616 Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

616 Reviews
3.9 | Great
Excellent 423 Great 18 Average 17 Disappointing 19 Terrible 139
74% Recommend
Value:
3.9 Guide:
3.9 Activities:
3.9 Lodging:
3.9 Transportation:
3.9 Meals:
3.9

Tour Reviews

BB

Recommends

We were on a Gate 1 tour from June 26… July 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We were on a Gate 1 tour from June 26 thru July 3..
It was the Classic Tour of Ireland…Our tour director was Cristianne. Our driver was John….Unfortunately I did not get her last name…
Please make sure this review goes to her management team and to her….

Our holiday would have been half as fun and interesting if we did not have Cristianne…she is absolutely indispensable because of her knowledge of Ireland..her presence made the already beautiful places many more times interesting..we have never come across such a beautiful, pleasant, and friendly guide in our entire life.
She explained everything beautifully and we came to know about various interesting things as guest in beautiful Ireland…even after returning home we are still
Talking about Cristianne’s wonderful story telling which made our bus trip so fun and festive…she made us feel
Like we were one of the Irish..we have never experienced such love and affection in a different country…she was so much more than a tour director it was like we were all,a big family…Cristianne gave us delicious treats….many surprises….that were not included…she is one beautiful young lady inside and outside..I fell in love with Ireland…and I could listen to Cristianne talk forever,,she is an absolutely romantic soul..

John our driver…made us feel safe while driving….made sure we got our luggage…very personable, kind and a wonderful personality…

This is was our first Gate 1 tour…but definitely not our last.

What a fantastic 1st experience we had with Gate 1

With much love,
Barbara & Michael Bartlett
Oviedo, Florida

Please make sure Cristianne and John know how happy
And fun they made our holiday..
Read more

EW

Does Not Recommend

I'm really not sure about this company June 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I'm really not sure about this company. I have a trip to Jordan booked for September 2022, and have experienced nothing but problems so far. I made my initial reservation/deposit in April of 2021, but as I get closer to the actual departure date, warnings are appearing. Airfare was included: Gate 1 sent me many,many emails asking me to select flight arrangements, but....offered no flights. After finally getting in touch w/ customer service, flight options appeared on my reservation. The instructions re confirming acceptance stated that I either reply to the email or call them. I replied to the email with 'flights accepted'. I then made arrangements to get from my locale to their departure city, and back again. 4 hotels, 2 cross-country (US) flights. Only to receive a Gate 1 email stating that since I had not accepted offered flight arrangements, they were reducing my reservation to 'land-only'. I promptly got an updated invoice. Contacted their Customer Service, somewhat irate, and asked why they had canceled my air arrangements? Long story short, no satisfactory explanation. Cost to me? Several hundred dollars and many hours. But wait! Eager naive soul that I am....I actually tried to make my final payment tonight. $4,333. Their website is so funky it wouldn't process it. I really want to go on this trip. But....I think I should heed the warning signs.
Read more

SD

Does Not Recommend

Fraudulent Way of conducting business! Beware !!! June 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I am extremely n thoroughly disappointed with Gate 1 travel on my Ecuador 2022 June 22-28 trip!
I bought a 7 days express Galápagos tour which the itinerary sucked in the first place with hardly any rest, I’ve told them whoever plans such useless itineraries shd have their brains checked in the first place!
Well that included flight and stay from Gate 1. And so many additional fees they slap u on with any modifications ! However, due to ongoing riots n protests going on Ecuador for last 2 weeks I’ve been emailing them saying is the tour still active? Until the eve of the tour it was on , n then they decided to cancel the tour on us! I get a call from Gate1 saying my tour has been canceled due to political n civil unrest! Not safe to go at this time!
So Gate 1 told me my only options were a future credit towards another trip or to pay $250 PER PERSON to get a refund!!!! What?! This is an issue completely out of my control. AA927 had a flight delay over 11 hrs and ultimately this flight got cancelled!
When I call AA I was told any flight over 4 hrs delay you are entitled to full refund! This tour n then flight was delayed n cancelled both beyond my control so Im entitled to a full refund!
But becos I booked thru gate 1 I was told to reach out to them ! It’s 3 of us going n they charging me airline penalty of 750.00
As a company why do you feel this is acceptable and the only options? Why am I being penalized?? When things are ultimately beyond my control here!
I’m not getting my money back and possibly won’t be able to make this trip anytime soon! They take your money n scam you n being bounce back n forth with gate 1!
I’ve taken 6-7 trips with them n No loyalty whatsoever to work on getting a solution ! I can not believe this is happening and Gate 1 is so lax about a solution. Their reservation agent Oscar messed it up and without my consent did the refund n now I’m hit with 750 penalty now! When I asked him his extension he says he doesn’t have one! I asked his last name he wouldn’t give it! I asked to speak to a mgr n no one has called back as yet! This company is in to take your money n won’t give u back your own money without additional fees! Very pathetic !
I am absolutely soooo disappointed in how this “company” decides to handle their business and they have zero concern for the consumer once they have their money. I’m going to be bringing this up to the attorney general n let them see how they n AA airlines playing games n ready to scam people out there!
Read more

