260 Volunteering Tour & Trip Reviews

Volunteering Tour & Trip Reviews

260 Reviews
4.9 out of 5
Excellent 249 Great 8 Average 0 Disappointing 0 Terrible 3
98% Recommend
Value
4.9 Guide
4.9 Activities
4.9 Lodging
4.9 Transportation
4.9 Meals
4.9

Tour Reviews

T

Recommends

We had the best time ever! June 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had the best time ever! It was truly the best vacation we've ever taken. The people were fabulous, service oriented, friendly, accommodating...a pleasure to be around! Everything was just perfect!

The accommodations, fabulous, the food was way too delicious. We highly recommend this trip to anybody and kept toasting Costco along with three other couples for the way they put this trip together it was really brilliant thank you so much for your help with all our questions and how quickly you got back to us for each inquiry you are very efficient at your job. Thank you so much!

On another note, on the safari, Francois put together a surprise celebration luncheon at their treehouse to celebrate our daughter Kate's medical school graduation. It was truly amazing and we couldn't have been happier or more appreciative of all they did. It was so special and they put so much effort into it—leaving champagne, a beautiful lunch, and also baking a cake just for this occasion! It was such a nice, wonderful touch and made for a fabulous memory!
Read more

W

Recommends

It was absolutely fabulous. February 2020

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It was absolutely fabulous. Marataba is an experience beyond words. The animals speak for themselves but the lodge is extraordinary. Capetown was lovely but Marataba is an impossible act to precede. We will be recommending you and your colleagues without reservation and with the greatest enthusiasm.
Read more

S&MB

Recommends

Memories for a life time October 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We have returned from our trip to South Africa and Zimbabwe. Our accommodations and travel arrangements were excellent in each location, but our safari in Thornybush at Shumbalala Game Lodge was EXCEPTIONAL!

The accommodations were outstanding, the staff were exceptional, and our experience was off the charts.

We saw the Big 5, had great meals and met wonderful people. You provided us with memories for a life time.

By the way, Cape Town and Victoria Falls were excellent as well, but Shumbalala stole the show!

Thank you so very much.
Read more

B&ME

Recommends

We had an absolutely amazing time in South Africa. October 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had an absolutely amazing time in South Africa. Everything was perfect!!
Thompsons provided excellent service from the airport transfers to our full-day tours of the wine lands and the Cape Peninsula. Their staff were friendly, accommodating and very professional.

The Twelve Apostles truly offered a 5-star experience; we had a beautifully decorated room and the staff were outstanding. We ate all our diners at the hotel in the Leopard Lounge which, provided nightly entertainment. We also dined at the Azure restaurant. Everything was perfect.

Our tour to Robben Island was truly heartfelt and a definite must for anyone visiting Cape Town.

Shamwari truly offered us an experience of a lifetime. The tents were indeed ‘‘my kind of tents”! Our guide JB was extremely knowledgeable and a terrific ambassador of the Reserve. We had the opportunity to see The Big 5, zebras, giraffes, pumas, antelopes and countless other species – he even provided us the opportunity to eat a termite (yes both of us). The evening Sundowners and lunch in the bush were a nice treat - our visits to the Born Free Sanctuary and the Rehab Center were truly inspirational. All the staff were welcoming and ensured we had a fabulous time.

It was nice that we had the opportunity to meet and mingle with fellow Lion World Travel guests from California and New York during our stay in Cape Town and Shamwari.

Our Journey to Freedom Tour in Johannesburg provided us the opportunity to truly understand the history of South Africa. Our guide, Ben, was friendly, knowledgeable and willing to share his experiences.

We want to thank you and Lion World Travel for providing us the most wonderful experience to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We will definitely recommend Lion World Travel to our friends and colleagues. We may even look at another visit to Africa.
Read more

L

Recommends

The experience far exceeded any expectations we had October 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had a fantastic time. We felt so cared for by being greeted and guided each step of the way, once we reached Johannesburg (especially after doing all the logistics of NYC).

We loved travelling with Joe and Jason, who also booked through Lion World. We got along famously, and it added to our enjoyment.

The experience far exceeded any expectations we had. The experience of the guides, the comfort of the lodges and the vast number of animals that we got to sit and enjoy at length were all more than we expected.

We were glad we left Vic Falls for the end. The Victoria Falls River Lodge was beautiful and having the river to ride on was a great feature. I’m definitely glad we didn’t stay in town.

We surely appreciate all you did for us in preparation for this trip. It was a trip of a lifetime!

We have posted some pictures on Facebook as well.
Read more

S

Recommends

What a wonderful experience!!! October 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
What a wonderful experience!!!

Everything was absolutely great! I had read many reviews and heard good things about Lion World, but everything far exceeded my expectations.

All food and facilities were beyond our expectations!

Otherwise, I have shared our experience with our friends and co-workers and recommended Lion World highly!!!

Thanks for an amazing experience!

