593 Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

593 Reviews
4.0 | Great
Excellent 417 Great 16 Average 14 Disappointing 16 Terrible 130
75% Recommend
Value:
4.0 Guide:
4.0 Activities:
4.0 Lodging:
4.0 Transportation:
4.0 Meals:
4.0

Tour Reviews

RK

Does Not Recommend

Gate one did not plan for bad weather… September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Gate one did not plan for bad weather even after knowing three days in advance. We were stuck in an old hotel - worst ever - in Hofn. Gate one was protecting their profit at rye expense of their customers. Would not travel with them again
Read more

SJ

Recommends

An Excellent First Outing with Gate 1! September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I am surprised to find so many negative reviews here for this company, as we recently went on our first Gate 1 trip and we were the only ones who weren't repeat customers on the trip (and many of them had been on more than 5 Gate 1 tours).

Everything exceeded our expectations. Our travel arrangements proceeded flawlessly; we were met at the airport by a driver for our transfer as we arrived a day ahead of the other guests. Our hotels were all very nice, guest-focused, well located and pleasant (they were a bit nondescript... we felt like we could be in Riga or Houston, but that is a small, very personal issue). Our tour manager was EXCELLENT, well organized, friendly, knowledgeable, helpful, concerned, cheerful, attentive and reliable. Our city guides were wonderful, our excursions were fun and interesting and the food was pretty good (I would have liked more choices on the group meals, but again, that was a small issue). I will be recommending this company to anyone seeking such a service, and I'm sure this was not our last Gate 1 experience.
Read more

NNM

Recommends

Our Italy tour of September 6 to 17 September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our Italy tour of September 6 to 17, 2022 was superb due to our awesome travel director, Myriam!!
She has a great sense of humor and inclusivity. No one felt left out nor ignored.
Our tourmates bonded well and thus, everyone had a sweet time learning about each other.
Thank you, Myriam.

Noemi and Dan
Read more

MG

Does Not Recommend

I'm taking the 10 Day Classic Portugal… September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I'm taking the 10 Day Classic Portugal trip in October. After 2 phone calls and an email, I can't get a response to when an optional trip is scheduled for. This has happened before. When you sign up for a trip, everything is great. They will tell you what you want to hear. Afterward when you need more information, no one can give you answers. They defer to the tour guide in that country. They hire the tour guide or company. They should know who they are hiring.
Read more

BB

Recommends

Riverboat Cruise, Yes! Flight reservations, No. September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We took a riverboat cruise on the Monarch Empress in July 2022. We traveled from Budapest to Prague on the Danube river. The crew on the boat was superb, we had an incredible time. Every day we were entertained, provided exceptional service, and was treated like royalty. There is a concern about booking flights with Gate1, 2 members of our party booked with Gate1, and one short flight was canceled, Gate1 then canceled all of their flights, just 2 days before beginning their trip. I heard this happened to other passengers, my advice is not to book air travel with Gate 1 but I do highly recommend the riverboat cruise.
Read more

CR

Does Not Recommend

I traveled with Gate 1 before but they… September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I traveled with Gate 1 before but they have become horrible. DO NOT MAKE RESERVATION WITH THEM, THEY ARE SCAM. I have made reservation for Colombia, the website says they confirm my reservation within 3-4 business days. It it 11 business days (almost two weeks) and I call them everyday and no good answer. I need to make my flight arrangements as flight rates are going up but they do not confirm my trip. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. I have bought insurance and they will not refund my insurance when I really want to go on this trip and it is their fault for not giving me a confirmation. EXTREMELY FRUSTRATED! They should be shutdown.
Read more

ML

Does Not Recommend

Do not use, September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Just terrible.... not sure what happened to them. I've used them over a dozen times and the last couple of years it seems they have just completely gone off the rails. They recently sent me change to my flights that was simply not acceptable. 7 hour layover when I originally had a 2 hour lay over. The reason? They never paid for the the flights so the airline increased the prices. I had fully paid for the trip for 8 months, so they simply held on tho the money. When I reached out nothing but run around and pointing fingers . They even went as far as to say that it's my responsibility to tell them to pay for the flights. Then more run around. Started pointing me to T&Cs, then started blaming the airline. No ownership of the problem after their screw up. Also do not buy the insurance, it's useless. Once they have your money they do whatever they want and you have very little recourse.
Read more

