2,578 Patagonia Tour & Trip Reviews

Patagonia Tour & Trip Reviews

2,578 Reviews
4.8 out of 5
Excellent 2,047 Great 466 Average 44 Disappointing 10 Terrible 11
97% Recommend
Value
4.8 Guide
4.8 Activities
4.8 Lodging
4.7 Transportation
4.8 Meals
4.8

Editor’s Take

What to Look for in Patagonia Tour Reviews

Most trip reviews tend to focus on some or all of these 5 key areas, not all of which may be relevant to you: the tour guide, travel company, service level, country or countries traveled in, and the trip itinerary.

Remember, just because you see a 1-star review doesn’t necessarily mean that person disliked the country.

From the overwhelmingly positive reviews which guided tours in Patagonia received from travelers, it is clear that the region’s tourism industry is well developed. For most guided tour participants, Patagonia’s aptitude for providing satisfactory tourism is best reflected in their outdoor adventures.

Many travelers referenced the different terrains they were able to explore with guided tours, which felt very unique compared to other countries with homogenous landscapes. Similarly, for travelers who require special accommodations when traveling or hiking, many tour operators went above and beyond to ensure their comfort in quality equipment.

Even still, travelers who find traversing mountainsides or crossing icefields difficult may consider exploring museums in urban centers, as other sites are highly remote. Overall, it is clear that safety is the number one priority for Patagonia tour operators, as reviewers came from different levels of physical fitness and hiking experience, yet all seemed to still have a good time. 

The way that many travelers referenced specific tour guides proved just how capable and friendly they were. It also showed how Patagonia tour operators seek to employ individuals who are well-acquainted with the land and local people.

Travelers appeared to thrive best in small groups over solo or private guided tours, as the latter did not allow for the same cultural exchanges that came with meeting other international travelers.

Specific tour operators were praised for their friendly attitudes, versatility, and ability to provide equipment to those who needed it. Similarly, tour guides took the initiative to interact with their tour groups in order to make them feel welcomed in Patagonia. 

In regards to lodging, it is clear that many travelers often expected higher quality accommodations or more amenities (air-conditioning, wifi) than they ended up receiving at their hotels or lodges. On the other hand, travelers expecting to stay in eco-lodges or campsites were more than happy with their lodging accommodations.

Budget or adventure travelers often referenced how this close vicinity to nature made their trip in Patagonia all the more memorable. Therefore, travelers are encouraged to consider that, while Patagonia does have a booming tourism industry, it is still working to update its more remote travel sites. This is something which luxury travel fans may want to investigate further before booking. 

With reference to tour itineraries, many travelers felt their expectations were exceeded. Traveling across the country, no more how comfortable the mode of transport, proved exhausting for many. In another way, significant amounts of time were spent traveling or waiting for transportation, a fact that many travelers felt detracted from their exploration of the region.

As Patagonia continues to expand its tourism opportunities and sites, travelers will gain access to more efficient means of transportation. It is important that travelers also consider the type of guided tours they are booking for Patagonia, as budget traveling will have significantly different transportation means than luxury or adventure.

For those looking to experience a variety of physical activities in Patagonia, there are few limits. Those looking to explore museums or art collections will find that they are located mostly in urban centers, an important fact to note when planning travel routes. 

If you want a professional take on traveling in Patagonia, see the Travelstride Patagonia Guide »

Read more

Tour Reviews

B

Recommends

Amazing experience. December 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Amazing experience. The hike is no doubt incredibly tough but the views, people and biscuits make the effort well worth it. Highly recommend if you enjoy getting off the beaten path, quite literally there was no path at some points.
Read more

E

Recommends

This trip was perfect in every way! November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This trip was perfect in every way! If you’re looking to see as much of the region as possible in a limited time frame and are not afraid of some tough hikes, you will LOVE this trip! My favorite adventure to date!
Read more

E

Recommends

Trip leader was outstanding November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
My Patagonia trip was well organized, got me to many of the top sights on the area and was a great value for the cost. Trip leader was outstanding. My only caution is that this is a true hiking experience, with four challenging hikes. Being in shape (I am), and an experienced hiker (which I was not, particularly) are optimal. Those with limitations will find this difficult.
Read more

L

Recommends

Stunning scenery! November 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Stunning scenery! Amazing hikes. Weather can change rapidly; sun, rain, sleet, snow, and WIND. Be prepared! You should be physically fit to maximize the jaw dropping journey. Juani, our tour leader, was amazing and kept us well prepared!
Read more

