624 Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

624 Reviews
3.9 | Great
Excellent 427 Great 18 Average 18 Disappointing 20 Terrible 141
74% Recommend
Value:
3.9 Guide:
3.9 Activities:
3.9 Lodging:
3.9 Transportation:
3.9 Meals:
3.9

Tour Reviews

AE

Does Not Recommend

I agree with other people on this site… June 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
I agree with other people on this site about the customer service. I have been on one other trip with Gate 1 and it was great and the customer service was great. I booked a tour in 2018 that we still have not been able to take. It has been cancelled by Gate 1 THREE TIMES. So here we are in 2022, was scheduled to fly out this morning and lo and behold Gate 1 called at 1pm yesterday telling me that my trip was yet again cancelled. No empathy, no solutions, no "I'm Sorry", nothing. I have had to scramble 3 times to reschedule airline flights for 5 people. I have spent hours on the phone with airlines(literally hours), and here we are, years later and still have not taken the trip. It's almost comical. As an advisory, NEVER assume that a Gate 1 trip will actually be a go, and don't have any expectations for their customer service. But the actual trip(once you get there) is very good. It's the company itself that sucks. Do not let the response fool you. This is a company that has cancelled on me at the last minute 3 TIMES for the same trip that I booked in 2018!!!!, each time I had already purchased airline tickets and have spent countless hours on the phone trying to rectify the situation. I want to add that the worst part of the situation is that never once have they apologized, acted like they cared at all and have NEVER tried to help me book another trip or work with me in ANY way. I would steer clear of this company and many like it, because no matter if you cancel or they cancel they will do everything in their power to keep your money and make it as difficult as possible to get it back and their customer "no" service is rude and unhelpful. Go to a smaller company or just do everything yourself is my only advice. These people are just too far removed from being human.
Read more

DG

Recommends

Gate 1 Travel to Morocco (May 21-28, 2022) June 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
The POSITIVES - This is our 8th tour with Gate 1 Travel (8 Day Essential Morocco, May 21-28, 2022. Like all our previous tours with Gate 1 Travel, our expectations were met. Our Tour Manager Mohamed, the bus driver Fetah and tour assistant Aziz were all exceptional and helpful. Local tour guides at Fez and Marrakech were very knowledgeble and informative during our optonal tour activities. Hotels in Rabat, Fez, Marrakech and Casablanca were all centrally located enabling you to do further site seeing in your free time after you had arrived in your hotels.

The NEGATIVES:
1) On our 2nd full day at our hotels in Barcelo Fez Medina and Novotel Marrakech respectively, housekeeping forgot to give us fresh supply of towels. We both have to call housekeeping and the desk to remind them that towels were not issued at all.
2) On our last breakfast day at Novotel Marrakech, the staff were not at all wearing mask. The worst is that one of the staff delivering baked items were not using a tong to transfer said baked items from his cart to the tray on the table but using his bare hands to do it. VERY UNSANITARY especially when this pandemic is still around us.
3) We had traveled with Gate 1 for the longest time and my wife and I had always been assigned seats together (an aisle and middle seats or window and middle seats at times) but not separately seating on middle sites on different rows. Talking to our fellow Gate 1 Travel passengers departing from JFK on the same flight (AT-201 Royal Air Maroc), a number of couples traveling together too were all separated and assigned middle seats. Why is it like this, is Royal Air Maroc trying to make money from seat change fees if the husband and wife travelers would like to be seated together. Luckily for us on departure day for JFK, we were able to seat together as the return flight (AT-200) was not fully booked at all. Thanks to the RAM agent at Casablanca who granted our request to be seated together.
Read more

RLS

Does Not Recommend

Cannot get any help with reservation… June 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Cannot get any help with reservation 2074195. It's an easy fix but no one will step up and change my flight reservation. Instead they want me to have a 20 hour travel day when others in my group have a direct 10 hr flight. It's ridiculous how callous and indifferent this company is. Worst customer service in HISTORY. Travelers beware.
Read more

DG

Recommends

13 Day Essential Israel & Jordan (March… June 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
13 Day Essential Israel & Jordan (March 3-15, 2022)
This is our 8th tour with Gate 1 Travel with 3 other family members joining us. The tour was excellent from beginning to end as we were lucky to have fine weather and lesser crowd to deal with as both Israel and Jordan had just opened its borders to visitors after almost 2 years of lock down because of the pandemic. Hats off both to our Israeli Tour Manager Gai Perez and his driver Boaz and to his Jordanian counterpart Tour Manager Ali Abu Daheh and driver Muhammad. Visiting those biblical and ancient places with the historical narrative of both our very informative and friendly Tour Managers are beyond words. Our visit to the Israel-Jordanian Holy Land is a trip of a lifetime for me and my family members.
Dan G
Read more

