260 Volunteering Tour & Trip Reviews

Volunteering Tour & Trip Reviews

260 Reviews
4.9 out of 5
Excellent 249 Great 8 Average 0 Disappointing 0 Terrible 3
98% Recommend
Value
4.9 Guide
4.9 Activities
4.9 Lodging
4.9 Transportation
4.9 Meals
4.9

Tour Reviews

J

Recommends

The trip was everything we hoped for and more! August 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The trip was everything we hoped for and more! The accommodations were wonderful and the people were fantastic!

We loved the Table Bay - both the location and the staff were excellent. We very much enjoyed our tours to the Peninsula and the Winelands. We were fortunate to have the same tour guide for both. The city was beautiful and the weather was wonderful.

The accommodations, the location, the food and the staff at Tinga Lodge were amazing. The staff were so attentive to our every need. Our guide and tracker went above and beyond as well. The trip was just amazing in every way!

At some point we want to go see the gorillas and we know we will use Lion World again. We appreciate all your help and advice!
Read more

D

Recommends

The trip was very good June 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The trip was very good.

Our guide was very good. The adventure was great and even after 5 Safari trips still saw an animal I have never seen in the wild, a Caracal Cat.

M

Recommends

The trip exceeded the high expectations June 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This trip exceeded the high expectations I had set for it. This is the largest amount of money I've spent on a single week of travel, but I would spend it again in a heartbeat.

Every website and book I read warned me about the rainy season, but I felt spoiled. Not only did we barely see any rain, but we essentially had the parks and the roads to ourselves. The only animal I did not see from my list was an African dog, and I was told those were rare to begin with. We saw all of the Big 5, plus my personal favorite, a cheetah mom and her 3 "teenager" cubs.

Steven, our guide, was INCREDIBLE. I'm not sure I'd want to go back without him as my guide. He was a wealth of information on not only about the animals but the trees and plants as well. He would spot animals from what seemed like miles away. I still believe he had bionic eyes :)

Thank you again for everything you and your team did to make sure I had an incredible experience. I have already started looking at your website for a future African trip.
Read more

KB

Recommends

Diverse itinerary, excellent hotels/lodges, amazing tours, prompt transfers & perfectly booked flights! June 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thank you to Lion World Travel for making all of my safari dreams come true!

We worked with Natalie to book the 'South Africa in Style' tour which exceeded our expectations in every way. Diverse itinerary, excellent hotels/lodges, amazing tours, prompt transfers & perfectly booked flights! Natalie was amazing to work with while patiently answering my 1,000's of questions. She kept in constant contact throughout the entire process & also followed up afterward to make sure we had a great trip. The travel documents provided were extremely helpful in navigating the airports & going through customs. They also provide a VIP concierge telephone # which is available 24 hours a day in case things go awry.

The top-notch accommodations at Table Bay & Jackelberry Lodge make this package an incredible value without skimping on luxury. But the included helicopter tour, Cape Peninsula tour, Gold restaurant & plus dinner & high tea at Table Bay Hotel were all added bonuses which put this trip completely over the top. (We switched up the itinerary a little by replacing the wine tour with shark cage diving which was on our own account. Natalie booked this for us & perfectly rearranged our itinerary.) They also participate with Costco Travel which may provide additional benefits if you are a member.
Read more

RaMA

Recommends

Our expectations were high, the experience exceeded those expectations May 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Simply put our time in Southern Africa was spectacular! While our expectations were high, the experience exceeded those expectations both in what we experienced and how we experienced them.

The connections and transportation were amazing. From our initial greeting in Johannesburg, until of final drop off at Victoria Falls Airport the drivers and excursion guides were punctual, informative and friendly. In every case it was like being met and toured by family. We were assisted to airline check ins and customs clearances in every case and it was particularly appreciated at the border crossings from Botswana to Zambia, the return to Botswana and the final crossing into Zimbabwe.

