend
Value
4.7 Guide
4.7 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.7

Editor’s Take

What to Look For in South Africa Tour Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

First, for a majority of travelers, the flight to South Africa is long. From many spots in the United States, you’ll spend near 21 hours each direction in the air. Australia and Asia experience similarly long flights. For travelers who find themselves having a layover, consider an overnight layover, where you can spend a night sleeping in a bed. This helps ease exhaustion, especially for those who can’t sleep on planes. You’ll arrive ready for your South African adventure.

There are some security issues when it comes to South Africa, which can be a shock for some travelers. Especially if you go to Johannesburg, you’ll feel the more “dangerous” sides just by being outside and driving through the city. This should not discourage you from traveling to South Africa!

Being prepared and knowing your surroundings, it can help immensely. Many homes have bars on the windows, and security guards, even in the higher end areas. Violence was a huge concern, and can still be, but don’t let this break your trip. There will be a shock but shortly after, travelers see this is just the way of life in South Africa.

Many travelers have mentioned South Africa as one of the best experiences of their life, which is no surprise. Between the ocean, the mountains, the wineries in the capelands, and the wildlife, it’s pretty hard to not enjoy yourself. There is surely something that everyone will enjoy. South Africa is filled with history, art, and great food. There are endless adventures, and the pace of life is very relaxed.

Many reviewers mentioned the safari. Some may say a day or two is enough for a safari. You can see these animals at the zoo. This is far from the truth. There are very few things that beat seeing a family of elephants strolling during sunrise, or watching the hippo crossings between dusk.

Looking in the brush for the lions trying to hide from the hot sun, and zebras running through the grass. All of it is amazing and every game drive is different. Every animal encounter is magical.

Another South Africa “hot spot” among reviewers is Cape Town with a side trip to the wine area, either Stellenbosch or Franschhoek. Stroll through the cute towns filled with restaurants, shops, and markets. Hop on the wine tram, that transports you between wineries in the region.

Consider a stay in a bed and breakfast. Transportation between wine country and Cape Town is about an hour, and there are numerous buses that leave each day between the two. While this is an easy day trip, you may want to consider staying overnight. The region makes for a great weekend trip!

If you want a professional take on traveling in South Africa, see the Travelstride South Africa Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

P

Recommends

Communication November 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great agents always willing to answer any questions!

LfFC

Recommends

I have loved working with ACIS since… November 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have loved working with ACIS since 2005 and I’m looking forward to my next trip this summer!

EBB

Recommends

Sept 2022 was my 23rd trip with ACIS… October 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Sept 2022 was my 23rd trip with ACIS (along with an AIFS 6 week back in the day with Mom the French teacher) and it was outstanding! I went to a teacher conference in Lisbon and was inspired to create a full itinerary for adults just to Portugal. We had great hotels, food, wine, and tours to cork factory, a winery in the throes of picking grapes, and a port tasting. All under the wonderful Tour Manager Sarah-Kate Redding. ACIS also lined up individual tours for each day of Lisbon, Evora, Coimbra, and Porto with guides who spoke excellent English. The entire group of 24 LOVED Portugal. Many thanks to ACIS for a job well done!!! Elaine Bixiones
Read more

D

Recommends

33 trips! October 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I just finished my 33rd trip with ACIS! I am now retired from teaching art and switched from student trips to adult trips. Just like the wonderful trips with students, my adult trips are amazing as well. The hotels and meals were great, as always, and all my adults were very happy. There was a hotel that had a problem with the reservation, and ACIS bumped us up to a 5 star amazing hotel! Thanks acis, you took wonderful care of us once again ! I already have adult trips to Peru and Morocco planned, with Portugal in the works! Thanks ACIS!
Read more

CS

Recommends

TWO of the BEST Trips Ever! September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I toured Greece in June, and Scotland/Ireland in July and they were two of the BEST trips ever! Despite some chaos in the travel industry, ACIS made everything seamless and worry-free! Our Tour Managers, Edoardo D'Ardia and Stan Pretty, were kind, funny and incredibly adept at making things fun! Top notch hotels, centrally located, great food, and every moment just shone with fun and interest. Two wonderful groups of travelers, two amazing trips. Can't wait for next summer!
Read more

