616 Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

616 Reviews
3.9 | Great
Excellent 423 Great 18 Average 17 Disappointing 19 Terrible 139
74% Recommend
Value:
3.9 Guide:
3.9 Activities:
3.9 Lodging:
3.9 Transportation:
3.9 Meals:
3.9

Tour Reviews

LC

Does Not Recommend

I highly suggest that before booking a… October 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I highly suggest that before booking a trip with this company, think again! I was fully aware that traveling with covid would be a risk; however, did not expect the unprofessional negligence that occurred. Unfortunately, I returned from my trip with a bad case of covid which has caused my health to decline and have been unable to work. The tour guide inquired on a few occasions as to "why I was wearing a mask because covid is no longer a threat!" Other people on the tour also came down with the virus; however, it was brought to my attention from another person in the group, a health professional, that the tour guide was sick. I immediately sent him an email to inform him I was sick as I felt it my responsibility. He never had the courtesy to inquire how I was doing, which to me speaks volumes. I reported this to the company who took no responsibility and twisted my words regarding the situation and offered no retribution. Not believing a customer is not acceptable! The over all experience was dreadful from the moment I paid for the trip as I couldn't sign into their website, waited several days each time I needed assistance for a call back and when I got to the airport for my trip, it took a few hours to sort out my reservation and government documents as my information had not been properly transferred.
Read more

PE

Does Not Recommend

Waste of what used to be a good company October 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
We've been on several Gate One tours, but after this fiasco with flights and hotel stays in Equador we will not be using them again. Flight got permanently canceled on the return making us lose a whole day of the contracted 4 night trip. Gate One did zero.... nothing.... to resolve the issue. They were kind enough to offer another flight at an additional $3600. Sorry the company is hurting that bad were they can't fix the problem. We wl not be using Gate One again and I suggest you save yourself the headache.
Read more

DS

Recommends

We just returned from a 12 day Italy… October 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
We just returned from a 12 day Italy tour .We honestly felt that Gate 1 did a good job..we enjoyed our tour Guide Andrea who made it so much fun..
The hotels were adequate, in some good locations and the food was plentiful.
It was generally a well done tour
Read more

J

Does Not Recommend

Beware of Gate 1 NOT fulfilling their obligations October 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I bought a pre-paid $35 Budapest airport pick up and transport to hotel. My flight was delayed. I called the Gate 1 emergency line (call was routed to India) to inform them that my flight arrival is delayed to 11:30 PM, and I was assured that I will be picked up at Budapest by a driver holding a Gate 1 sign. To make sure that they got my message, I called the emergency number again and I was again assured of the airport pick up. When I arrive Budapest airport with my luggage at 11:30 PM , it was heavily raining and the Gate 1 driver was NOT there to pick me up. There was no available taxi in the airport that night. I called the Gate 1 emergency phone line (again routed to India) and I was told their local vendor office is closed and I should wait till the sunrise for available taxi. Gate 1 emergency call agent showed NO sympathy at all. After 1.5 hour, I was able to hitch a ride with a couple who has private car pick up for 25 euros. When I return from my trip, I filed a complain to Gate 1 travel. After their investigation, customer relation officer Nikki Hardon emailed me saying there was a misunderstanding on Gate 1 agent’s part that they sent a driver to pick up my travel companion instead of me. They apologize and said they will only give me $25 coupon ( with one year expiration date) and I have to split that $25 coupon with my travel companion who was picked up already by the GATE 1 driver at the airport 6 hours before my arrival. Can you imagine that I pre-paid $35 for the airport pick up but I was left alone in the airport in heavy rain, and yet I only receive a $25 coupon with one year expiration date? I lost my pre-paid $35 airport pick up. The $25 coupon only offset the 25 euro I paid the driver of the hitch ride I took at the airport. Gate 1 gave me a lot of stress and yet they don’t care about me after they took my money. When i call the Gate 1 phone line to complain, I was told to send the complain via email so they won’t have to deal with me in person. Beware of Gate 1 travel. They only post good reviews on their website. Bad reviews like this will never be shown on Gate 1 website.
Read more

RG

Does Not Recommend

This company is an absolute joke to… October 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
This company is an absolute joke to deal with. My mother and brother had a reservation for a trip to Africa and spent over $8,000 for the trip. About 3 weeks before, my 88 year-old mother. who I was going with had to have open-heart surgery and is taking time to heal. We called 16 days before the trip to change the name to mine (the bother/other son), since all they would do is offer us a 10% credit, this guy Jose seemed genuinely concerned and said that as long as we make the change by the end of the following dat, we could change the name for $50 fee. Well, today we called, my brother spoke to that same agent the told him about the name change policy that he had made a mistake and could not and would NOT change the name. He wouldn't let us speak to a supervisor (because clearly, he was new and didn't want to get in trouble) and he had to intention of lifting a finger of doing ANYTHING to help us. We called back and calmly spoke to another guy; who also had no intention of helping us and hung up in our face.

