616 Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

Gate 1 Travel Tour Reviews & Ratings

616 Reviews
3.9 | Great
Excellent 423 Great 18 Average 17 Disappointing 19 Terrible 139
74% Recommend
Value:
3.9 Guide:
3.9 Activities:
3.9 Lodging:
3.9 Transportation:
3.9 Meals:
3.9

Tour Reviews

MB

Recommends

Service needs improvement September 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
Their service is degrading. Lately they offer you a 7 days tour, but in reality is 6 because day #7 is the flight back, at midnight or 1am. This happened on our last 2 trips. So on day #6 you have a very long day, because at night they drive you to the airport for the night flight and when you arrive at your country, you have spent around 24 hours without stop. Also because they buy the bulk seats for the tour with the airlines, every body in the plane from Gate1 is not seating with their relatives, so people are trying to change seats with others, to seat with their companion. The hotels they choose are fair for the price you're paying and the busses and tour guides are pretty good.
Read more

l

Does Not Recommend

DON'T September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
DON'T! JUST DON'T! AWFUL FOOD, AWFUL HOTELS. AWFUL SERVICE! DON'T DO IT! If I could give it ZERO I WOULD!

CT

Recommends

Loved Discovery Galapagos Tour September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Experienced my first trip with Gate1 in April 2022. We traveled to the Galapagos, Ecuador & the Amazon (Discovery Tour). I have to say it was excellent & tour of a lifetime. Our guide
was very informative & fun. Gate1 has organization down pat. It was flawless especially getting to Galapagos! Whew what a trek.
Phones calls to gate1 were a little difficult but calls were always returned.
Exceptional Tour!
Read more

RN

Recommends

I did speak with Gate 1 representative… September 2022

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I did speak with Gate 1 representative and all of my issues have been resolved. Therefore, I am pleased to update my rating from 1 to 4 star due to the excellent service that I have received.

RN

Does Not Recommend

Gate 1 customer service sucks September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Gate 1 customer service sucks. Five hour wait for a return phone call. I had completed 8 trips with them in the past with no issues before 2019. My latest trip will be my last only using a credit from a trip they cancelled. Two weeks before I am leaving they inform me that I will have a 7 hour layover in Paris both coming and going to Morocco. I had paid extra for this flight to have minimal layover. They tell me after waiting 5 hours for a return phone call that there is a 600 dollar penility if I cancel this trip. This will be last trip with Gate 1 that suck
Read more

DL

Recommends

Updated review due to superior customer service September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
** I did speak with Gate 1 representative and all of my issues have been resolved. Therefore, I am pleased to update my rating from 3 to 5 star due to the excellent service that I have received.
There was an issue with phone calls not being received on my end.
So I was able to respond to my email and call the representive directly.

We are looking forward to our travels with Gate1 in January 2023
Read more

TH

Does Not Recommend

Concerned about my Fall 2022 trip September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
I, too, have had excellent travel experiences with Gate1 several times over the years. HOWEVER, I am due to travel in October, and am having no success contacting them in response to their emails over the past 2+ weeks that my flights have changed. I also have another concern that I just picked up going through the itinerary that is either an error or will be very inconvenient. I also noticed that they changed my hotel. No responses yet. The "Cancel for any Reason" coverage that I bought with the travel insurance gives only a limited credit on future travel with Gate1 good for two years. This is unlikely to be worth more than 50% of the cost of this trip. I have been a real booster of Gate1 in the past, but right now I'm unhappy with the lack of customer service and won't be recommending.
Read more

PT

Recommends

I have traveled with Gate 1 Travel to… September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have traveled with Gate 1 Travel to the Italy, Spain, Germany, Hungary, Portugal, and Most recently, Greece. Every single trip was a five star experience! The tour managers and local guides were excellent! They have earned my trust and respect.
Read more

A

Does Not Recommend

Unacceptable changes for our tour September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
A group of 6 of us booked a trip to tour New England Fall Foliage. After making our final payment we received an e-mail that changes had been made to our itenerary because of covid concerns. Our stay in Stowe, Vermont not happening along with the tours along the way also cancelled. In place of this we will stay in a Budget rated 2 star hotel in New Hampshire that has horrible reviews from trip advisor advising not to stay at that hotel. Original itinerary was we would stay in Stowe Vermont a hotel in the mountains and many other tours along the way is why we booked this package to begin with. Gate1 policy is that if they change your hotel they have to give you a comparable or upgraded one which they did not. We called the hotel in Stowe,Vt. and were informed that there were no covid concerns and Gate 1overbooked the hotel and could not accommodate the tour. Spoke with supervisor and manager who never called back with these issues. Knowing these changes we would not have taken this trip.
Read more

J

Does Not Recommend

Worst service, call system, and hours/days on hold/callbacks. No one knows what they're doing. September 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
If I could, I would give this company a negative 10 and I haven't even left yet. I signed up to go to Portugal/Spain in October. I won't go into detail about the dates/times I've tried to talk to someone at the company. I'm suppose to leave in 5 weeks. I called about flights, they haven't assigned any to me although my travel partner had to pay $400 additional money to get a seat. The American Airlines told me I am not booked. My partner paid another $400. My1st call to Gate 1 rep said our flights were cancelled-that was not true. She thought I should book flights that cost 3x's the amount and would bounce me all over Europe so it would have take 3 days to get there. I said no. My partner paid more money and instead of getting the seat she wanted for the trip, the return flight took her to San Francisco instead of Sacramento which is our hometown. They tell you they will call you back but they don't. I started at 6am and it's now 5pm and there's been no callback. This has happened for the last 4 days. The airlines told me they never booked my flights. I was suppose to have 6 callbacks over 4 days & only 1 callback was made to me. Now tomorrow I'll start this nightmare all over. I paid for my vacation months ago and I've received nothing but waiting and waiting, bad info, asking for more money and no air itinerary. If you haven't already joined this nightmare, run. I've travel all over the world for years. I have never been treated like this. If you aren't staying on top of your reservations on a daily basis, you should be. I don't understand why if you're traveling with someone, they won't deal with you as "traveling partners" like all the rest of the companies do. There's something called a conference call which they will not do. It makes is so simple. It usually takes me 1-2 hours to book everything from the beginning and you're done with other companies. I suggest you try them. Gate 1 may appear to be cheaper but they are not.
Read more

