727 Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

727 Reviews
3.7 | Great
Excellent 446 Great 25 Average 30 Disappointing 28 Terrible 198
69% Recommend
Value:
3.7 Guide:
3.7 Activities:
3.7 Lodging:
3.7 Transportation:
3.7 Meals:
3.7

Tour Reviews

AD

Recommends

I’ve taken many trips over the years… March 2023

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I’ve taken many trips over the years with Gate 1 prior to Covid. All were exquisitely memorable and wonderful experiences! However I booked one trip where they paid for my travel because it was included. I learned from that one experience to always book my own travel. Fortunately I chose to book different return flights from China. My travel partner was stuck 3 days in the airport while I had the best experiences getting to my destination even though my flight cancelled due to a flat tire, the airline placed us in two hotels with meals and arrived in less than two days. I also learned never book travel insurance through Gate1 the hard way. Note that even if you use outside insurance they give you a hard time providing documentation. Post Covid our flights cancelled to Fiji due to a cyclone. Our travel insurance company paid us in full after 30 days. Do your homework. Protect yourself while traveling.
Read more

cJ

Does Not Recommend

TRAVELING WITH GATE1 IS NOT FOR THE… March 2023

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
We planned two trips with Gate1, but never left our house neither time. It is a chaotic experience.

Our first mishap was a trip planned to Portugal with a non-stop flight from Newark, New Jersey to Portugal. The airlines pulled the plug on the direct flight and Gate1 found another flight with stopover in Germany before traveling on to Portugal. I avoid any stops when traveling overseas. It increases the chance of being stuck in a country where you change planes, so I refused the offer of a trip around the world before reaching Portugal. Gate1 did not find another direct flight for me and told me my money was NON-REFUNDABLE. To avoid losing my money I booked a trip to Ecuador instead.

Gate1 charged me an additional $100 to book the trip to Ecuador because it was to a different destination. After booking to Ecuador, 2 days before departure, an earthquake shook Ecuador. Gate1 did not send out any information to let us know what the status of the trip was, total silence on their part. The earthquake occurred on a Saturday and the departure date is on a Monday.

We were leaving our house on Sunday to fly to Miami a day before our flight to Ecuador. I received no communications from them on what the status of the trip was in light of the earthquake. W didn't now whether to proceed or stay home.

We called Gate1and found lines busy multiple times with high call volume. In the absence of any communication from Gate1 we cancelled our flights to Miami. We paid for airfare from North Carolina and booked a hotel in Miami.

We lost money on the hotel reservation and had to pay for the stay anyway. I finally got Gate1 on the phone Sunday noon only to find out that the trip was still on as far as they were concerned. They could/should have communicated that to us without our having to call them to find out. We had cancelled the flight to Miami and the hotel by now. My husband and I discussed the safety concerns and decided to cancel.

Gate 1 suggested I rebook our flight to Miami on the same day of travel. There was no way we could make it to Charlotte, NC. (2.5-hour drive from our house) and get to the airport in time to catch the last flight to Miami. Gate1 then tried to convince me to book a flight from Asheville to Miami with a 2.5-hour layover in Atlanta arriving in Miami at 1 AM in the morning. I do not have any faith in making connecting flights on time with airlines anymore. A million things can go wrong and prevent a connection. Not to mention that the airfare would have cost us over $1,200.00 to book at the last minute. We had already spent $897.00 for airfare.

The agent then told me if I could find and book a flight by 5:30 she would hold our trip. I called back at 5:07 pm and Gate1 was closed. I decided the situation could not be salvaged and cancelled the trip. You may get your money back if Gate1 cancels the trip. You get nothing if you cancel the trip close to the departure date.

Gate1 told me that my money for the trip is non-refundable because I cancelled the trip. Ok. I get that. However, Gate1 was very lax in communicating with customers in an emergency where a natural disaster has occurred in a country, they planned to take customers to. Had they sent out an email regarding the status of the trip, we could have made a more informed decision, but we were left in the dark to speculate the worst and made our decision based on lack of information from Gate1

After Gate1’s failure to communicate promptly about the situation in Ecuador, they put all the responsibility and stress on me to rectify the problem. They waited until the last minute to say whether the trip was a go and left us hanging on wondering what was happening, and what to do.

I am done with Gate1. I will never use their service or recommend them to anyone. If things go well, you can probably have a good experience, but when things go wrong, their systems are designed to protect them, not you. They need to do a better job of communicating with customers at every juncture of the trip, especially when natural disasters occur in the area where they will be traveling to. Gate1 told me they had people on the ground in Ecuador who were keeping them informed of the situation. It would be nice if Gate1 can do the same for their customers
Read more

LG

Does Not Recommend

Very poor customer service of 4 trips… March 2023

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Very poor customer service of 4 trips with Gate 1, two resulted in canceled return flights, stranded in Ecuador and again in africa. While travel agencies have no control over airline cancelations, they should at least help to get another flight. Both times i was stranded, no one from Gate 1 would assist. I had to find my own last minute flight home, pay for transportation to airport, etc. All my original flights were booked thru and by Gate 1. They have ZERO customer service and do not care if you cannot get home. Burned twice by Gate 1.
Read more

JM

Does Not Recommend

change to 5 star review March 2023

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Change this to 5 star. Booked a trip 6 months in advance. Three months later they changed our flights and added $2,296. They did the right thing and gave us our deposit back. They really did try. Impressed after all.
Read more