KB

Does Not Recommend

Beware Gate 1 Travel! June 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I am extremely disappointed with Gate 1 travel. This is my first and last time booking with this company. I bought a Groupon that included flight and stay for Cartagena from Gate 1. At the time of booking there were so many additional fees that they were trying to up sale me on. Eventually I was able to get exactly what I paid for. However, today I get an email from JetBlue saying my flight has been canceled. They instructed me to reach out to Gate 1 travel. So I reached out to Gate 1 and they told me my only options were a credit towards another trip or to pay $500 PER PERSON to be switched to another flight!!! What?! This is an issue completely out of my control. As a company why do you feel this is acceptable and the only options? Why am I being penalized? I’m not getting my money back and possibly won’t be able to make this trip. I can not believe this is happening and Gate 1 is so lax about a solution. I am absolutely livid and so disappointed in how this “company” decides to handle their business and they have zero concern for the consumer once they have their money.
Read more

AO

Recommends

Bad post Customer Service June 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
I had a spectacular trip to Tuscany, Italy. We were a group of 22 people. When we returned to the United States, 9 people from the travel group, including me, did not get our bags; the airlines don't know where the bags are and when we called Gate1 Travel we didn't get any collaboration either. Gate1 Travel has a commercial relationship with Lufthansa, why do they wash their hands so easily? Perhaps they do not appreciate their customers. I am very disappointed.
Read more

JJ

Does Not Recommend

Lousy pre-trip services June 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
This is my first and probably last trip on Gate 1 and I haven't even left yet! Horrible, Horrible, Horrible customer service! Email questions from April haven't been responded to yet! When you call, it can take hours to get through! People you talk to can't resolve even simple issues. Call backs in a week???
Read more

L

Does Not Recommend

Gate1 - Fraudulant Travel Agent June 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
We recently travelled back from Antalya, where we had luggage booked for both the inbound and outbound confirmed by Gate1. Freebird refused to allow our luggage as their system did not show the booked luggage. We requested Gate 1 assistance via their contact page, where our request was automatically closed as Freebird is a budget airline with whom they refuse to negotiate.
Read more

AE

Does Not Recommend

I agree with other people on this site… June 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
I agree with other people on this site about the customer service. I have been on one other trip with Gate 1 and it was great and the customer service was great. I booked a tour in 2018 that we still have not been able to take. It has been cancelled by Gate 1 THREE TIMES. So here we are in 2022, was scheduled to fly out this morning and lo and behold Gate 1 called at 1pm yesterday telling me that my trip was yet again cancelled. No empathy, no solutions, no "I'm Sorry", nothing. I have had to scramble 3 times to reschedule airline flights for 5 people. I have spent hours on the phone with airlines(literally hours), and here we are, years later and still have not taken the trip. It's almost comical. As an advisory, NEVER assume that a Gate 1 trip will actually be a go, and don't have any expectations for their customer service. But the actual trip(once you get there) is very good. It's the company itself that sucks. Do not let the response fool you. This is a company that has cancelled on me at the last minute 3 TIMES for the same trip that I booked in 2018!!!!, each time I had already purchased airline tickets and have spent countless hours on the phone trying to rectify the situation. I want to add that the worst part of the situation is that never once have they apologized, acted like they cared at all and have NEVER tried to help me book another trip or work with me in ANY way. I would steer clear of this company and many like it, because no matter if you cancel or they cancel they will do everything in their power to keep your money and make it as difficult as possible to get it back and their customer "no" service is rude and unhelpful. Go to a smaller company or just do everything yourself is my only advice. These people are just too far removed from being human.
Read more

DG

Recommends

Gate 1 Travel to Morocco (May 21-28, 2022) June 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
The POSITIVES - This is our 8th tour with Gate 1 Travel (8 Day Essential Morocco, May 21-28, 2022. Like all our previous tours with Gate 1 Travel, our expectations were met. Our Tour Manager Mohamed, the bus driver Fetah and tour assistant Aziz were all exceptional and helpful. Local tour guides at Fez and Marrakech were very knowledgeble and informative during our optonal tour activities. Hotels in Rabat, Fez, Marrakech and Casablanca were all centrally located enabling you to do further site seeing in your free time after you had arrived in your hotels.

