1,106 SmarTours Tour Reviews & Ratings

SmarTours Tour Reviews & Ratings

1,106 Reviews
4.9 | Excellent
Excellent 990 Great 111 Average 1 Disappointing 1 Terrible 3
99% Recommend
Value:
4.9 Guide:
4.9 Activities:
4.9 Lodging:
4.9 Transportation:
4.9 Meals:
4.9

Tour Reviews

M

Recommends

As this was our first organized/group tour I didn’t know what to expect June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
As this was our first organized/group tour I didn’t know what to expect. We booked our airfare independently as wanted to visit Dubai prior to the start of the tour. Upon arrival in Cairo at the Marriott Cairo a day before the tour started, our room was assigned already and the check in process was seamless. We had a welcome dinner the next day and met up with our group of 16 people and our exceptional Egyptologist & tour guide, Mrs. Enas Hassan. I cannot say enough about the knowledge, courtesy, patience and professionalism of Enas. This tour would have not been the same without her. I believe this in-depth tour was a fantastic way to visit Egypt. We were a bit apprehensive about travel to Egypt but now freshly back in the states, I have absolutely no qualms that we made this trip of a lifetime. After researching several aspects of travel to this region, I discovered that crime in a Egypt is less than half of a percent compared to crime in the USA which is 12%. Everyone we encountered was genuinely friendly and accommodating. Vendors at the markets & bazaars will approach you for a sale but not at all intimidating or threatening. Be ready to bargain with them as you would expect. Such a great feeling to get a good deal on souvenirs and priceless goods. The itinerary was comprehensive and learned so much further than that from lessons learned earlier in life. There was an equal amount of discovery and education compared to some needed downtime. As a gay married couple, we were a bit apprehensive about this tour as uncertain about visiting the a Middle East but the apprehension quickly subsided once we met our fellow travelers within our group and our trustworthy guide, Enas. We are ages 47 and 53 and we were the youngest within our group with the exception of a 24 year old daughter of other group attendees that happen to also be from Central Florida. I think our only negative feedback would be that we would have liked additional “free time” at each location but as the ages of our fellow travelers were greater than our own, they did not have the stamina to do more which is understandable, I suppose. We also had a couple that did not seem to be satisfied with accommodations, food, activity, etc. This was somewhat discerning as everyone else in the group was having a fantastic time and their energy was unnerving. When visiting a foreign country, you cannot expect things to be the same as in the USA. You need to have an open mind and experience a culture that is different than your own. I have gained so much valuable insight into the culture, history, incredible & unbelievable sights we were afforded to see on this amazing adventure. This trip, again, would not have been the same without the exceptional guidance of Enas Hassan, please request her for a truly Egyptian experience that you will never forget.
Read more

L

Recommends

It was excellent June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
It was excellent. Our Tour Director & Egyptologist Mohamed Atef was one of the best that I have seen in my 40 years of worldwide travels. He was very knowledgeable and an excellent communicator. What set him apart was that he and his team took personal interest in the needs and welfare of every tour member. The hotels accommodations, Nile river boat Movenpick MS Royal Lily, local tour Buses and the meals were all wonderful. Their logistics management, baggage handling, room check-ins, meals and transfers to and from the airport were impeccable. Each and every historical site and the museums that we visited was beyond fabulous. The sites, statues are magnificent and the colors inside the Tombs are still vibrant after 4700 plus years. The Egyptian people are are quite friendly and very welcoming. One does run into vendors trying to sell you the local papyrus, books and clothing artifacts at these sites. But we recognized that this is their livelihood and were not bothered by it. We were very fortunate to have such a nice and fun group. Everyone had become friendly during the tour. The farewell dinner ended on a festive note with birthday celebrations for a couple of people in the group. I highly recommend this tour.
Read more

sm

Recommends

tour was outstanding June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
tour was outstanding. our egyptian tourguide /egytologist achmet meligie was the highlight of the tour- outstanding in every- made the tour for me, really. keep him on staff!!! pace and tours were excellent and the extra side excursions were necessary and excellent. food ,hotels, bus, and selected shops were top notch-- will book with smart tours very soon best steven moberg
Read more

TN

Recommends

We love it! June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We've just returned from the Splendors of Egypt 10 days tour. We love it! Arrangements and logistics were set up and managed to the highest quality standards. Hotels, transportation, cruise, meals, luggage handling - everything was excellent. However, the top highlight of the tour was our Tour Director - Noha Ouf. Her knowledge, enthusiasm and passion made our experience unique. Her pride of Egyptian history and culture and the way she was delivering information excited us a lot. SmarTours is lucky to have Noha! We recommend this tour, in general, to those who is interested in exploring Egypt and to learn about its long history and rich heritage and, specifically, choosing smarTours for its organization and care. And, if you decide to go, request Noha - it will add value for the money paid!
Read more