S

Recommends

Gate 1 Experience was Superior! March 2023

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just now finishing a Gate 1 tour with a group of 24. They have been great all along the way from the booking agent to the travel director. Our Bulgarian guide (Violeta) was the best. She was both funny and knowledgeable. She had an uncanny ability to herd us along without being pushy. The hotels we had were a step up from other tour companies I’ve used. And the price was very affordable. All my travelers were very happy, as well.
Read more

cc

Recommends

Just returned from the 10 trip to… March 2023

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just returned from the 10 trip to Spain. It was amazing! Carmen and Javier were at the top of their game as well as the local guides who provided excellent knowledge of the various, towns, churches, castles, etc. Could not have asked for a better time with our fist trip with Gate1.
Read more

F

Does Not Recommend

I have taken several trips with them in… March 2023

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I have taken several trips with them in the past but they are awful now. Have tried several times to use a credit from a cancellation during Covid but their customer service managers put you on never-ending hold and then either book the wrong flights or come back to tell you that they can’t do it. Originally told I could book by December 31, 2023 in order to use credit and now told I have to finish vacation by then. They are highly unreliable and terrible to use now.
Read more

EH

Does Not Recommend

Dramatisch slecht March 2023

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Dramatisch slecht! Niet bereikbaar (zowel telefonisch en via de mail) en de verzekeraar waarmee ze werken (Europe Assistance) ook niet. Verzekeraar lijkt niet te bestaan en de kosten die ik terug zou moeten krijgen heb ik nooit gekregen. Echt schandalig!
Read more

MM

Does Not Recommend

My 18th trip with gate one. March 2023

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
My 18th trip with gate one.
Flew Alaska Portland to San Francisco ( booked this 90 min flight on my own) had 5 hours between connection but flight landed 10 minutes before Fiji departure… which I missed. Gate one would not do one single thing, not even token phone call to Fiji air, to ask can you honor this paid airfare pkg for a new flight.( at least try to help, just ask airline, they bought the ticket, not me) I then learn Fiji air cancelled my return flight… no help from gate one at all.I was trying to get there, as my travel buddy was alone, but now would have no return flight!!
So lesson learned, Gate one is a packager, they are not a travel agent meaning zero help to you. Loyalty to them, means zero.
Read more

AM

Recommends

Minimal issues and great prices! February 2023

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I've taken one group tour and five independent trips thru Gate 1. Never had a problem. But i've heard part of my luck has to do with getting the name of the agent and,get their extension - so you're always dealing with the same person.And fyi - can't beat their prices!
Read more

JK

Does Not Recommend

GATE 1 Cancel for ANY reason policy..... Warning February 2023

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
We bought a river cruise and took the Travel Insurance through Gate 1 Travel. Then she asked if we wanted the Cancel For Any Reason extra policy and we added that as well. Now we need to cancel and find out it is going to cost thousands of dollars and a partial Future Cruise Credit, not a refund. Be careful if you book with GATE 1 Travel!
Read more

MR

Does Not Recommend

DISHONEST AND NOT RELIABLE February 2023

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
They used to be a great company, not any more. Had a trip planned for 2/26/23. One 2/22/23, they called and cancelled the trip! No offer to help with another trip, no assistance and was told I would be refunded. I feel like they canceled the trip because they weren't making money on it. This is not the first time it's happened. They did this to me last year. There is no customer service and I'm still waiting for a manager to call me. My money should have been refunded IMMEDIATELY. I called my bank, only $400 is in there. Now I can't even book another trip since my money is not back. PLEASE...Use trafalgar, GO Ahead tours or GA Adventures.
Read more

sr

Does Not Recommend

Deceiving Prices . Watch out for errors February 2023

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Deceiving Prices offered . They do not take responsability of errors , even after receiving confirmation of booking . Worst customer service even if you are a long time customer. Be careful when you book with Gate 1 . Book your tour with trust worthy company .
Read more

EB

Does Not Recommend

No dice February 2023

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
No dice!
Plan for a year this trip for our honeymoon after we got married. And big part of if was ruined by gate1. 3 weeks before our departed date they change our flights, we paid extra to have direct flight to our destination. Now we had terrible layovers in LAX, and they cut day short by one day so we missed the activities of the last day. Our guide was very nice and kind and we even had a corporate member or gate1 on our trip but. They told us to call the customer support number. And we called three times each time being told we had to pay extra for any changes, but that we had to accept the changes they had done without our approval. Very upset and don’t see us doing a trip again with them. Ended up going online and doing my own tickets. Back home. All I can say is they stressed my out and really frustrated me on my honeymoon, did not need this. The tour guide are very nice but the customer support, and and reservations. Leave a lot to be desired.
Read more

AA

Does Not Recommend

Gate1 is very short-sighted and lost a customer February 2023

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I was formerly a big fan of Gate1 travel and always recommended them to friends and family. I have gone on 3 trips with them and was looking forward to many more. I was booked to go to India on February 22 and was very excited about the trip. I had paid in full but did not take any trip insurance. At the time I made my final payment, there were no health issues and I was ready to go. Unfortunately, on January 20, 2023, my previously healthy brother was diagnosed with melanoma and I had to cancel the trip as I am his primary caregiver. I did not want any money back - but rather was hoping I could just apply the amount I had paid to a future trip. Unfortunately, Gate1 was completely inflexible and told me I qualified for a refund of only 50%. I recognize that all of this could have been avoided had I taken out the insurance. But I honestly felt that the company could have bent the rules and helped me out, but that is not the case. Fortunately, there are lots of other travel companies and I will be taking my travel dollars and spending them elsewhere. In the short run, Gate1 may have saved less than $2,000 by not giving me a full refund or applying the funds to a future trip but they will lose at least $50,000 in potential revenue. I will note that the person I spoke with on the phone was very sympathetic, but ultimately it made no difference. I am very disappointed in what I previously thought was a great company. Instead of singing their praises, I will make sure to tell people NOT to use them.
Read more

Items 76 to 90 of 703 total

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Wonder is the beginning of wisdom."
Socrates
x