We will not hesitate to use Lion World again for our next trip to Africa!
Read more

A

Recommends

I had a wonderful time. August 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Absolutely recommend Lion World to anyone interested in touring South Africa. My husband and I had a wonderful time. From accommodations to the day trips planned, everything was perfect. Was truly spoiled on the trip. Laurandie, our rep, was very knowledgeable and helpful when it came to some concerns. Was a trip of a lifetime! I would travel with them again!
Read more

S

Recommends

Wonderful experience with this team! August 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Wonderful experience with this team! Perfect trip...trip of a lifetime...perfectly planned. Kudos to Cheryl who patiently worked out all the details and is a great communicator!

L

Recommends

I had a fantastic trip. July 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thank you for your kind Welcome Home! I had a fantastic trip.
Truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience! The places we stayed were incredible, the food everywhere was delicious, the people warm, friendly and knowledgeable, and the animals, of course, remarkable in every sense of the word! Thank you for putting this together for us.

Thanks again for all your help in making this such a special trip.
Read more

AaDX

Recommends

Trip was fantastic and exceeded all our expectations June 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thank you so much for the follow up email. Yes the trip was fantastic and exceeded all our expectations! Our guide/driver was super great! We wished the trip was longer.

We saw about 70 lions in total. I can’t thank you enough for guiding us to Tanzania! It was definitely the best trip we have ever taken! We want to go back in few years and will be contacting you when the time comes. I will strongly recommend you guys to anyone who wants to go safari!

The timing was also great. The peak season will be too crowded. The # of safari vehicles we ran into were only in low teens and we were able to stop and watch lions as we please. We had a picnic lunch under the nose of the lions, and another picnic lunch while the lions were mating near our vehicle.

Thank you for making our trip so fantastic!
Read more

AaDX

Recommends

Trip was fantastic and exceeded all our expectations June 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thank you so much for the follow up email. Yes the trip was fantastic and exceeded all our expectations! Our guide/driver was super great! We wished the trip was longer.

We saw about 70 lions in total. I can’t thank you enough for guiding us to Tanzania! It was definitely the best trip we have ever taken! We want to go back in few years and will be contacting you when the time comes. I will strongly recommend you guys to anyone who wants to go safari!

The timing was also great. The peak season will be too crowded. The # of safari vehicles we ran into were only in low teens and we were able to stop and watch lions as we please. We had a picnic lunch under the nose of the lions, and another picnic lunch while the lions were mating near our vehicle.

Thank you for making our trip so fantastic!
Read more

P

Recommends

I had a wonderful time in South Africa. February 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I had a wonderful time in South Africa.
The trip was so amazing and the hotels were fantastic. The people were so gracious and the country side was like a picture post card. My next trip I planning is to see Egypt in 2020.
Read more

B

Recommends

Thank you SO much for planning our trip to Tanzania. January 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I just want to write and thank you SO much for planning our trip to Tanzania. Brian and I have travelled to many places in the world but this trip we think tops them all.
From start to finish, it went smoothly and created memories we will carry for the rest of our lives. Raymond, our guide for the week, has become a life long friend. He was amazing with his knowledge of the animals. To top it off, we love birds and he did too so he took extra time to search for the beautiful birds of his country. He knew the name of every one of them. During the course of our trip, we saw over 80 lions as well as the rest of the "big five" along with numerous other animals. There were quiet times of just being in awe of nature as well as exciting times of watching lions mate and ostriches mate. We knew every time Raymond, who has been a guide for 18 years, took out his phone to take a picture that we were seeing something extra special. We had two cameras and took over a thousand pictures.

So, thank you again for this amazing trip. We will not hesitate to recommend Lion World Travel to anyone who is interested in Africa.
Read more

MaJK

Recommends

The most entertaining, exciting, educational, and exquisite trip December 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I just wanted to take a minute of your time to thank Lion World Travel and yourself for the most entertaining, exciting, educational, and exquisite trip I or my daughter Jackie have ever been on in our lives.
From the time we started the trip on December 4th to the end of the journey on December 13th every detail was perfect. I was not much of a Tour type but have traveled extensively for 50 years. After this experience I am not sure anyone can meet or exceed what Lion World gave to us! The hotel and the Preserve were Top Notch. The guides were even better. What a wonderful memory for a father and a daughter to relive often. My only regret is that I did not do this sooner with your organization. Amazing. Thank you.
Read more

L

Recommends

An amazing experience!! September 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
What an amazing experience!! We had so much fun. Gibbs Farm was absolutely exquisite and we mentioned that we would stay there longer next time so we could enjoy the farm a bit more.

We saw more lions and cheetahs that I could have imagined and even saw several babies with their moms. We will make sure to submit photos for the photo contest.

We are so grateful and our driver, Josephat, was amazing! We mentioned we would ask for him again if we ever go back.

Thanks so much for getting everything arranged - we brought so many memories home with us!
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 102 total

Top Volunteering Tours View All Volunteering Trips
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x