624 Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

624 Reviews
3.9 | Great
Excellent 427 Great 18 Average 18 Disappointing 20 Terrible 141
74% Recommend
Value:
3.9 Guide:
3.9 Activities:
3.9 Lodging:
3.9 Transportation:
3.9 Meals:
3.9

Tour Reviews

GH

Recommends

Peru - Machu Picchu Tour AAA+ - Americo Romainville Tour Manager April 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I wanted to make sure this review of Gate1 and specifically our Travel Manager for the tour, Americo Romainville from Cusco, Peru. I just got back from our Machu Picchu / sacred Valley and Puno trip. Our travel manager was amazing. He was kind, very knowledgeable of Incan history and treated the group of 20 like family. During our stay he had to navigate and think quickly on his feet as a result of the Farmer strikes. He is a complete winner and regardless of anything that was thrown at him mad our trip remarkable. Thank you Gate 1 and specifically Americo Romainville.
Read more

GC

Does Not Recommend

Gate1 Travel April 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Gate1 Travel: Breach of Contract
A $400 deposit was accepted by Gate1 Travel on March 1, 2022 for “9-day Canadian Rockies with Waterton Lakes” (reservation 2142775).

A Package Airfare Supplement of $904 for two adults was noted in the invoice of March 1, 2022.

The Passenger Agreement was affirmed and subsequently accepted by Gate1 Travel on March 1, 2022. The Agreement includes acceptance of the following (in part)- AIRLINE TICKETS I understand that Gate 1 Travel will issue my airline tickets either at the time of booking for Instant Purchase Airfare, or at the time of full payment for Gate 1 Airfare.

Final payment was accepted by Gate1 Travel on March 28, 2022.

The following week, American Airlines showed no payment to or issuing of tickets. Pursuant to Gate1 Travel present policy an e-mail Inquiry was submitted. Gate1 claims that answers normally take a few business days. The published hours are Monday through Saturday. Because of physical limitations an upgrade (at additional expense) to seats with additional leg room was necessary. This requires the airfare be paid by Gate1 Travel and tickets issued by American Airlines.

As no response was forthcoming, another email was sent on April 8 with same request to pay airline to permit upgrading seats. Again, there is no response.

Resolution: Cancel the reservation and have refund of all payments for breach of contract by Gate1 Travel.
Read more

N

Recommends

Gate 1 Discovery 15 Days Moroccan Allure April 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have been travelling with Gate 1 since 2013 and so far this is the best trip i ever had. This time i was travelling with my husband, 4 classmates and we're all asians in our mid 70's . Thanks to Zouhar
our tour manager, the trip was full of memories, fun, smooth and no complaints of arthritis pain from anyone. Zouhar give us an in depth description of beautiful Morocco,it's history, culture, food and friendly hospitable people esp. his tribe ,the Berbers.
One incident i can give credit Zouhair for is his problem solving skill. I was not feeling well on our 11th day in Marakesh so i ask my husband to knock on his hotel room . In an instant he was in our room so i ask him to find me a technician to do a covid test as i can not take chances for inspite of my covid booster shots and previous negative tests we were roaming around without mask and the places we went to were crowded and maskless. Within minutes an ER doctor arrive in our room, did the test(thank God } the result was negative. My temp. is ok, but my blood pressure was too high, so he advise me to just rest and stay hydrated. We are all retired nurses except my husband so we are ready for emergencies,but not when the patient is a love one. I took my blood pressure pill and decided to stay in my room while the group went to Querika valley for the optional tour, and Zouhair did a video of the tour for me. We are now back in the U.S to difft. states and one from Canada but we can not stop talking about this memorable tour. Thanks Zouhair, for a job well done and Gate 1 for making me see the best of the world for less.
Read more

AC

Does Not Recommend

Flights cancelled because Gate 1 did not complete my flight reservation April 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I booked a trip with Gate 1 Travel to Brazil, Argentina and Chile with
flight included on 11/25/2021 for 2 people.
I selected the American Airlines flights which Gate 1 supposedly booked on my behalf. Today I called Gate 1 to confirm that seat arrangements were
made for these flights and while the rep was trying to book seats, she
discovered that the flights were canceled. I was never informed about
this cancellation and was told by the rep that Gate 1 was not informed
by American Airline and offered to put me on a different flight with
Copa airlines, which I refused to accept because I am not comfortable
traveling with this airline due to the bad reviews. I called American
Airlines and was told that these flights were canceled because AA sent
a note to Gate 1 informing them that (this ticket will be canceled if
not ticketed by 04/02) and Gate 1 did not ticket it so AA canceled the
tickets. First of all, I booked this trip 5 months in advance to make
sure that everything will be handled in a timely manner. When I called
back Gate 1 to inform them of what AA told me they said I have to wait
for a manager to call me back to resolve this, because one was not
available at the time and again I was offered another flight on Latam
leaving 1 one day earlier which is an inconvenience as I would have to
take another day off from work and book an extra night at a hotel.
The flights that I was supposed to be on are still available with American Airlines and I would like Gate 1 to make arrangements to
put me back.

