1,517 Portugal Tour & Trip Reviews

Portugal Tour & Trip Reviews

1,517 Reviews
4.5 out of 5
Excellent 1,066 Great 314 Average 55 Disappointing 27 Terrible 55
91% Recommend
Value
4.5 Guide
4.5 Activities
4.5 Lodging
4.5 Transportation
4.5 Meals
4.5

Editor’s Take

What to Look For in Portugal Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Remember, just because you see a 1 star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

Tours in Portugal are heavily focused on historical sightseeing, wine tasting, and food. Some Portugal tours are more active in nature, focusing on hiking, walking, and cycling. Seafood in Portugal is usually a major highlight for travelers - but of course if you’re not a fan of seafood this may negatively color your experience and cause a poor review.

Portugal itineraries are often quite busy - as the country is small enough to cover a lot of ground while also fitting a lot in. But you’ll want to assess whether or not an itinerary that includes some long bus days is the kind of tour you’re looking for. If you’d rather spend more time in one or two cities, you may want to consider a custom trip instead of a tour in Portugal.   

It’s important to remember that many Portugal tour itineraries are combined with Spain and Morocco - so not all tour reviews will be solely about travel in Portugal. This may especially affect the feeling travelers had about accommodations and food, which can vary widely between these three countries.

If you want a professional take on traveling in Portugal, see the Travelstride Portugal Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

DM

Recommends

Very knowledgeable representatives December 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Very knowledgeable representatives, very tailored and expedited trip planning, efficient communication. Overall an excellent experience working with ACIS.

N

Recommends

ACIS’ extraordinary itineraries December 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My Along the Adriatic trip with ACIS was extraordinary! I loved our itinerary of going to Croatia, Slovenia, Montenegro, and Venice! Such a fascinating look at that part of the world. Our tour guide, Peter Ede, was amazing, and as he described it, it was like going to Austria, set in the Caribbean!
Read more

G

Recommends

I have enjoyed the diligence and quick… December 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have enjoyed the diligence and quick response of ACIS. The flight and hotel were scheduled fast, and I have received updates notifications. Also, Ms. Beth Pfohl contacted em to confirm if I do prefer a flight from my closet airport (BWI) or a direct flight from (IAD) from the other airport in Washington, DC area. That was a very nice detail, I really appreciate it.
Read more

P

Recommends

Communication November 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great agents always willing to answer any questions!

LfFC

Recommends

I have loved working with ACIS since… November 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have loved working with ACIS since 2005 and I’m looking forward to my next trip this summer!

EBB

Recommends

Sept 2022 was my 23rd trip with ACIS… October 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Sept 2022 was my 23rd trip with ACIS (along with an AIFS 6 week back in the day with Mom the French teacher) and it was outstanding! I went to a teacher conference in Lisbon and was inspired to create a full itinerary for adults just to Portugal. We had great hotels, food, wine, and tours to cork factory, a winery in the throes of picking grapes, and a port tasting. All under the wonderful Tour Manager Sarah-Kate Redding. ACIS also lined up individual tours for each day of Lisbon, Evora, Coimbra, and Porto with guides who spoke excellent English. The entire group of 24 LOVED Portugal. Many thanks to ACIS for a job well done!!! Elaine Bixiones
Read more

D

Recommends

33 trips! October 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I just finished my 33rd trip with ACIS! I am now retired from teaching art and switched from student trips to adult trips. Just like the wonderful trips with students, my adult trips are amazing as well. The hotels and meals were great, as always, and all my adults were very happy. There was a hotel that had a problem with the reservation, and ACIS bumped us up to a 5 star amazing hotel! Thanks acis, you took wonderful care of us once again ! I already have adult trips to Peru and Morocco planned, with Portugal in the works! Thanks ACIS!
Read more

CS

Recommends

TWO of the BEST Trips Ever! September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I toured Greece in June, and Scotland/Ireland in July and they were two of the BEST trips ever! Despite some chaos in the travel industry, ACIS made everything seamless and worry-free! Our Tour Managers, Edoardo D'Ardia and Stan Pretty, were kind, funny and incredibly adept at making things fun! Top notch hotels, centrally located, great food, and every moment just shone with fun and interest. Two wonderful groups of travelers, two amazing trips. Can't wait for next summer!
Read more

B

Recommends

Like no other September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I have tried to travel with other Educational Travel Companies in the past and never have had success, I believe due to lack of hands on involvement and personal connection. From the minute I contacted ACIS, there has been tremendous support getting my trip put together, a group formed and assistance with any troubleshooting needed. Even at 4:00 am in the airport I had a number I could call and a real person answered to help. They are incredibly student centered, thoughtful and helpful.
Read more

R

Recommends

Great company September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Great company, professional and responsive. If you want to travel with the best, ACIS is your only choice.

CT/C

Recommends

ACIS is an amazing company! September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
ACIS is an amazing company that ALWAYS has safety and travel experience as their top priorities. Traveling amidst Covid concerns could be a scary experience for some, but ACIS has wonderful travel insurance policies with the best coverage possible. My two trips this summer 2022 to Europe and Costa Rica went without any travel issues, and all travelers had an amazing experience. I wouldn't travel with any other peer travel company, and I give ACIS my highest recommendation. Cynthia T
Read more

M

Recommends

ACIS is the best! September 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
I truly believe that ACIS is the best tour company anywhere and I would not take my students on a trip with any other company. ACIS has the best tours and the best tour guides, period. I have taken two trips to Spain with large groups of students that went incredibly well. My students are still talking about their last tour guide. The trips are fantastic and the rewards are amazing. I haven’t had problems arise on my tours, but I absolutely know that ACIS would take care of one, should it occur. I look forward to my next adventure with ACIS!
Read more

BJ

Recommends

Our trip was one of our best August 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Our trip was one of our best. We had two ACIS leaders, and they were both different but magnificent. They were creative, adaptive and always helpful.

L

Recommends

ACIS: professional and great to work with August 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
ACIS is always a pleasure to work with. Always professional, resaonable, kind, and quick to respond. Thank you for all you do for student travel!

MD

Recommends

ACIS is AMAZING!! August 2022

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
ACIS is, by far, a superior travel company! They go out of their way to make sure your trip is everything you expect and more. From the location of the hotels to the better quality food, ACIS pays attention to the details. In addition, their group size is much smaller than other companies, making the trip a higher quality experience. I can't say enough about this company! My students and I had the best time and we LOVED our tour manager, Lise Mignon!! She is a must as a tour manager. She made sure we were all well taken care of and would go out of her way to make things special. I will be requesting Lise for our trip in 2024. I can't wait!
We are counting down the days!
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 1018 total

×
×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

"We wander for distraction, but we travel for fulfilment."
Hilaire Belloc
x