A
THIS COMPANY IS DISHONEST and it shouldn't be a surprise that we will never even consider or recommend anyone use.
Read more

RO

Recommends

A changed in their itinerary due to… October 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
A changed in their itinerary due to aiport closure made us traveled by bus for over 9 hours.

JG

Does Not Recommend

Beware! Gate 1 left me alone in Budapest airport without a pre-paid scheduled pick up due to their phone agent mistake. No sympathy at all to me! October 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I bought a 9 day Central Europe tour with Gate 1 travel last month. They sold me plane tickets via Amsterdam to Budapest despite my warning to them that Amsterdam airport is on strike. But they assured me that the strike is over. I pre-paid Gate 1 travel for Budapest airport pick up and transfer to the hotel. My traveling companion pre-paid his share too. Our connecting flight from Amsterdam to Budapest was canceled. My traveling friend got routed via Finn Air to Helsinki to Budapest, while I was booked to the last flight of the day via KLM from Amsterdam to Budapest. I immediately informed Gate 1 emergency phone twice to make sure that my friend and I were both picked up at Budapest airport in separate times. I was assured 2 times in 2 separate emergency phone calls of both pick ups for my traveling companion and myself. Guess what? Gate 1 picked up my friend at Budapest airport and brought him to the hotel. While Gate 1 forgot to pick me up at the airport at 11:30 PM. I fell in line that night for taxi in heavy rain but there were NO available taxi at that hour of the night in heavy rain. While being soaked in rain, I called Gate 1 travel to ask for the airport pick up. The Gate 1 agent on the phone ( phone call was routed to India) showed no sympathy at all and told me their local vendor office is closed and he could not do anything and I have to wait till the sunrise for taxi. Luckily, after one and a half hour, I was able to beg a couple whom I befriended on the plane for their private car pick up to bring me to my hotel for 25 euros. When I file a complain to Gate 1 travel after the tour is over, I was told by customer relation officer Nikki Hardon that the tour director had already reimbursed me the 25 euro for my hitch ride with strangers from Budapest airport to the hotel, and they can only give me $25 credit because they will give the other $25 credit to my unrelated travel companion who has no issues with Gate 1 airport pick up. This is very unfair. Why do they have to split my due credit between me and my unrelated traveling companion who has no airport pick up issue? Gate 1 emergency phone agents and their customer relation officer don’t pay attention to details. They made a big mess in my travel not only once but twice during this trip. They made mistakes after mistakes. They are so insensitive. Since Gate 1 became a big company, they have lost their personal touch to clients. Customer relations Nikki Handros in her email to me also mentioned since I was re-imbursed with the 25 euros already by the tour director for my hitch ride to the hotel, there will be NO further credit to be issued to me. They forgot the stress they have caused me and the amount of charges my cell phone company charged me for calling long distance phone calls to Gate 1 emergency phone several times to arrange the airport pick ups and to discuss with them to send a airport pick up that night because there were no available taxi that night at the airport. Beware NOT to choose Gate 1 travel for your next trip. Gate 1 has performed very poorly with time. They cannot catch up with their increasing number of clients. They make mistakes after mistakes! BEWARE!
Read more

RK

Does Not Recommend

Gate one did not plan for bad weather… September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Gate one did not plan for bad weather even after knowing three days in advance. We were stuck in an old hotel - worst ever - in Hofn. Gate one was protecting their profit at rye expense of their customers. Would not travel with them again
Read more

SJ

Recommends

An Excellent First Outing with Gate 1! September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I am surprised to find so many negative reviews here for this company, as we recently went on our first Gate 1 trip and we were the only ones who weren't repeat customers on the trip (and many of them had been on more than 5 Gate 1 tours).

