616 Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

616 Reviews
3.9 | Great
Excellent 423 Great 18 Average 17 Disappointing 19 Terrible 139
74% Recommend
Value:
3.9 Guide:
3.9 Activities:
3.9 Lodging:
3.9 Transportation:
3.9 Meals:
3.9

Tour Reviews

DF

Does Not Recommend

Update Your Covid Vaccination Policy August 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I have taken 4 Gate 1 tours in the past - Turkey, India/Nepal, Morocco and Greece. I recently tried to book a walking tour in the Amalfi Coast and Sicily with a friend. Neither of us have been covid vaccinated. After booking the entire trip I asked about covid testing and learned no one can travel with Gate 1 who is not fully vaccinated, including boosters,regardless of the destination, despite most countries, including Italy, who do not require the vaccine or testing. That's absurd, especially since the CDC recently stated the vaccine does not protect you against the infection, which so many people can attest to. Gate 1 needs to practice the policies of the country where their customers are traveling to. In the meantime, I'll be booking with Exoticca since I had a great experience with this company last September when I traveled to Peru with another unvaccinated friend. Gate 1 needs to update their covid policies or they will continue to lose business
Read more

tr

Does Not Recommend

No Help! August 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I have taken several trips with Gate 1 in the past and have always been satisfied with its service. In March 2020 my trip to Turkey was cancelled by Gate 1 due to the Covid pandemic. I opted to accept a credit rather than a refund. I subsequently booked another Gate 1 trip to Turkey in March 2022, reservation 1852340 applies for departure in Oct 2022. This August discovered that while my flight reservations were in my Gate 1 account, two flights were not in the British Airways system. Following up with Gate 1, I was advised my flights were cancelled and to wait for offered alternate flights from BA. When no alternate flights were offered, I again called Gate 1 for assistance. Gate 1 offered to rebook my flights at an additional cost of approx $200. I declined and requested they rebook without a price increase to me. They were unable to find an acceptable flight. I then followed up with BA to ask why alternate flights were not offered and was told Gate 1 never purchased my airline tickets for a reservation I made almost five months earlier. Gate 1 should absorb the cost increase due to their delay. Finally, a two hour wait for a customer service return call is just unacceptable.
Read more

D

Does Not Recommend

Very Frustrating finally spoke with… August 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Very Frustrating finally spoke with Gate 1 Supervisor and zero solution as of yet. Trip to India and Nepal with all the bells and whistles! Can’t use the cancel for any reason because the flight will be forfeited and it was booked through Gate 1. I’m willing to rebook and pay the fees to do so. Was told I must use the bought insurance in order receive any money back and will lose deposit of at least $600.00 either way. I’m 8 weeks from departure and that seems to not matter. Not willing to work with me in any way shape or form. Contact insurance period. The lack of professionalism, urgency, and genuine good will was unbelievable. I thought Gate 1 was First class all the way how wrong I was! When I asked the Supervisor about India and Nepal her response was don’t ever want to go there. WOW this is who you have supervising? Reservations#. 2170198
Called again today they have a 2 hour and 22 minute hold time and I will see if I’m called back! Received call back 3 1/2 hours later asked to speak to a Supervisor was told they will call back today or tomorrow. Zero sense of urgency zero resolution. When I booked our trip zero hold time and happy to assist. Issues are not resolved at this point, I am completely blown away! Not at all what I have heard this Company is all about!!! Update Today & Tomorrow has passed no return phone call waited Friday & all day Saturday 8/6/2022 still no response or resolution….
Read more

C

Recommends

My wife and I have traveled on several… July 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My wife and I have traveled on several Gate1 tours throughout the years. Gate1 has provided accurate descriptions of each tour. Their guides have been extremely knowledgeable and helpful at all times. We just returned from Moracco and had the best time. Are flights always on time? Do tours sometimes have minor deviations? Does stuff happen? Of course. But the experiences and memories have been incredible and we are looking forward to our trip to Italy in a few weeks.
Read more

L

Does Not Recommend

Gate 1 had worse customer service team… July 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Gate 1 had worse customer service team I ever experienced!!
Hired incompetent people, rude, can not do their job, and can not reach manager after numerous emails and phone calls. Threatening me to pay additional charges after I paid all balance before the due day due to "airline schedule change", otherwise will cancel my trip. I booked whole package, airline changed schedule after confirmation is not my problem, but gate 1 service people told me "schedule change, you have to pay the difference". The worst part is: can not reach people in charge, all answers were "we left massage for manager to call back". I was carrying my phone 24/7 , no manager called back instead another incompetent person called back threatening me to cancer my trip!!
Update: Thanks for gate 1's reply. A manager called back ( 9 days later after several requests) and removed the additional charge post in my account after I paid all balance. It was a very stressful experience! I do agree gate 1 has great service with tours and tour managers, that's why I booked 5 trips in one year, but not customer service.
Read more

CJ

Does Not Recommend

We booked out travel for alaska last… July 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
We booked our travel for Alaska last year, when I booked the trip the agent I booked it with did not say a word that you have to be vaccinated to go. If they had we would not have booked it at all. We postponed our trip because of all the crap with masks and vaccination's hoping that it would change, but still need to be vaccinated to go with their company. When yet proven the vaccine is not working since even fully vaccinated people are still getting sick. This is still a free country we live in and it should not be mandatory that we need to get vaccinated. When I call and talked to them about it they were the most rude people ever. We should be able to get our deposit back since it was their agent that did not tell the truth about things, but yet we are being penalized for wanting to cancel out trip. I would not at all recommend traveling with this company.
Read more

