1,600 South Africa Tour & Trip Reviews

South Africa Tour & Trip Reviews

1,600 Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Excellent 1,306 Great 211 Average 22 Disappointing 10 Terrible 51
96% Recommend
Value
4.7 Guide
4.7 Activities
4.7 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.7 Meals
4.7

Editor’s Take

What to Look For in South Africa Tour Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

First, for a majority of travelers, the flight to South Africa is long. From many spots in the United States, you’ll spend near 21 hours each direction in the air. Australia and Asia experience similarly long flights. For travelers who find themselves having a layover, consider an overnight layover, where you can spend a night sleeping in a bed. This helps ease exhaustion, especially for those who can’t sleep on planes. You’ll arrive ready for your South African adventure.

There are some security issues when it comes to South Africa, which can be a shock for some travelers. Especially if you go to Johannesburg, you’ll feel the more “dangerous” sides just by being outside and driving through the city. This should not discourage you from traveling to South Africa!

Being prepared and knowing your surroundings, it can help immensely. Many homes have bars on the windows, and security guards, even in the higher end areas. Violence was a huge concern, and can still be, but don’t let this break your trip. There will be a shock but shortly after, travelers see this is just the way of life in South Africa.

Many travelers have mentioned South Africa as one of the best experiences of their life, which is no surprise. Between the ocean, the mountains, the wineries in the capelands, and the wildlife, it’s pretty hard to not enjoy yourself. There is surely something that everyone will enjoy. South Africa is filled with history, art, and great food. There are endless adventures, and the pace of life is very relaxed.

Many reviewers mentioned the safari. Some may say a day or two is enough for a safari. You can see these animals at the zoo. This is far from the truth. There are very few things that beat seeing a family of elephants strolling during sunrise, or watching the hippo crossings between dusk.

Looking in the brush for the lions trying to hide from the hot sun, and zebras running through the grass. All of it is amazing and every game drive is different. Every animal encounter is magical.

Another South Africa “hot spot” among reviewers is Cape Town with a side trip to the wine area, either Stellenbosch or Franschhoek. Stroll through the cute towns filled with restaurants, shops, and markets. Hop on the wine tram, that transports you between wineries in the region.

Consider a stay in a bed and breakfast. Transportation between wine country and Cape Town is about an hour, and there are numerous buses that leave each day between the two. While this is an easy day trip, you may want to consider staying overnight. The region makes for a great weekend trip!

If you want a professional take on traveling in South Africa, see the Travelstride South Africa Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

GS

Recommends

Thanks ACIS December 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have been traveling with ACIS for more than 20 years and I believe that it’s a truly outstanding company. ACIS has done a terrific job during these difficult times. The professionalism, experience, and dedication of the staff has enabled the company to overcome challenges and to continue offering the best travel experiences in the industry. I’m very much looking forward to our continuing work together!
Read more

TM

Recommends

ACIS is simply the best of the… December 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
ACIS is simply the best of the educational travel companies out there. The quality and care is always consistent. We will never use another travel company! Thank you for always making each tour a success.
Read more

RD

Recommends

ACIS consistently provides a top notch… December 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
ACIS consistently provides a top notch tour. Hotels are centrally located and clean, tour guides are friendly and extremely knowledgeable, restaurants are accommodating and unique- would never travel with any other company!
Read more

NW

Recommends

Traveling with ACIS for 15 years December 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have been traveling with ACIS for 15 & they always do the best they can. Time after time I am extraordinarily impressed with how they manage situations. The pandemic was no small task! The way they navigated - helped with refunds & or rollovers & rescheduled my group was absolutely top notch. All my travelers were super pleased with the service & very generous return policies.
I recently just returned from a global teachers conference in Budapest (level 4 - travel alerts) and ACIS did an absolutely magnificent job.
Overall they are an amazing tour company all around from their knowledge helpful & supportive staff to the services they provide. The centrally located accommodations and all activities always have the travelers (kids & parents) in mind for a fun, good time! They are fantastic with planning all the details! I was impressed with them when I began many years ago & I become more impressed as time goes by!
Read more

MC

Does Not Recommend

NOT A FULL REFUND December 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Nowhere did anyone say that you won't be refunded $350 if you cancel your trip. I signed up early to receive the discount for my daughter and I and now we are out $700 because we cancelled before the Dec. deadline.
Read more

W

Recommends

Beth has been simply outstanding in… November 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Beth has been simply outstanding in helping me to put together a quality trip in record time that is also affordable for my students. I appreciate her so much!