The provided air transportation was first class and right on time: every time! The facilities and staff at Bains Camp, Sanctuary Retreat, and Chobe Lodge were world class in customer service, customer focus and facility quality.

Thank you for putting this together for us. The memories from this trip will last our lifetime and are certainly the highlight of our 50 Anniversary year.
Read more

W

Recommends

We had an absolutely fabulous time on the trip! April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had an absolutely fabulous time on the trip! Everything worked out even better than we expected. From the hotels to the flights and transfers we were always very happy.

My favorite spot was probably Kadizora as it was some of the best food along with the nicest people. The game viewing was great! Also, Zimbabwe was much much better than I expected. We loved the Victoria Falls Safari lodge, especially the dinner at Boma.

The Commodore was also very nice and we had a blast in Cape Town.

I’ve recommended you guys to a bunch of friends who are interested in Africa. I really do appreciate how seamless everything worked out. Definitely helped us enjoy everything that much more.
Read more

G&MC

Recommends

Our trip was INCREDIBLE April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our trip was INCREDIBLE, and in every way far exceeded our expectations!

Our accommodations were lovely! The Commodore even decorated our room and gave us a bottle of champagne to celebrate the start of our honeymoon, while the Victoria Falls Lodge set us up for a private sunset waterfront dinner with a bottle of champagne to end our trip! I just KNOW you had something to do with that, so thank you BUNCHES for making this trip feel even more special! Table Mountain was incredible - absolutely breath taking! We hiked the entire escarpment, which was fun! We saw the Big 5 on safari! We even caught a few cheetahs in the last hour of our last game drive, so that was a highlight! Overall, it was such an amazing trip and so much more than we could have imagined! We've already decided we are going back soon to experience everything in September, to see what the spring is like!

Thanks again for everything! You really did help us to have the trip of a lifetime, and we're so grateful for all your help! Please forward this along to your supervisors so that they know how valued and special you are!

We can't wait to work with you on our next trip!
Read more

D&S

Recommends

We enjoyed the places we visited including national parks April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Sarah and I wanted to express our sincere gratitude to you for organizing our recent safari in northern Tanzania. We will never forget this bucket list trip.

Except for operational inefficiencies we encountered at the Addis Ababa airport connection during our trip home, all aspects of our trip were excellent. Vendors selected by Lion World Travel for our safari including Ethiopian Airlines, Leopard Tours and Serena Hotels did not disappoint.

We were fortunate to travel to northern Tanzania in March. The weather was moderate and we missed the beginning of the heavy rain season the majority of our journey. The lush vegetation and concentration of wildlife and young animals coupled with reduced crowds during the shoulder season combined for a great safari.

We enjoyed the places we visited including national parks in Lake Manyara and the Serengeti as well as the Ngorongoro Crater and conservation area. Our favorite was the Serengeti where we experienced the expanse, wonder and awe of the Great Migration - twice - on our way in and out of the park. The balloon ride over the Serengeti and British bush breakfast was also a unique experience.

We were very fortunate indeed to have David Msuya of Leopard Tours assigned as our driver. David is experienced and seasoned, and a consummate professional who provided us with expert knowledge of Tanzania and history, the people and culture, and the areas we visited. In particular, David’s knowledge of wildlife is superb. He is a patient and kind family man who is respected by his peers. Without hesitation, we heartily recommend David to anyone interested in a quality safari experience.

In summary, our trip exceeded our expectations and our memories will last a lifetime.

Cheryl - we appreciate your expert guidance and direction before, during, and after our decision to purchase this trip. When folks ask us about our safari trip, rest assured that we will recommend you and Lion World Travel.
Read more

V

Recommends

The entire trip was absolutely beyond expectations April 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The entire trip was absolutely beyond expectations.