Jh

Does Not Recommend

Hotels people steal stuff from Galapagos trip… September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I just came back from Galapagos trip Ecuador. I found out the hotels involved not honest they took my blue tooth earbud and my brother family lost some stuff too I can’t point out which hotel but I like yo mention to this review so the future people MUST BE CAREFULLY ABOUT UR BELONGINGS
Read more

MB

Recommends

Service needs improvement September 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
Their service is degrading. Lately they offer you a 7 days tour, but in reality is 6 because day #7 is the flight back, at midnight or 1am. This happened on our last 2 trips. So on day #6 you have a very long day, because at night they drive you to the airport for the night flight and when you arrive at your country, you have spent around 24 hours without stop. Also because they buy the bulk seats for the tour with the airlines, every body in the plane from Gate1 is not seating with their relatives, so people are trying to change seats with others, to seat with their companion. The hotels they choose are fair for the price you're paying and the busses and tour guides are pretty good.
Read more

l

Does Not Recommend

DON'T September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
DON'T! JUST DON'T! AWFUL FOOD, AWFUL HOTELS. AWFUL SERVICE! DON'T DO IT! If I could give it ZERO I WOULD!

CT

Recommends

Loved Discovery Galapagos Tour September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Experienced my first trip with Gate1 in April 2022. We traveled to the Galapagos, Ecuador & the Amazon (Discovery Tour). I have to say it was excellent & tour of a lifetime. Our guide
was very informative & fun. Gate1 has organization down pat. It was flawless especially getting to Galapagos! Whew what a trek.
Phones calls to gate1 were a little difficult but calls were always returned.
Exceptional Tour!
Read more

RN

Recommends

I did speak with Gate 1 representative… September 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I did speak with Gate 1 representative and all of my issues have been resolved. Therefore, I am pleased to update my rating from 1 to 4 star due to the excellent service that I have received.

RN

Does Not Recommend

Gate 1 customer service sucks September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Gate 1 customer service sucks. Five hour wait for a return phone call. I had completed 8 trips with them in the past with no issues before 2019. My latest trip will be my last only using a credit from a trip they cancelled. Two weeks before I am leaving they inform me that I will have a 7 hour layover in Paris both coming and going to Morocco. I had paid extra for this flight to have minimal layover. They tell me after waiting 5 hours for a return phone call that there is a 600 dollar penility if I cancel this trip. This will be last trip with Gate 1 that suck
Read more

DL

Recommends

Updated review due to superior customer service September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
** I did speak with Gate 1 representative and all of my issues have been resolved. Therefore, I am pleased to update my rating from 3 to 5 star due to the excellent service that I have received.
There was an issue with phone calls not being received on my end.
So I was able to respond to my email and call the representive directly.

We are looking forward to our travels with Gate1 in January 2023
Read more

TH

Does Not Recommend

Concerned about my Fall 2022 trip September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I, too, have had excellent travel experiences with Gate1 several times over the years. HOWEVER, I am due to travel in October, and am having no success contacting them in response to their emails over the past 2+ weeks that my flights have changed. I also have another concern that I just picked up going through the itinerary that is either an error or will be very inconvenient. I also noticed that they changed my hotel. No responses yet. The "Cancel for any Reason" coverage that I bought with the travel insurance gives only a limited credit on future travel with Gate1 good for two years. This is unlikely to be worth more than 50% of the cost of this trip. I have been a real booster of Gate1 in the past, but right now I'm unhappy with the lack of customer service and won't be recommending.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 570 total

Travel wisely

COVID-19 is still affecting travel around the world but more countries continue to reopen and adjust travel restrictions and requirements. We recommend reviewing the full list of Covid-19 travel resources - all updated regularly given the fast-changing environment.

And check out everything you need to know about how vaccines are affecting travel, including which countries are open to fully vaccinated travelers.

Ready to travel? 

Take a look at our interactive travel restrictions map or see the countries reopening for tourism list to find your next destination.

Consider booking a Custom or Private Trip for the peace of mind that comes from working directly with a travel expert. They can plan ahead for safety and assist you during the trip if any complications develop, plus give you more freedom and flexibility with your itinerary.

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Two roads diverged in a wood and I - I took the one less traveled by."
Robert Frost
x