L

Does Not Recommend

It is impossible to contact you by… June 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
It is impossible to contact you by phone when things are not going according to plan. Though our itinerary clearly shows checked luggage as part of our inbound flight we were forced to pay 191.40 pounds to be able to have our
Luggage on board. There is nobody on the phone we can contact. We spent an hour trying to find the money to have our luggage accepted. It was deeply embarrassing. Emotionally disturbing. Finally the worst things that has ever happened on any of my many trips. Gate1, responsible for both the outbound and inbound flights. Both show checked luggage. Freebird refused to resolve this with Gate1 they just claimed that their system did not show checked luggage. I wonder how long we wait for a response or a refund!
Read more

ym

Recommends

Hi travelers June 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Hi travelers. We did a nice Peruvian 12 days kaleidoscope trip. So happened that at Orlando airport in USA our baggage was delayed and two days were without our comfortable belongings. Our tour manager Mauricio Gomez coped perfectly with the problem and our baggage caught up with us in Cusco after 50 hours delay. Dear Mauricio, will you take our deep gratitude and respect for your care of tourist needs and problem. Mauricio treat tourists as a family, we used to hear from him Coca-Cola and answer Inca-Cola. Gate 1 performed all points of the trip. Definitely we will do other trip with Gate 1.
Yuri and Luda, Russian Canadience
may 2022
Read more

A

Does Not Recommend

“ it’s your fault why you travel at this time.” June 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
@Gate1Travel, We were on our first leg of our tour with reservation 1988715 in @Rapid city and we we departing for Wyoming when the Tour director instructed us to leave our luggages in front of our rooms @Hamptoninn for pick up by the bus driver.
We were informed by the tour director later that our luggages ( 5 tourists ) were missing and said “it’s the hotels fault”.
I am disappointed that the tour director was not on top of the whole tour. I have been with other tours like Globus and Costsaver and I did not see him overlooking the transport of the bags to the bus which other tour directors does. He automatically blamed the hotel.
There is no ownership and responsibility. Besides, he makes fun of past guests as his jokes, not very comfortable.
I will never use @Gate1travel again. Very deficient in security and not proactive, and most of all “it’s your fault why you travel at this time”… you get blamed for not putting up with their BS.
Read more

DG

Recommends

9 Day Classic Ireland (Sept 19-27, 2021 June 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
After 18 months of world wide lockdown, we finally did our 7th tour with Gate 1 (9 Day Classic), Sept.19 to 27, 2021. An excellent trip from beginning to end with our fine Tour Manager Linda 0'Neill and Driver CJ. All our hotels are centrally located giving the travellers to do further siteseeing & dining on suggested local restaurants on your own. One of our best tours so far. From Dan G, NJ-USA
Read more

B

Does Not Recommend

Horrible travel company June 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Horrible travel company. Booked a trip with cancel for any reason insurance. Attempted to cancel 4 mos in advance due to health reasons and took 20 hrs on the phone, completing a application thru an entirely different company, and receiving only 50% of my paid funds. Have attempted to contact customer service by phone and email over 20 times and never received a call back. NEVER AGAIN. There are much better options available
Read more

K

Recommends

I recently completed my 4th trip with… June 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I recently completed my 4th trip with Gate 1 - this time to Guatemala/Tikal. It was an amazing trip as were all my others with Gate 1. Wonderful hotels, top notch tour guide and bus driver and another great group of travelers. I have my 5th trip booked to Thailand in March 2023 and cannot wait!
Read more

DG

Does Not Recommend

One good experience, one lousy experience. May 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
I went on a Gate1 tour last year to the Baltic countries and it was a good experience, however, I have another tour scheduled for next month going to Kenya and Tanzania and I have a very bad feeling about this trip because the customer support has been non-existent. I’ve tried calling and get recorded messages to try tomorrow (and it’s 9am), or hold time is over 2 hours and then get disconnected. They have a Contact Us service on their web site which I have tried to use 4 times and no one replies. (You do get an acknowledgment of your e-mail message but no follow up.) Tanzania has a Yellow Fever vaccine requirement and I have had two doctors tell me not to get this shot because of my age. They filled out the International Vaccine card and signed it, but attached a note saying I should not get the shot. No one at Gate1 can tell me if that’s okay or I will get turned away at the border. So here I sit wondering if I am going to spend $10K on a trip and travel 2 days to get there only to get stuck at the Kenya border. When, by luck, a Gate1 agent called to tell my flight had been cancelled and they needed to schedule a new flight I was able to ask my questions, but got no answers, just an e-mail address for the Tanzania consulate. This is supposed to be the trip of a lifetime, but so far it’s just left me feeling anxious.
Read more

