7,086 Biking & Cycling Tour & Trip Reviews

Biking & Cycling Tour & Trip Reviews

7,086 Reviews
4.8 out of 5
Excellent 6,066 Great 886 Average 93 Disappointing 24 Terrible 17
99% Recommend
Value
4.8 Guide
4.8 Activities
4.8 Lodging
4.8 Transportation
4.8 Meals
4.8

Editor’s Take

What to Look For in Cycling Tour Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary. Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

Most positive cycling tour reviews focus on the guide’s experience, energy level, knowledge about the destination and understanding of varying levels of fitness of the travelers. They’re often called out for going the extra mile, being encouraging and recommending off-the-beaten-path sightseeing and dining along the cycling tour route. 

Though in the minority, negative reviews of guided bike tours focus generally on the amount and speed of biking. Some expect to cycle quickly through their destination, getting as many miles in as possible. Others are surprised that the biking is more challenging than they had expected.

In most cases, research into the varying difficulty levels of a cycling tour, and its mission, will avoid this type of negative review. There are all kinds of guided bike tour operators out there, so take the time to determine which riding personality you are before picking a cycling vacation.

Are you in it for the fitness in a new destination? Or, is the sightseeing and wining and dining more important than the miles you cover in a day? Answering these questions will help narrow down the options and ensure you pick the right cycling tour for your travel style.

If you want a professional take on taking a cycling tour, see the Travelstride Cycling Tour Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

D

Does Not Recommend

Nightmare November 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Worst experience.
Booked before covid, trip was cancelled due to covid, we were forced to rebook or we’d lose our money before a certain date. We still couldn’t leave the country during the second date. Great value did nothing. We had travel insurance so we cancelled and made a claim. Apparently you have to be dead to get your money back. We just lost $4200 and great value did not back us up. Unprofessional and disappointing

DO NOT a book with great value vacations. Scam
Read more

D

Does Not Recommend

Nightmare November 2021

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Worst experience.
Booked before covid, trip was cancelled due to covid, we were forced to rebook or we’d lose our money before a certain date. We still couldn’t leave the country during the second date. Great value did nothing. We had travel insurance so we cancelled and made a claim. Apparently you have to be dead to get your money back. We just lost $4200 and great value did not back us up. Unprofessional and disappointing

DO NOT a book with great value vacations. Scam
Read more

D

Recommends

Excellent trip with a well designed and executed itinerary April 2019

5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 4.0
Excellent trip – the itinerary was well designed and executed. The Tour Leader (Maggie) was excellent, the bus was superbly clean, the accommodations were better than I had expected (most with air conditioning, and all with hot water). The food was somewhat bland - as expected.

Important note about money exchange for Americans: I suggest that travelers change money on arrival at the official exchange office at Havana airport. Americans will get a better exchange rate if they (step one) exchange dollars into POUNDS STERLING or EUROS at an airport in the USA *before* flying to Havana, and then (step two) exchange those Pounds or Euros into CUC at Havana airport. By doing this you will avoid paying the 10% penalty that is imposed if you simply change DOLLARS directly into CUC in Havana.
Read more

GR

Recommends

Great trip! January 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It was a great trip - exactly as it was described on the website. Consisted of a great combination of city/town touring and active hiking.

EB

Recommends

Enjoyable trip! January 2017

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
An enjoyable trip, but I was not that enamored of the area...too many tourists!

HW

Recommends

Memorable experience! January 2017

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
The trip was well organized, good meals included, a memorable trip.

L

Recommends

Close to Perfect! October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I just came back from a bike tour to Czech Republic, Germany and Austria. Everything was very well organized and planned. Nothing is perfect but this active/adventure vacation was very close to it, at least in my opinion and expectations! I will do it again.
Read more

L

Recommends

The tour combined cultural as well as October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The tour combined cultural as well as active activities. I liked the use of local transport and guides.

T

Recommends

Enjoyable tour, interesting parts of Turkey, good October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Enjoyable tour, interesting parts of Turkey, good guide.

P

Recommends

I have now had 5 Intrepid experiences October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have now had 5 Intrepid experiences and have found the tour leaders to be very dedicated and helpful and knowledgeable.

M

Recommends

I believe sailing is not everyone cup October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I believe sailing is not everyone cup of tea but the overall experience of sailing and being out in the open sea is a big thrill. The overall trip experience was excellent.

I

Recommends

It goes as it planned, so Intrepid October 2015

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
It goes as it planned, so Intrepid is reliable and delivers.

J

Recommends

I thought the trip was good, but October 2015

4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Guide 4.0
  • Activities 4.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 4.0
  • Meals 4.0
I thought the trip was good, but there were a few things that kept me from giving a 9 or 10 (10 should be nearly impossible to attain)

S

Recommends

Uncomplicate, everthing organised and however free time October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Uncomplicate, everthing organised and however free time, nice groupe members, and lots of activities

A

Recommends

very well organised, great leader. October 2015

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
very well organised, great leader.

Items 1 to 15 of 51 total

Top Biking & Cycling Tours View All Biking & Cycling Trips
Cambodia: Hike, Bike & Kayak tour Cambodia: Hike, Bike & Kayak

$ 1,361 9-days trip

Cycle Andalucia tour Cycle Andalucia

$ 2,541 9-days trip

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"Remember happiness is a way of travel not a destination."
Roy Goodman
x