A

Recommends

Patagonia is an amazing part of the country which everyone should visit once in their lifetime. October 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Patagonia is an amazing part of the country which everyone should visit once in their lifetime. The long hikes organized are very doable as long some shorter training hikes are undertaken prior to the trip. Would be even better if there were more days spent in El Chalten and Torres de Paine.
Read more

S

Recommends

Patagonia trekking was the most stunning trip October 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Patagonia trekking was the most stunning trip. We could never have imagined tour guides so supportive, knowledgeable and skilled as those on our tour. It was like travelling with old friends who understood you intimately, and tailored every step to meet your needs. Muchos gracias Gus, Mattie, Christian and Camila. You made the impossible possible.
Read more

r

Does Not Recommend

Robbed of purse and passport at hotel on day 2, trip ruined with no support from Great Value Vacations. May 2019

1.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Guide 1.0
  • Activities 1.0
  • Lodging 1.0
  • Transportation 1.0
  • Meals 1.0
Booked trip for wife and daughter to see Santiago and Patagonia. The Santiago hotel (Hotel Fundador) was dingy and lacked basic amenities such as air conditioning, and placed their safety at risk. Her purse and passport were stolen in broad daylight in the hotel lobby. (She had stepped away to call the driver, who did not arrive to take them to the airport).

The stolen passport and purse meant they missed their flight to Patagonia, and had to find a new hotel in Santiago. I called Great Value Vacations, who advised that there is nothing they can or will do to help. I worked with our trip insurance (AiG Travel Guard), who kindly worked to get the airline (Latam Chile) to reinstate the flights. After several days, Latam Chile offered to reinstate the flights but only if we resumed the schedule and paid them thousands more, and by then it was too late. We had to book our own flight home.

As part of this vacation, they did not receive a safe or clean hotel, transportation to the airport for the next leg of the journey, nor any help resolving disrupted travel during the event.

To summarize, we paid for the entire cost of the trip, and enjoyed the flight to Santiago and one day of the city. The remaining 5 days were forfeited with no recompense from Great Value Vacation. AiG Travel Guard was kind and helpful, but noted that a stolen passport is not a covered reason for a trip interruption claim, so we received little reimbursement from them.

I have filed complaints with BBB, my credit card (where I booked the flight), and am seeking the advice of an attorney at this point.

Lessons if you choose to book with Great Value Vacations:
1. Carefully research the exact hotels they book you in and ensure you are comfortable with the safety and locations.
2. Get trip insurance (not from Great Value Vacations) and know what is covered in case you need to make a claim.
3. Have a backup plan in the event your transportation doesn't arrive (as happened to us.)
Read more

L

Recommends

A wonderful trip to see the highlights of Torres del Paine and Perito Moreno in Patagonia. May 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
A wonderful trip to see the highlights of Torres del Paine and Perito Moreno in Patagonia. The hiking is great! Be prepared for every weather condition, especially crazy winds! There is a bit of travel in this trip, just due to the nature of getting to these incredible remote locations. Also it is best to book extra time in Santiago and Buenos Aires if you want to explore these great cities.
Read more

A

Recommends

Overall an Amazing Trip April 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Highly recommend this trip, everythibg about this region is beautiful. The hikes are terrific. Overall an Amazing Trip, Intrepid created an awesome itinerary that packs a very good amount of acitivies.
Read more

G

Recommends

Fantastic trip. March 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Fantastic trip. The highlights were the hikes in El Chalten / Torres del Paine - challenging but worth it. Carla was a brilliant guide and we had a group that gelled immediately. Everything is well organised. Recommend doing the optional mini-trek and penguin tour. We were even lucky with the weather!
Read more

B

Recommends

Fantastic !! March 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 4.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 4.0
This was a great trip to Patagonia. A couple of the hiking days are strenuous, but the views at the end are spectacular. The camping days are more "glamping" than camping, with thick sleeping pads, warm sleeping bags, and hot meals in the dinning tent. The long travel day to Ushuaia was even enjoyable, with great scenery to past the time, along with a ferry ride across the Magellan Straight. And, to finish it all, penguins in Ushuaia. Take the trip !
Read more

k

Recommends

Such a fantastic trip March 2019

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
Such a fantastic trip. As I was travelling on my own I was a bit nervous but those nerves vanished as soon as I met my group and tour leader. The whole trip is organised really well. The hikes are challenging but amazing and completely worth it. I have made life long friends and memories. I would urge anyone who is thinking about booking this trip to do it! You wont regret it!
Read more