Your attention to detail followed us throughout the journey. You had people meeting us and directing us all the way. Thank you for all you did to make South Africa an incredible memory.
Read more

A

Recommends

Simply outstanding March 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Simply outstanding. I took my 4 grown children on the Classic Tanzania trip the end of May 2017. We saw every animal over and over and babies everywhere. Lion World through Costco were outstanding to work with. I travel 100,000 plus miles a year and when I say there was not one thing I would change about this trip, I am sincere. Keep in mind all the tour companies go to the same areas where the animals are most likely to be and I guarantee folks paid twice as much as Lion World charges for the same sights. The hotels were outstanding along with the food. 27 countries later, this was our favorite trip as a family. I paid, we showed up and they did the rest.
Thank you Lion World, Cheryl you rock
Read more

T&AA

Recommends

The Trip truly amazing! March 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Thanks for checking in on us and thank you for all your work in making the trip truly amazing!

We really had the trip of a lifetime, except that it will not be a trip of a lifetime because we will definitely have to return to Africa! We loved everything about the trip, but the highlight was definitely Narina and all they had to offer. The staff there were unbelievable to us and we couldn’t think of one thing that was not just perfect in every way in our stay and drives there.

Cape Town was also amazing and the tours ended up being private tours with just us and our guide and that was just perfect. The lunch at Cafe BonBon was one of the best of our lives.

Thanks again for everything and we will be in touch when we our planning our next adventure.
Read more

C

Recommends

I had the most amazing experience on my trip. March 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I had the most amazing experience on my trip. What an adventure it was!

I found the hospitality of the South African people to be second to none. All of the accommodations you arranged for me were excellent in the locations, service, and over all experience.

I will most definitely be returning to South Africa, and maybe next time venture on to Tanzania or Zimbabwe. I will be in touch with you when I am ready to book another trip. Thank you for arranging a trip of a lifetime for me.
Read more

L

Recommends

It was an amazing, incredible, unforgettable experience. February 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It was an amazing, incredible, unforgettable experience.

I had to keep reminding myself that I was actually in Africa. Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine I would get to go there.

Chris, our driver, was amazing in every way. He did everything he could possibly do to make sure everyone got to see the big five. And especially me. My main reason for taking this trip was to see Sudan, the last male Northern White Rhino on earth. By the time we got there we had missed the 4:00 feeding and they told us to come back the next day. We were leaving the next day. So Chris had a conversation with a couple people who work at the conservancy, one of them made a phone call and got permission for me to see Sudan. Only me. I almost cried. It meant the world to me to have the opportunity to actually stand beside and touch this rhino.

Thank you so much for handling all the details for this amazing trip. It will not be my only trip to Africa. Next time I will go to South Africa, Cape town. My next bucket list goal is to see Great White sharks!
Read more

L&MH

Recommends

We had the best time January 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had the best time - EVER! From the very beginning, with your help, all went so smoothly!

The lodges were incredible and the food was delicious! But as I'm sure you have heard before, the Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater experience was life-changing. I have never seen so many animals in one area!. From the wildebeests grazing from as far as the eye could see to the zebras roaming in all directions. My favorites were the elephants and giraffes - although I may change my mind as to my favorite at any given moment!

We saw the complete circle of life from its inception until the moment if death when we witnessed leopards chasing a warthog family. It was frightening yet amazing all at once! Our tour guide was like no other. Knowledgeable, patient, and very kind all at once. He added to our experience incredibly.

Thank you, Cheryl, for providing a wonderful vacation from beginning to end!
Read more

M

Recommends

We had the most amazing and unforgettable time January 2018

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We had the most amazing and unforgettable time and thank you so much for organizing all of it.

I think Ruby's favorite part was the shark cage diving (one of her childhood dreams believe it or not).

I was awed by a Lion eating its prey, and grateful for small moments like two elephants playing in a secluded watering hole. The food was great, the accommodations were excellent, and the people were very friendly. I hope everyone has as great an experience as we did. Thank you.
Read more

Items 16 to 30 of 102 total

Top Volunteering Tours View All Volunteering Trips
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x