WS

Recommends

Trip was excellent June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Trip was excellent with the exception of having to be on a flight to Aswan after arriving in Cairo requiring we all get up at 2:30 a.m. creating a major sleep deficit right off the bat. Following that we had to fly to Abu Simbel making for a very long day. We had several people become ill with diarrhea and being dehydrated and I wonder if lack of sleep might have contributed to this condition. I did not but my partner did being up all night and suffering the following day. To repeat Tour Guide Dina Talaat was terrific! Don't know how you provide such a quality trip for so little money. Great value!
Read more

P

Recommends

We felt very fortunate to be exposed to this exotic land! June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
We saw Egypt through the enthusiasm and the eagerness of sharing the cultural wealth of Egypt by our tour guides Dina and Mohammad. They were courteous, always smiling and knew their subject matter well. Dina was prompt, knew her motherland, and well organized. Mohammad was always with a smile on his face, remembered our names the first day we met, made sure we checked in and out of the hotel and at the airport OK. The security guards were quiet and secluded but I always saw them out of the corner of my eyes at every excursion we took. It had been a wonderful journey for us. We felt very fortunate to be exposed to this exotic land! Shokran!
Read more

D

Recommends

Had the most amazing time June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Went to Egypt with my mom and two family friends this summer and we had the most amazing time. Our tour guide, Soha, was a very nice and sweet woman (and very smart as well). This only made our trip very worthwhile and I would definitely travel with SmarTours again in the future.
Read more

GT

Recommends

Outstanding in every respect. June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Outstanding in every respect. Our guide, Randola provided us with so much knowledge and depth, it was overwhelming. At no time did we feel at risk (being somewhere we should not be), nor did we feel out of place. There was an excellent balance of activity with relaxation. Our only wish is that the river cruise be longer, it was very relaxing being on the deck watching river life. An outstanding value for a part of the world where logistics can be problematic. smarTours made it look easy, which is why this was our seventh trip with them.
Read more

B

Recommends

I enjoyed the splendors of Egypt tour very much June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I enjoyed the splendors of Egypt tour very much. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and sensitive to our needs and preferences. I suggest that a tour of a Coptic Church be added to the sites to be visited. For example, the “hanging” church is historic and beautiful and would be a welcome addition for the travelers. Thanks
Read more

K

Recommends

Smart Tours fantastic June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Smart Tours fantastic 5 star hotels best tour guide I still keep in touch with the best

A

Recommends

Wonderful tour June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Wonderful tour from beginning to end. Thinking of doing it again!

P

Recommends

The tour was very well organized June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The tour was very well organized. Tour guide was very knowledgeable although at times gave too much information.

RA

Recommends

Our SmarTour of Egypt was wonderful and made extra special June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our SmarTour of Egypt was wonderful and made extra special by our expert guide, Soha.

CH

Recommends

What a fabulous trip June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Oh my goodness, What a fabulous trip. We enjoyed the diversity of areas visited and the numbers and close proximity of the wildlife viewed. Our guides were fantastic, accommodations good especially considering that we were out in the middle of nowhere, the lodges beautiful and when you consider the cost vs what we received it was an excellent value. This trip was not for someone who grows weary of driving as there is a lot of that, but because we traveled to 4 different preserves/areas all across Kenya, driving is a part of it. I feel like we saw more, did more and experienced a greater variety of wildlife than we would have with a trip that only features 1 or 2 areas. The added experiences of visiting the Samburu and Masai tribes and the amazing hot air balloon ride were valuable and not to be missed. I will cherish this trip forever.
Read more

M

Recommends

making this trip so informative and memorable June 2021

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Just returned from my Kenyan Safari; a 'once-in-a-lifetime' must. Special thanks, and compliments, to both Ferdinand and Francis- both excellent, professional and personable guides- for their help in making this trip so informative and memorable.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 1106 total

Travel wisely

COVID-19 is still affecting travel around the world but more countries continue to reopen and adjust travel restrictions and requirements. We recommend reviewing the full list of Covid-19 travel resources - all updated regularly given the fast-changing environment.

And check out everything you need to know about how vaccines are affecting travel, including which countries are open to fully vaccinated travelers.

Ready to travel? 

Take a look at our interactive travel restrictions map or see the countries reopening for tourism list to find your next destination.

Consider booking a Custom or Private Trip for the peace of mind that comes from working directly with a travel expert. They can plan ahead for safety and assist you during the trip if any complications develop, plus give you more freedom and flexibility with your itinerary.

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x