KB

Does Not Recommend

Do NOT book with Gate 1!!! July 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Gate 1 is the absolute and literal worst.
I had to cancel my trip because JetBlue cancelled our flight and at first the ONLY resolutions were to pay $500 per person for a new flight or to receive credit. Neither of those options worked for me.
After countless calls and complaints Gate 1 FINALLY got a "manager" to reach out to me. After explaining reasoning behind the $500 per person, I just told her I wanted a refund which she granted and said the check would be sent out.
Fast forward two weeks later I receive a check and it's HALF the amount I paid. What type of scam operation is Gate 1 running here? The communication is beyond awful and it takes having to reach out to third party platforms like this in order to get a real solution. Once they have your money they want nothing to do with you. Any thought I had about giving them another chance has completely gone out the window. Please rethink before booking anything with them!! Stop the antics Gate 1 and give me MY money back!!
Read more

AN

Recommends

National parks Tour July 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
We just finish our tour of the National Parks with Gate one. The tour itself was good, the hotel in Yellowstone (Grant Inn) was very poor. We knew there was no Wi-Fi but didn’t know they were out of most of their food, only one beer available. The room was rustic, they didn’t clean the room or give us towels the second day. Our phone didn’t work which I think is a major problem if someone got sick you couldn’t contact the desk or get a wake up call. We had only one tissue in the tissue box and asked for more and it never came nor did the towel or repair for phone. Our tour director Bobby was good but favored people on the tour. We never got on the right side of the bus till the last day when there was nothing to see. But he allowed 3 couples to have single seats throughout the trip on the right side of the bus. We had to ask people for pictures since nothing was in the left side. I paid the same amount that everyone else did and I feel we should have been able to be on the right side of the bus at some time. We never got one good picture while the three couples who had single seats did. We have been on other Gate One trips and this has never happened before. Bobby was a great tour director but should have been aware of the other people on the bus.
Read more

SP

Does Not Recommend

Still waiting for refund for cancelled trip July 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Unfortunately, developed medical condition a few weeks prior to tour with friends. Still waiting for Vicki an alleged customer relations person to respond to my calls and emails about the refund. Guess processing insurance claims for those who are unable to travel is not something they pay attention to. Taints their credibility.
Read more

CB

Recommends

We will never buy a package with Gate 1… July 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Update: Gate 1 has now refunded most of our money. They are remarkably bad at communication, but have treated us fairly.

LE

Recommends

Jordan great trip great guide great… July 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
Jordan great trip great guide great assistance throughout from pick up to departure they even had their agent meet me at airport before departure and prior had taken care of covid test as i stayed a few days past trip was not expecting i am more than satisfied
Read more

JW

Recommends

Booked via phone (and had a super experience) July 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My parents have been on previous Gate 1 trips and really enjoyed their experience — so, for their Christmas present this year, my husband and I will be taking them on a Christmas markets tour of Budapest, Ljubljana, and Vienna. I was going to book it online as the online process looks pretty straightforward, but my father INSISTED that I call and book with Javier because he was so impressed with him. And he was right: Javier definitely is an expert! He made the booking process exceptionally easy and clear and answered our dozen+ questions with confidence. Excited about our trip!!
Read more

Y

Does Not Recommend

Worst customer service July 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Worst customer service. I had booked a trip to Greece. I called them about my plane itinerary. No answer after being on hold for hours together. I emailed them, but no response whatsoever.

I will never ever book anything with these people. Stay away from 'GATE1 TRAVEL". I 100% agree with majority negative reviews on this website.

Please do yourself a favor and save yourself from tremendous future headache by not using this lousy travel company.
Read more

A

Does Not Recommend

Grand theft under their watch July 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
In reference to my previous review regarding the grand theft that happened under their watch because of their failure to keep our property safe, they have further failed to completely own responsibility to this incident.
I have been following up with the Rapid city police regarding the crime and the individual responsible has been apprehended and some of the properties recovered but I have not heard if Gate1travel is filing a complaint to make this individual pay for his crime. Totally unacceptable.
Read more

CG

Recommends

Exceptional Customer Service July 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I had a great experience with customer service. Initially booked escorted trip to Ireland. Two other family members wanted to go on trip as well on different dates. So I would have to rebook my tickets to coordinate with other family’s dates. The wait times for customer service can be long, but they always call back. At first I had trouble getting the answers I needed. I didn’t want to cancel trip which involved steep fees. My brother-in-law called, got us on a 3 way call to Ivanna. Ivanna was very thorough and carefully researched the matter. She double-checked everything and made sure everything was changed properly and in order. Plus, it was very late in the day, and she worked until it was complete. She wouldn’t end the call until she was sure of everything. I am most appreciative to her and she was so respectful. Thank you. I only hope the actual trip goes as well.
Read more

Items 46 to 60 of 592 total

Travel wisely

COVID-19 is still affecting travel around the world but more countries continue to reopen and adjust travel restrictions and requirements. We recommend reviewing the full list of Covid-19 travel resources - all updated regularly given the fast-changing environment.

And check out everything you need to know about how vaccines are affecting travel, including which countries are open to fully vaccinated travelers.

Ready to travel? 

Take a look at our interactive travel restrictions map or see the countries reopening for tourism list to find your next destination.

Consider booking a Custom or Private Trip for the peace of mind that comes from working directly with a travel expert. They can plan ahead for safety and assist you during the trip if any complications develop, plus give you more freedom and flexibility with your itinerary.

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Two roads diverged in a wood and I - I took the one less traveled by."
Robert Frost
x