S

Recommends

Unsure.... August 2022

3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Guide 3.0
  • Activities 3.0
  • Lodging 3.0
  • Transportation 3.0
  • Meals 3.0
I don't have a star rating for Gate1 Travel yet. They came highly recommended by family and we were very happy to book based on itinerary and price (Res #1975670). We are due to depart for South Africa soon and I can't get an agent to call/ email me about visa's, vaccinations or internal flight times so I can book transfers etc. I have filled out the online form several times over the last few months and tried to contact them via Instagram but haven't had a response. I've also called twice from Australia to be told that the wait time is over 2 hours and no one called me back when I left my number.
I'm starting to get very nervous about this entire trip, we are traveling with kids and need confirmation that this is a reliable company. I can see other reviewers get a response here and I'm hoping I'll get the same. Can an agent please email me asap?
Read more

m

Does Not Recommend

We are booked on a tour for Norway in… August 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
We are booked on a tour for Norway in February. I was trying to prepare for it. Tried to call gate1 several times, one time they said someone would call back in 3 hours. no one did. I sent an email. no response. I only put a deposit on the trip and am getting concerned about paying the balance. If I cancel, I will probably lose $400. After reading the rest of the reviews, I am really worried. This is supposed to be a fun vacation. someone needs to call back.
Read more

JD

Does Not Recommend

Very dissatisfied with Gate 1 decision… August 2022

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Very dissatisfied with Gate 1 decision to not issue a credit for a booking we had to cancel due to health issue.
$2500 gone, no discussion just gone.
I would expect better!

Update!
Gate one rep reached out to me and offered me a travel credit with one year to use it!
Thank you for making this right!
Read more

MS

Does Not Recommend

Just A Disappointing Experience with Gate 1, But the Canadians Were Great!!I think the experience you have with… August 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
I think the experience you have with Gate 1 Travel depends on what type of tour you are taking.

We did a "Small Group Discovery" Tour three years ago and it was very good.

However, we just returned from a Gate 1 Tour to Montreal, Quebec, Toronto and Ottawa and it was really disappointing and it was expensive. Our hotels were at best not very impressive. Our room, at the Delta Marriott, had torn and stained carpets...yuck.

Most of the tour seemed to focused on the tour participants being dropped off at shopping areas and encouraged to buy something, anything. We did not visit a single museum, other than the lobby of one museum, but since we did not have tickets, it was back on the bus for us. We did drive around a lot, but we thought we might see some culture; but culture was not on the agenda.

Our breakfast, included on the Tour, was very mediocre and it seemed that Gate 1 worked to maximize their return on investment on absolutely everything we did by cutting corners and delivering a very mediocre experience.

Honestly, by Day 9, we were hearing about better tour operators from the guests that we were traveling with.

Just really disappointing...sorry to say. We were going to book another tour with Gate 1, but after our experience in Canada, we have held off.
Read more

IA

Does Not Recommend

Very bad customer service August 2022

2.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Guide 2.0
  • Activities 2.0
  • Lodging 2.0
  • Transportation 2.0
  • Meals 2.0
Gate1Travel organizes good and affordable trips. Customer service is very nice and easy to reach, when you are buying your tour. Everything goes well until you have unexpected travel charges. This is where customer service is very difficult to reach and once you reach them, they are completely unhelpful. Our flight to Spain was cancelled. It was extremely difficult to change our flight and get to Spain because flight was booked through Gate1 and Gate1 does not want to help and airline company does not want to deal with you because you are not the one who booked the trip. On the way back United Airlines canceled part of our flight. United returned money to Gate1 and Gate1 does not want to give money back to us. I spoke with 3 different agents. All of them provided different answers. Last agent said that they simple don't deal with "completed trips" and there is nobody to talk to and I should write an email, which I did and I still did not hear from them. This is my money for the flight I did not have!
Basically, they have good deals and some of their guides are very good, but once you need help with flight changes or other unexpected events, you are not getting any help and moreover you will have even more problems because they are not doing what they suppose to do.
Read more

Items 31 to 45 of 592 total

Travel wisely

COVID-19 is still affecting travel around the world but more countries continue to reopen and adjust travel restrictions and requirements. We recommend reviewing the full list of Covid-19 travel resources - all updated regularly given the fast-changing environment.

And check out everything you need to know about how vaccines are affecting travel, including which countries are open to fully vaccinated travelers.

Ready to travel? 

Take a look at our interactive travel restrictions map or see the countries reopening for tourism list to find your next destination.

Consider booking a Custom or Private Trip for the peace of mind that comes from working directly with a travel expert. They can plan ahead for safety and assist you during the trip if any complications develop, plus give you more freedom and flexibility with your itinerary.

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Once a year, go someplace you've never been before."
Dalai Lama
x