B

Recommends

Like no other September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have tried to travel with other Educational Travel Companies in the past and never have had success, I believe due to lack of hands on involvement and personal connection. From the minute I contacted ACIS, there has been tremendous support getting my trip put together, a group formed and assistance with any troubleshooting needed. Even at 4:00 am in the airport I had a number I could call and a real person answered to help. They are incredibly student centered, thoughtful and helpful.
Read more

R

Recommends

Great company September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great company, professional and responsive. If you want to travel with the best, ACIS is your only choice.

CT/C

Recommends

ACIS is an amazing company! September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
ACIS is an amazing company that ALWAYS has safety and travel experience as their top priorities. Traveling amidst Covid concerns could be a scary experience for some, but ACIS has wonderful travel insurance policies with the best coverage possible. My two trips this summer 2022 to Europe and Costa Rica went without any travel issues, and all travelers had an amazing experience. I wouldn't travel with any other peer travel company, and I give ACIS my highest recommendation. Cynthia T
Read more

M

Recommends

ACIS is the best! September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I truly believe that ACIS is the best tour company anywhere and I would not take my students on a trip with any other company. ACIS has the best tours and the best tour guides, period. I have taken two trips to Spain with large groups of students that went incredibly well. My students are still talking about their last tour guide. The trips are fantastic and the rewards are amazing. I haven’t had problems arise on my tours, but I absolutely know that ACIS would take care of one, should it occur. I look forward to my next adventure with ACIS!
Read more

BJ

Recommends

Our trip was one of our best August 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our trip was one of our best. We had two ACIS leaders, and they were both different but magnificent. They were creative, adaptive and always helpful.

L

Recommends

ACIS: professional and great to work with August 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
ACIS is always a pleasure to work with. Always professional, resaonable, kind, and quick to respond. Thank you for all you do for student travel!

MD

Recommends

ACIS is AMAZING!! August 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
ACIS is, by far, a superior travel company! They go out of their way to make sure your trip is everything you expect and more. From the location of the hotels to the better quality food, ACIS pays attention to the details. In addition, their group size is much smaller than other companies, making the trip a higher quality experience. I can't say enough about this company! My students and I had the best time and we LOVED our tour manager, Lise Mignon!! She is a must as a tour manager. She made sure we were all well taken care of and would go out of her way to make things special. I will be requesting Lise for our trip in 2024. I can't wait!
We are counting down the days!
Read more

J

Recommends

The Best August 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The Best! ACIS' communication, attention to detail, problem-solving, and trips are top-notch. I would never consider student-travel with any other tour company.

D

Recommends

The Best in the Business! I have traveled extensively with ACIS… August 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have traveled extensively with ACIS with two of my groups (one high school student group and one adult choir), after checking the competition. This is my sixth tour and I'd never travel with another company. ACIS and their music division - Encore Tours - are the best in the business - with amazing pre-trip support, fabulous tour sites (for education, performance, hotels, restaurants), super flexibility on my requests, and great Tour Managers. All around, the ACIS and Encore Tours family are super-star professionals and a pleasure to work with!
Read more

G

Recommends

The best approach for school trips August 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We have travelled numerous times with ACIS, and will continue to do so. They are flexible and caring. They always put into your hands the tools for a great experience abroad. Great choices for hotels and outstanding tour guide!!!! We are very thankful to Jessica Ricci and the entire team.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 848 total

Top South Africa Tours View All South Africa Trips
Amazing Southern Africa tour Amazing Southern Africa

$ 6,456 22-days trip

Cape Town to Vic Falls tour Cape Town to Vic Falls

$ 2,190 22-days trip

Kruger, Coast & Cape tour Kruger, Coast & Cape

$ 1,950 22-days trip

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Traveling - it leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller."
Ibn Battuta
x