Everything exceeded our expectations. Our travel arrangements proceeded flawlessly; we were met at the airport by a driver for our transfer as we arrived a day ahead of the other guests. Our hotels were all very nice, guest-focused, well located and pleasant (they were a bit nondescript... we felt like we could be in Riga or Houston, but that is a small, very personal issue). Our tour manager was EXCELLENT, well organized, friendly, knowledgeable, helpful, concerned, cheerful, attentive and reliable. Our city guides were wonderful, our excursions were fun and interesting and the food was pretty good (I would have liked more choices on the group meals, but again, that was a small issue). I will be recommending this company to anyone seeking such a service, and I'm sure this was not our last Gate 1 experience.
Read more

NNM

Recommends

Our Italy tour of September 6 to 17 September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our Italy tour of September 6 to 17, 2022 was superb due to our awesome travel director, Myriam!!
She has a great sense of humor and inclusivity. No one felt left out nor ignored.
Our tourmates bonded well and thus, everyone had a sweet time learning about each other.
Thank you, Myriam.

Noemi and Dan
Read more

MG

Does Not Recommend

I'm taking the 10 Day Classic Portugal… September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I'm taking the 10 Day Classic Portugal trip in October. After 2 phone calls and an email, I can't get a response to when an optional trip is scheduled for. This has happened before. When you sign up for a trip, everything is great. They will tell you what you want to hear. Afterward when you need more information, no one can give you answers. They defer to the tour guide in that country. They hire the tour guide or company. They should know who they are hiring.
Read more

BB

Recommends

Riverboat Cruise, Yes! Flight reservations, No. September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We took a riverboat cruise on the Monarch Empress in July 2022. We traveled from Budapest to Prague on the Danube river. The crew on the boat was superb, we had an incredible time. Every day we were entertained, provided exceptional service, and was treated like royalty. There is a concern about booking flights with Gate1, 2 members of our party booked with Gate1, and one short flight was canceled, Gate1 then canceled all of their flights, just 2 days before beginning their trip. I heard this happened to other passengers, my advice is not to book air travel with Gate 1 but I do highly recommend the riverboat cruise.
Read more

CR

Does Not Recommend

I traveled with Gate 1 before but they… September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I traveled with Gate 1 before but they have become horrible. DO NOT MAKE RESERVATION WITH THEM, THEY ARE SCAM. I have made reservation for Colombia, the website says they confirm my reservation within 3-4 business days. It it 11 business days (almost two weeks) and I call them everyday and no good answer. I need to make my flight arrangements as flight rates are going up but they do not confirm my trip. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. I have bought insurance and they will not refund my insurance when I really want to go on this trip and it is their fault for not giving me a confirmation. EXTREMELY FRUSTRATED! They should be shutdown.
Read more

ML

Does Not Recommend

Do not use, September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Just terrible.... not sure what happened to them. I've used them over a dozen times and the last couple of years it seems they have just completely gone off the rails. They recently sent me change to my flights that was simply not acceptable. 7 hour layover when I originally had a 2 hour lay over. The reason? They never paid for the the flights so the airline increased the prices. I had fully paid for the trip for 8 months, so they simply held on tho the money. When I reached out nothing but run around and pointing fingers . They even went as far as to say that it's my responsibility to tell them to pay for the flights. Then more run around. Started pointing me to T&Cs, then started blaming the airline. No ownership of the problem after their screw up. Also do not buy the insurance, it's useless. Once they have your money they do whatever they want and you have very little recourse.
Read more

Jh

Does Not Recommend

Hotels people steal stuff from Galapagos trip… September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I just came back from Galapagos trip Ecuador. I found out the hotels involved not honest they took my blue tooth earbud and my brother family lost some stuff too I can’t point out which hotel but I like yo mention to this review so the future people MUST BE CAREFULLY ABOUT UR BELONGINGS
Read more

Items 16 to 30 of 592 total

Travel wisely

COVID-19 is still affecting travel around the world but more countries continue to reopen and adjust travel restrictions and requirements. We recommend reviewing the full list of Covid-19 travel resources - all updated regularly given the fast-changing environment.

And check out everything you need to know about how vaccines are affecting travel, including which countries are open to fully vaccinated travelers.

Ready to travel? 

Take a look at our interactive travel restrictions map or see the countries reopening for tourism list to find your next destination.

Consider booking a Custom or Private Trip for the peace of mind that comes from working directly with a travel expert. They can plan ahead for safety and assist you during the trip if any complications develop, plus give you more freedom and flexibility with your itinerary.

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer."
Unknown
x