A

Does Not Recommend

Cautious Continued November 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Your response to my review sounds pretty but it is empty. It's a pandemic. 6% of the people in these reviews disagree with your refund policies. I would say that justifies a major overhaul. I have spoken with the trip leader and voiced my concerns. Fear mongering won't work with me. The itinerary was EXACTLY the same. That means you bought the trip from them. Whether you added extra services is unclear. What is 100% clear is that your company lacks integrity, honor, basic decency. You obviously profit considerably and then offer don't budge on your policy when YOU canceled the trip 2 weeks prior. Your refund policy is time based. So 2 weeks prior costs your customers more of their money. I don't believe that you couldn't recoup trip costs. There were many opportunities provided by our government to help businesses in trouble. I was refunded for an airline ticket myself. I wonder how much it cost you to field all the complaints from all your customers. If you had refunded us all, it would have been highly likely we would have traveled at the next available opportunity. Your policy has cost you much more than the refunds would have.
Read more

A

Does Not Recommend

BE CAUTIOUS November 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
It's a shame 0 stars isn't an option. We were really excited to travel with ACIS. Then Covid hit 2 months prior to traveling. We asked for a refund and they held our money hostage for months. Then they started siting their refund policies. I have asked in many ways for the full refund. I have been trying to get a full refund since March of 2020. In a way I am glad this happened because I would never trust a company that treats its customers this way with my 14 year old daughter. My mother was appalled by the cost and kept trying to get us to back out of the deal. I think she was probably concerned for her safety. She sent me a trip offer with the EXACT same itinerary. $4200 at ACIS buys you the same trip as $799 buys at another place. No there isn't a chaperone but I could have paid for 4 of us to go with $800 left over. These people are shady. I suggest you look elsewhere.
Read more

A

Recommends

ACIS has been amazing at providing and… November 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
ACIS has been amazing at providing and facilitating wonderful travel experiences for our students. They have modernized the ways students register thus making it easier, convenient and faster.

DE

Recommends

Absolutely the best travel company! November 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Absolutely the best travel company! They are always there for you and that is essential in today’s travel world.

C

Recommends

Thank you for your valuable October 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thank you for your valuable, fresh, and professional feedback/information about travel and its beautiful meanings.

LC

Recommends

ACIS is simply the best! October 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
ACIS is simply the best student travel company out there. During the past three decades I have led 45 trips with my students. Before I discovered ACIS, I organized educational adventures with several of the other student travel companies but after one of those organizations left my students and me stranded in a third world country, I switched to ACIS and never looked back. In terms of overall educational value ACIS has no peer. Their tour managers are the best in the industry as are their rigorous standards for safety and security, the quality and location of their restaurants and hotels, their commitment to diverse educational groups of all sizes, and their incomparable guaranteed protection plans. My students are my precious cargo and I trust ACIS to provide them with the best educational odysseys imaginable.
Read more

KE

Recommends

I have never had anything but… October 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have never had anything but exceptional service and experiences with ACIS. Both the US and staff abroad have always exceeded my highest expectations. In planning for our upcoming 2022 trip, once again ACIS has raised the bar. Their attention to detail is unsurpassed to ensure both the safety and memorable travel experience for all of us. I trust ACIS implicitly, and that is the highest praise that I can bestow on anyone or any company!
Read more

L

Recommends

This is a great company October 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This is a great company! I have taken amazing trips with ACIS with their sports program as a softball coach. Everything is top notch. They give us wonderful leaders and they take care of so many little details.
Read more

BJ

Recommends

Phenomenal staff October 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Phenomenal staff! Throughout this entire nightmare of Covid, they have shown nothing but class and been there to help guide me and my students the whole way through!!! Thank you ACIS!!!

Items 61 to 75 of 729 total

Top South Africa Tours View All South Africa Trips
Okavango Experience tour Okavango Experience

$ 1,481 10-days trip

Mpumalanga (deluxe Class) tour Mpumalanga (deluxe Class)

$ 1,025 3-days trip

Southern Africa Safari (2024) tour Southern Africa Safari (2024)

$ 5,555 22-days trip

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles."
Tim Cahill
x