JC

Does Not Recommend

Cancel for any reason BOGUS May 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
After learning that the US Embassy had cautioned against Peru visitors due to the political unrest/protesters we canceled well in advance of the 72 hours necessary over a week ago we are still waiting the confirmation of our refund/credit very difficult to get someone on the phone and get any concrete answers very disappointed with gate one the cancel for any reason insurance
Read more

MM

Does Not Recommend

The fact the Eagles Nest symbolizes Evil May 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
The fact the Eagles Nest symbolizes what EVIL Hitler did and what it represents. People do NOT go to the Eagles Nest thinking/knowing the profit goes to charity. But wanting to admire where Hitler lived and did. That’s what Eagles Nest represent. Austrians are still to this day shame that Hitler was born there, as Germans are still in denial about what the Nazis did and how so many people turned their backs on NOT only the Jews, but Educators, Homosexuals, Artist, and so many more.

With so much Racist Hate and Violence now days and with ALL that’s going on in America. I think you need to be more aware how it looks. In all my years of Travel, I’ve never met anybody wanting to see the Eagles Nest but wanted to see AUSCHWITZ- BIRKENAU. I’m not into politics but seems like when Madison Cawthorn posted a pic about seeing the Eagles Nest and being PROUD of The FUHRER, it shows how only NAZI Sympathizers, WHITE Supremist, and RACIST people would want to see the Eagles Nest.

I’ve been on several tours with Gate 1 (also with many other Major Tour Companies) and most of the people are the tours were White (80%) with Asians (15%) Hispanics (3%) Blacks (1-3%) Ingenious Americans (LESS than 1%). Knowing what kind of people are on these tours makes me FEEL VERY UNCOMFORTABLE thinking that you are ONLY catering to White People and their WANTS.

I’m Asian. My Adopted Parents were White, White Siblings, White Community, ALL White Schools except ME within 30 Miles. Having the (White) Education also have taught me what is NOT in the Text Books and HOW White People think. And with you guys having the Eagles Nest as part of your tours tells who you want to please and what kind of people will be going on your tours now.
Read more

MM

Recommends

Eagles Nest May 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
Hello, I've booked several packages from Gate 1 and LOVED it and was looking into booking another tour. UNFORTUNATELY, I was looking into several tours and came upon 11 Day Germany, Switzerland & Austria and saw that you have the EAGLE'S NEST Tour from Salzburg Austria..... I think you REALLY need to rethink about this. In my opinion, people who wants to see Eagles Nest are NAZI Sympathizers, WHITE Supremist, and Racist.

I've Studied EVERYTING about WWII and Poland was NEVER on my list of countries to see but I ONLY went to Poland/Krakow, to see AUSCHWITZ- BIRKENAU. If NAZI Sympathizers, WHITE Supremist, and Racist people wants to see the Eagles Nest, they should do it on their own, not have a Tour Company make it easier to see this despicable place and what it represent.

People ONLY want to see EAGLES NEST cause they ADMIRE HITLER. I would NOT want to be on a tour where you have the Eagles Nest as part of your TOURS, wondering if people on these tours are NAZI Sympathizers, WHITE Supremist, or Racist. PLEASE Take this DESPICABLE place the Eagles Nest off your tours. I see the its part of SEVERAL TOURS which include Salzberg.. Please let me know when its done so I can feel better about booking with Gate 1 AGAIN. I'm reposting this cause I still see it as part of several tours you have. ??????? Thank You... Maleesa
Read more

Dp

Does Not Recommend

Left @the...Gate 1 Travel May 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Gate 1 Travel. Leaving passengers stranded in Lisbon Portugal with no transfer back to airport that our booking person Lori Johansson didn't include when already on our reservation request...so now we are left you figure it out. GATE 1 TRAVEL GROUP @Gate 1 Travel doesn't offer any thing or her than a hollow apology. The below hollow apology is too little too late. If you REALLY were sorry you would simply fix it!
Read more

Items 76 to 90 of 600 total

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"We wander for distraction, but we travel for fulfilment."
Hilaire Belloc
x