J

Recommends

Memorable tour February 2017

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was my second Smartour. Our tour began in Santiago, Chile on January 20. We reached Punta Arenas on January 21 and we were met by Olga Mallo, our primary tour guide. Olga was with us until we departed for Buenos Aries and she was excellent. She was very knowledgeable and went out of her way to make sure that we experienced all that was promised in the itinerary. The local guides were also very good. The bus used for travel from Punta Arenas to El Calafate was very comfortable and the driver did an excellent job. The hotel selections were overall very good to excellent. The hotel in Santiago, Punta Arenas and Buenos Aires were first class. The hotel in Puerto Natales was my least favorite. It was situated on the water with lovely views of the sound. However, it was over heated, the WIFI was very weak in the rooms, the hallways were noisy and we had ongoing problems trying to get into our room as the card key would not always work. The meals provided on the tour were all fine. All of the hotels provided good breakfast buffets. The breakfast buffets in the hotels in Santiago and Buenos Aires were my favorite. Although I want to mention that we arrived in Santiago one day in advance of the group and we were able to take advantage of the breakfast buffet at that hotel. However, the day of the group departure to Punta Arenas, the buffet was not available so the group did not get a breakfast as promised. All of the tours to the national parks, glaciers, icebergs, and penguins exceeded my expectations. The visit to the estancia in Argentina was unique. The ranch owner and his wife were very hospitable. They provided a lovely lunch for the group as well as an interesting demonstration by one of their sheep herding dogs followed by a sheep sheering.The farewell dinner in Buenos Aries was excellent followed by a high energy tango show. Overall, we had a great time on this Patagonia tour.
Read more

MHP

Recommends

Magnificent Tour February 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
The Smartours trip to Patagonia was perfect in every way. Of course the area is magnificent--the glaciers stupendous. But in addition, our Patagonia guide was the definition of intelligence, wisdom and concern for all of us. Olga was always making an effort to explain, to teach and to relate individually. The hotels were excellent, the meals provided were also super. The entire tour was handled with proficiency, there were never any glitches or problems. The trip absolutely exceeded my expectations; I fully understand the enthusiasm that other trip participants who had been on previous Smartours expeditions expressed. All kinds of friends may be turning to Smartours for a Patagonia trip. Lots of people , including my younger daughter and husband, are thinking about it.
Read more

AM&RS

Recommends

Magical Trip February 2016

5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Guide 5.0
  • Activities 5.0
  • Lodging 5.0
  • Transportation 5.0
  • Meals 5.0
This was our fourth SmarTours trip, and again SmarTours came through with an excellent itinerary at a great value. We had knowledgeable guides, excellent destinations and tours, and great hotels in convenient locations. The sights on this trip were dramatic and breathtaking and unlike any others from our travel experiences. Each day's destination surpassed that of the previous day. The tour participants were so well traveled and a pleasure to explore Patagonia with. We look forward to booking another SmarTours trip.
Read more

Items 1 to 15 of 18 total

Top Patagonia Tours View All Patagonia Trips
Patagonia Wilderness tour Patagonia Wilderness

$ 6,265 15-days trip

Trek Patagonia tour Trek Patagonia

$ 4,445 10-days trip

×
×
Sign in to Save Trips
Welcome back! We're so happy to see you. ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
  • Bookmark trips you like
  • Share with your travel companions
  • Track price changes
  • Access private discounts on trips you save
×
Sign in to see your results

TripFinder is a member-only feature. Don’t worry, it’s free!

With a membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
Activate your free Travelstride membership

Just use the email address and password provided in the email we sent.

? Forgot Password?

With your free membership you:

  • Save up to $700 per person!*
  • Access private deals and offers
  • See personalized trip recommendations
  • Save favorite trips
*See Member Savings Program details
×
To Follow, sign in or sign up (it's free) ? Forgot Password?
Don't have an account? Join
member benefits

By signing in, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Please enter valid email address
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 32 or less characters!
Passwords are not the same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!
Please select the captcha checkbox!
Please select the valid captcha!
Something went wrong! Try again later!

x