This is not a matter of my flight schedule changing. Gate 1 failed to book me on the flight that I requested when I booked my trip. I now do not have any flights for my trip that leaves in 2 weeks. I did not speak to a supervisor or manager at any point. I have been calling for 2 days now to speak to a supervisor or a manager. Every rep that speaks to me when I call the main line informs me that they cannot help me, only a supervisor can assist me and that all they can do is escalate my call to speak to a manger. Just today i was placed on hold for over 2 hours. Please have someone call me, my trip is in 2 weeks. I have used Gate 1 for many of my trips but this experience is very disappointing.
Read more

S

Does Not Recommend

Zero pre-trip service! April 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I was trying to contact them on the phone to get the bank details to pay by electronic transfer, and they kept on giving me an automated response!. I thne tried to call them and was told that I would need to hold for 3 hours on an international call! They also then said if I rang off, I would be called back on the number I was using. Half a day later, i'm still waiting. Awful service! I would rather I was told the truth then a lie! If I could give zero, rather than 1 star, I would.
Read more

NL

Does Not Recommend

OUTRAGEOUS CUSTOMER SERVICE April 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
(1) Sent multiple emails over the course of 2 weeks to Gate 1 to find out how to pay them only to get a form reply each time which was no help whatsoever. Finally got to payment deadline day only to find out that I had to wait 3 hours on the an international call to get through. I think I should just cancel my trip.

(2) Saw your reply. Unfortunately I had to book my trip as we were travelling with relatives who had just booked. Given that no one in customer services actually wants to engage with customers when we use your site to try to communicate, then I shall certainly be taking it up with your reps when we start the actual trip.
Read more

LB

Recommends

I loved my trip to Turkey.Weathet was… March 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I loved my trip to Turkey.Weathet was cold but not their fault.Our guide Dilike was amazing more like outstanding.

MG

Does Not Recommend

26 hours before our return flight we… March 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
26 hours before our return flight we got an email with a change in our schedule, this means a completely different flight, and more than 12 hour later in our end destination. No call, no support, no other options.. they advised us to reach out directly to the airline, of course this worked also not and the airline was not able to help because it was booked via a third party. Lot of extra costs.. Really bad!
Read more

K

Does Not Recommend

Be sure you understand that their… March 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Be sure you understand that their "cancel for any reason" policy is just a future credit (minus $700) and extremely misleading. You'll never get your hard earned money back. Instead they'll make you file a claim with their travel insurance company and it basically covers nothing. Then you get to wait on hold for hours trying to cancel. They take 10 days just to give you the credit and no, you can't switch it to another trip right away. Terrible! When you cancel they penalize you and don't even give you the full value of the credit, even taking the $400 "cancel for any reason" back. Nice. Will be telling everyone I know, who are also avid travelers to avoid them.
Read more

OS

Does Not Recommend

Still waiting from December 2021 to get… March 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Still waiting from December 2021 to get refund wrote to VP Mark Kastner and senior VP Ilene Pipano and no response.
We booked trip from our Parish Priest who has tred numerously to get refund

ns

Recommends

Seeing the people and gorillas in… March 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Seeing the people and gorillas in Uganda was a once in a lifetime experience. The safari through Queen Eliz. park was terrible. The guides did no tracking ahead of time and we saw nothing. Also the same for the chimanzee walk. We went too early in the morning while the chimps were still up in the trees.No tracking for this also. However, the gorilla trek was fantastic. We hiked 2 hours and then found a family of 13. Sat with them for an hour. Our guide, porters, trackers on the gorilla trek were A1 fantastic. The boat cruise was also fantastic. one of the highlights. There was not enough down time on this trip and it became a difficult experience to have 1/2 hour from breakfast (which was always late) to leaving. Forget going back to your bathroom. Also the tea plantation and some of the walks could be eliminated to give us time to relax in the beautiful hotels for one hour. The hotels were lovely and I wouldn't change a thing.The real negative was the $150 covid test that Gate1 provided. We met other companies and their tests were $60. This will make us consider our next trip even though we love gate 1. PS the people of Uganda are wonderful and we wanted to take home all of the children!! We loved their happy smiling faces.
Read more

DG

Recommends

I've been on multiple Gate 1 tours and… March 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I've been on multiple Gate 1 tours and just got home from Mexico city and Oaxaca tour and it was great! They arranged a covid test at hotel and things went really well. Small group of 19, everyone wore a mask and felt safe. Hotels and included meals were all wonderful and better than anticipated. I booked online so when I did need some info I used their call back feature and it worked well. Love Gate1
Read more

c

Recommends

Croatia 13 day tour March 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We traveled to Croatia, Slovenia & Italy thru Gate1 in October 2021. The experience we had every step of the way was fabulous! When our connecting flight was canceled in Munich and we were re-routed thru a different city in Italy, Gate1 sent their driver to pick us up & drive us thru Italy, Slovenia and finally to our final destination in Croatia. They went out of their way the entire 13 day tour & we all had a wonderful time! We will be traveling with them again soon!
Read more

E

Does Not Recommend

I booked a trip to South Africa prior… February 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I booked a trip to South Africa prior to the pandemic. This was done before a vaccine requirement. I have medical exemption and can not get vaccinated. I would like the money back I put into tour which is $2,000. A future travel credit does me no good if I'm not allowed on the tour. The representative who answered was rude and did not even see that I paid for trip insurance. I have taken three trips with Gate One however, this will be my last.
Read more

RV

Recommends

Ecuador & Peru Vacay. February 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We just returned from a 11 day vacay to Ecuador & Peru. It was a great vacation . Outstanding accommodations on the banks of Napa river & sacred valley. The travel guides ( Johanna in Ecuador & Juan in Peru) were knowledgeable & accommodating. They were keen on keeping everybody happy. They paid attention to the smallest details so the guest didn’t have to stress. To date we have done about 6 trips with Gate1 all good.
I think Gate 1 has improved a lot BUT getting to speak to customer service is still painful, it takes hours to get one on the phone.
Read more

Items 91 to 105 of 600 total

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"We wander for distraction, but we travel for fulfilment."
Hilaire Belloc
x