The NEGATIVES:
1) On our 2nd full day at our hotels in Barcelo Fez Medina and Novotel Marrakech respectively, housekeeping forgot to give us fresh supply of towels. We both have to call housekeeping and the desk to remind them that towels were not issued at all.
2) On our last breakfast day at Novotel Marrakech, the staff were not at all wearing mask. The worst is that one of the staff delivering baked items were not using a tong to transfer said baked items from his cart to the tray on the table but using his bare hands to do it. VERY UNSANITARY especially when this pandemic is still around us.
3) We had traveled with Gate 1 for the longest time and my wife and I had always been assigned seats together (an aisle and middle seats or window and middle seats at times) but not separately seating on middle sites on different rows. Talking to our fellow Gate 1 Travel passengers departing from JFK on the same flight (AT-201 Royal Air Maroc), a number of couples traveling together too were all separated and assigned middle seats. Why is it like this, is Royal Air Maroc trying to make money from seat change fees if the husband and wife travelers would like to be seated together. Luckily for us on departure day for JFK, we were able to seat together as the return flight (AT-200) was not fully booked at all. Thanks to the RAM agent at Casablanca who granted our request to be seated together.
Read more

RLS

Does Not Recommend

Cannot get any help with reservation… June 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Cannot get any help with reservation 2074195. It's an easy fix but no one will step up and change my flight reservation. Instead they want me to have a 20 hour travel day when others in my group have a direct 10 hr flight. It's ridiculous how callous and indifferent this company is. Worst customer service in HISTORY. Travelers beware.
Read more

DG

Recommends

13 Day Essential Israel & Jordan (March… June 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
13 Day Essential Israel & Jordan (March 3-15, 2022)
This is our 8th tour with Gate 1 Travel with 3 other family members joining us. The tour was excellent from beginning to end as we were lucky to have fine weather and lesser crowd to deal with as both Israel and Jordan had just opened its borders to visitors after almost 2 years of lock down because of the pandemic. Hats off both to our Israeli Tour Manager Gai Perez and his driver Boaz and to his Jordanian counterpart Tour Manager Ali Abu Daheh and driver Muhammad. Visiting those biblical and ancient places with the historical narrative of both our very informative and friendly Tour Managers are beyond words. Our visit to the Israel-Jordanian Holy Land is a trip of a lifetime for me and my family members.
Dan G
Read more

L

Does Not Recommend

It is impossible to contact you by… June 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
It is impossible to contact you by phone when things are not going according to plan. Though our itinerary clearly shows checked luggage as part of our inbound flight we were forced to pay 191.40 pounds to be able to have our
Luggage on board. There is nobody on the phone we can contact. We spent an hour trying to find the money to have our luggage accepted. It was deeply embarrassing. Emotionally disturbing. Finally the worst things that has ever happened on any of my many trips. Gate1, responsible for both the outbound and inbound flights. Both show checked luggage. Freebird refused to resolve this with Gate1 they just claimed that their system did not show checked luggage. I wonder how long we wait for a response or a refund!
Read more

ym

Recommends

Hi travelers June 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Hi travelers. We did a nice Peruvian 12 days kaleidoscope trip. So happened that at Orlando airport in USA our baggage was delayed and two days were without our comfortable belongings. Our tour manager Mauricio Gomez coped perfectly with the problem and our baggage caught up with us in Cusco after 50 hours delay. Dear Mauricio, will you take our deep gratitude and respect for your care of tourist needs and problem. Mauricio treat tourists as a family, we used to hear from him Coca-Cola and answer Inca-Cola. Gate 1 performed all points of the trip. Definitely we will do other trip with Gate 1.
Yuri and Luda, Russian Canadience
may 2022
Read more

A

Does Not Recommend

“ it’s your fault why you travel at this time.” June 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
@Gate1Travel, We were on our first leg of our tour with reservation 1988715 in @Rapid city and we we departing for Wyoming when the Tour director instructed us to leave our luggages in front of our rooms @Hamptoninn for pick up by the bus driver.
We were informed by the tour director later that our luggages ( 5 tourists ) were missing and said “it’s the hotels fault”.
I am disappointed that the tour director was not on top of the whole tour. I have been with other tours like Globus and Costsaver and I did not see him overlooking the transport of the bags to the bus which other tour directors does. He automatically blamed the hotel.
There is no ownership and responsibility. Besides, he makes fun of past guests as his jokes, not very comfortable.
I will never use @Gate1travel again. Very deficient in security and not proactive, and most of all “it’s your fault why you travel at this time”… you get blamed for not putting up with their BS.
Read more

DG

Recommends

9 Day Classic Ireland (Sept 19-27, 2021 June 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
After 18 months of world wide lockdown, we finally did our 7th tour with Gate 1 (9 Day Classic), Sept.19 to 27, 2021. An excellent trip from beginning to end with our fine Tour Manager Linda 0'Neill and Driver CJ. All our hotels are centrally located giving the travellers to do further siteseeing & dining on suggested local restaurants on your own. One of our best tours so far. From Dan G, NJ-USA
Read more

Items 61 to 75 of 592 total

Travel wisely

COVID-19 is still affecting travel around the world but more countries continue to reopen and adjust travel restrictions and requirements. We recommend reviewing the full list of Covid-19 travel resources - all updated regularly given the fast-changing environment.

And check out everything you need to know about how vaccines are affecting travel, including which countries are open to fully vaccinated travelers.

Ready to travel? 

Take a look at our interactive travel restrictions map or see the countries reopening for tourism list to find your next destination.

Consider booking a Custom or Private Trip for the peace of mind that comes from working directly with a travel expert. They can plan ahead for safety and assist you during the trip if any complications develop, plus give you more freedom and flexibility with your itinerary.

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles."
Tim Cahill
x